SHOP BY DEPARTMENT
cristina_s37

What companions would you place here?

Hello,

I am an intermittent poster on these wonderful boards, I have periods when I don't get a chance to post and then come back. I once said I will change my name when I finally see some success, with several blooms at the same time one one plant.

This Spring, I think I finally got it.

I have been growing roses for 4 years and maybe I can say this was the first year where I was able to see more pretty blooms concomitantly on one plant, in the Spring.

Summers, unfortunately, don't work.

I can't keep up with the spraying and watering - so the defoliation is heavy and blooms minimal to pitiful.

But here's roughly where I was this Spring:

Good as Gold

Olivia Rose, Plum Perfect, Easy Does it

Love Song and Good as Gold

I called it a success.

Those in pots did nice too and I added Plum Perfect and Dee-lish later.

But that's ONLY in the Spring. Summer - might as well not have them.

Julia Child does little for me. Dick Clark is a garish color.

I decided not to add any more roses this year, after having added 5 Coral Drifts on the border.

Now I realized I need some companion plants in the rose bed.

The roses are a bit closer to a tree than they should be, but it is what it is.

What companion plants would you add around Coral Drifts and then, further to the right, these roses:

Good as Gold

Julia Child

Dick Clark

Love Song

I will add some pictures below.

Thank you so much!

Comments (20)

• Severe_Novice Zone 7B GA
    Original Author
    28 days ago

• Related Discussions

What type of mirror would you place on the wall above vanity? What about lights?

Q

Comments (14)