Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiffinys

Would love some advice on how to furnish and arrange my front room.

tiffinys
10 years ago
For a girl who loves to decorate, I'm not very good at arranging a room! A few months ago I more or less gutted my front room with the intent to redo it. But I am stuck on step one: what furniture to put in there and how to arrange it. I already have some ideas on the style I want, so what I really need help with is simply how to furnish and arrange. This room is only used when company comes. Because it is quite long (12' x 20') I just don't know how to use all the space. I would like to keep the hutch (from my grandmother) and the piano in there. The couch can stay if I can get it to look right but I'm open to replacing it should something like a sectional be a better fit in the room. I need advice on a rug--the size, shape and placement. Also, how to make a sitting area around the rug (should I keep the couch, what kinds of chairs should I add, do I need a coffee table and/or side tables, etc). Once I have a seating area set up, it feels like there's still space that needs to be filled. I would love any ideas. Thanks!!

Comments (14)

• User
    10 years ago
    Lampert has good advice. I agree, get two upholstered chairs (possibly an ottoman), keep the sofa. Don't get a sectional, they are so inflexible.
    tiffinys thanked User
  • PRO
    CDR Design, LLC
    10 years ago
    Great potential here! The room is too large for one seating area. It needs to be divided, which is a great advantage.

The window end will be a seating area. The entrance end will be where the piano is.

Please try this and post pictures

1) Take the couch and place it facing toward the windows. It will be parallel to the windows. Float it out to sit between the second set of sconces.