Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vmiley21

Bathroom Remodel

Veronica
5 years ago
I’m looking to update my bathroom. I love grays and whites. Looking for some suggestions.

Comments (10)

• felizlady
    5 years ago
    Rather than trying to “update” the bathroom, I think a total redesign is more practical. The whole room needs work to bring it out of the 80’s.
  • PRO
    DAB Interior Design, Inc.
    5 years ago

I have been a " Five Time Nationally Award Winning Architectural Interior Designer" for

35 years and I am an expert in Luxury Baths. You first have to give more information as to what level of change you are looking to do? I would find it impossible to make this a grey and white bathroom with any fixtures you currently have. Whirlpools and glass block have been out for at least 25-30 years. Today people are using beautiful free

standing tubs.

So trying to change the tile or vanity would just be needlessly spending

on something that will never give you the look you desire.

I would gut the whole bathroom, perhaps have a professional relay it out, in a more

up to date design, perhaps moving fixtures around but without a floor plan, window placement, drains etc., it would be impossible to say for sure, how to proceed.

The toilets ,shower equipment today conserve water and use less than 2 gallons to flush.

Your current toilet probably uses double plus so you're wasting water and my guess

is the flushing of the toilet is much worse and gets clogged up, way more often than

one that is up to date, by today's standards. Some models today actually clean

themselves.

Shower are much more open and have more equipment available that has many

more features. That needs to be reworked. Of course get rid of glass block,

I haven't seen used for years. The vanity also has to go as it is a style that really

isn't used any longer .