Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eyrepuppy

Backsplash for Sea Pearl Quartzite, Wall & Cabinet Colors, Also

B H
3 years ago

I'm just beginning my kitchen remodel and am in such a quandry as to, well, everything! Here is a picture of my quartzite in broad daylight, around 12:00 noon. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Comments (45)

• kirbybunny7
    3 years ago

You are going to have to add a lot more information and pictures before anyone can offer advice.

B H thanked kirbybunny7
  • Michelle misses Sophie
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

What @kirbybunny7 said.

A photo of a slab outdoors in sunlight is meaningless in terms of choosing other finishes.

You need at least a piece of the actual slab, indoors in the actual space with the natural light you have, along with the cabinet finish, floors, etc. Then you can audition backsplash time with those other elements. Then you have all the finishes in the space they will exist (ideally LARGE samples if not the actual items - not little 2"x2" squares), you make large paint boards that you move around to the different walls at different times of the day to see how they work with the natural light and other finishes you have. A room with north-facing windows will pull drastically different colors than one with east- facing, south-facing, or west-facing windows. The same grey paint could go green, blue, or lavender depending on the exposure. A beige could go yellow, pink, or green again depending on the exposure.

You do not choose these things outdoors. You do not choose them out of context of all the other finishes. You do not choose them based off a picture of just a slab taken outdoors. You choose them in situ in the space and lighting in which they will exist, with as much of their hard finish companions in as large a piece as possible.

Common paint mistakes

• lindacottonwood
    3 years ago