rouge21_gw

Perennial gardeners what are your favourite ANNUALS in 2020?

rouge21_gw (CDN Z6a)
13 days ago
last modified: 13 days ago

I am a dyed in the wool perennial gardener but each year I appreciate more and more the variety offered by annuals. The "sleep, creep, leap" for annuals happen all in one season...luv that almost instant gratification which is nic

(All 5 pictures below were taken this past week ie mid October)

I am completely impressed with Lantana. This is my first year planting it en masse. As I am sure many of you know it thrives on sun and dry and no dead heading....it always looks immaculate.

Here is "Berry Punch":

An oldie but a goodie for me ie Gomphrena started from seed, directly in the soil in a container in late May. (For whatever reason I have way more success with gomphrena from seed when in a container rather than in the ground).

And finally my only ever Dahlia ie "Mystic Illusion" (and also always in a pot):

The past couple of seasons I have planted Ageratum but only in small pots...more as an after thought. But with long lasting blooms, water conserving, and tight habit....I will do an in ground planting en masse next season.

I would love to see and hear about your favourite annuals from this past season as I am always loking for new plants to try come May.

Comments (33)

• callirhoe123
    13 days ago

This year I grew an old-fashioned brilliant pink/rose petunia from seed. It bloomed its head off all summer and is still going strong. It is supposed to self-seed. I hope it does, but will buy more seed just in case. It's about the color of the gomphrena above.

rouge21_gw (CDN Z6a) thanked callirhoe123
  • diggerdee zone 6 CT
    13 days ago

Omg, rouge, this is like asking which is my favorite child lol!