Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susan_liles

Benefits of Interior Designer?

Susan Liles
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

I am planning a master bath remodel and have gotten estimates from 3 general contractors. But I don’t have a good idea of what products to select (tile, vanity, shower hardware, etc. ) I’m not good with putting a design scheme together. All of the contractors have their list of preferred vendors, but I’m still at a loss as where to start. I’m considering doing a consult with an interior designer. Has anyone done this and were you pleased? Don’t you end up spending more money overall: designer fees plus the contractor costs? Thanks for any feedback.

Comments (11)

• suedonim75
    5 years ago

In your case it would be money well spent. You don’t want to get it finished and Realize you made a huge mistake and hate your choices.

Susan Liles thanked suedonim75
  • Jane Doe
    5 years ago

We have a large living room (big and tall); we hired an interior designer to do a layout and decor. I'm so glad we did because I never would've figured out the right scale or color/textures to use in the room. I imagine having someone help you with a bathroom remodel would be a huge help in pulling ideas and a vision together.

Susan Liles thanked Jane Doe
  • caligirl5
    5 years ago

For my kitchen/bath remodel, I hired an hourly designer ($250/hour in HCOLA). I had inspiration pics for what I wanted and material samples, but wasn't sure exactly what to pick to put it together. She walked through it all with me in 2 hours and helped me finalize the finishes and paint colors. The project was just too expensive for me to risk having it come out looking wrong, so I felt like it was worth it to have professional help.

Susan Liles thanked caligirl5
  • Storybook Home
    5 years ago