Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sondramartina

How to modify this art without destoying it ?

sondramartina
10 years ago
last modified: 10 years ago
I am thinking of adding some colour to this black & white art on my wall. I bought it on sale for 25 $ and I had it for some time,size is good but I feel like I need some colour on that wall. .I am not an artist and my idea was not to re-create same scene but to somehow add colours even if it just become an abstract painting . I have enough acrylic paints and brushes .Am I going to destroy it? Is there any beginners technique for this ?
Thanks

Comments (25)

• Debp
    10 years ago
    Is it on canvas? Could you post a close up of it so we can see if there are any areas that could be highlighted?
    sondramartina thanked Debp
  • cmcole01
    10 years ago
    i love the artwork as is. i would not recommend you try to add color to the print (but i am not crafty). I'd suggest replacing it (and relocating it somewhere else) or leave as is and add color elsewhere in the room maybe with pillows, rug. have you thought about changing wall color? then you could leave the artwork.
  • PRO
    User
    10 years ago
    Changing the color would be permanent.... How upset would you be if you ruined it or got sick of the color? I would add colors to the overall room without touching the picture. I would love to see pops of red- throw, pillows. Maybe you could add other artwork that has more color. Not sure what your other walls have on them.
    sondramartina thanked User
  • PRO
    AliciaTappDesigns Images on Tiles
    10 years ago
    If it's on canvas.. get some acrylic or watercolor paint ... water the colors down so they are transparent and very thin ( Do not add white) .. dip a small rag or sponge into the color and just spread on the pic in small areas and wipe away.. After each layer dries go over it again .. keep layering this way so some ares are translucent and some areas there is a build up of color.. and good luck : )