Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_707682433

Gas Water Heater Vented Into Attic - How Concerned Should I Be?

Tyler Arms
2 years ago

So how concerned should I be? I found that the guy who flipped the house before I bought it, replaced the water heater but didn't connect the vent. You can see here where the gas heater vents into attic about an inch from the roof deck but 2 inches lateral of the roof vent (6 in from center to center). Am I at risk of fire or other issues? The attic is well vented and I had an energy audit done where they found there's no condensation issues in the piping. I am planning to have more insulation put in the attic soon and need to know if I need to move on this ASAP or may end up with some safety hazards.

First time home owner so constructive advice is appreciated.

Comments (11)

• tozmo1
    2 years ago

That certainly doesn't look like it meets any code to me but I'm not an expert. There's a reason the water heater has a vent i.e. to get the exhaust gases out of your home, completely out of your home.

• cat_ky
    2 years ago

Thats pretty much asap priority before you do anything else. Its like a gas furnace etc. They must be vented.

Tyler Arms thanked cat_ky
  • mike_home
    2 years ago

The vent pipe needs to be connected to the roof cap. It should not be too difficult to replace the vent and connect it properly. The question is why is it disconnected? My guess is the roof deck and shingles were replaced but the roofer did not bother reconnecting the vent pipe.

• Tyler Arms
    Original Author
    2 years ago

Mike, there's a patched spot in the ceiling where the previous pipe lined up with the roof vent. It looks like they replaced the water heater with a different sized heater that sits further away from the wall and instead of connecting it they just vented it straight up into the attic.

• Tyler Arms
    Original Author
    2 years ago

Would it be a simple chop of the last few inches and attaching a flex section?