Abruzzi Stone & Flooring
3D Rendering, Bathroom Design, Bathroom Remodeling, Countertop Installation, Custom Cabinets, Custom Countertops, Custom Kitchen Cabinets, Flooring Installation, Kitchen Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Tile Installation, Tile and Stone, Natural Stones, Showroom
Ashland, Audubon, Audubon Park, Barrington, Bellmawr, Brookfield, Brooklawn, Cherry Hill, Cherry Hill Mall, Cinnaminson, Collingswood, Delanco, Echelon, Glendora, Greentree, Haddon Heights, Haddonfield, Hi-Nella, Laurel Springs, Lawnside, Maple Shade, Marlton, Moorestown-Lenola, Mount Laurel, National Park, Oaklyn, Pennsauken, Pine Hill, Pine Valley, Ramblewood, Springdale, Stratford, Tavistock, Turnersville, Voorhees, Wenonah, Willingboro, Wood-Lynne, Woodbury, Camden County, Burlington
I wanted to take the time to respond to your review about your experience with Abruzzi. I believe it’s important for the public to know both sides, and the timelines of the job.
You stated in your first post that you signed with us to do the work in April 2017. Your original contract was in fact signed April 28, 2017, but because of revisions wasn’t executed until May 22, 2017. Due to removing certain items from the original contract, you wanted to wait until after your windows were installed to see if you could use a granite sill. We set up a template and install date according to your schedule and the times that you could be home or have someone to let us in. Also our records indicated that your cabinets were not secured to the wall, and this was told to your father (who was at the site), that the cabinets needed to be level and secured before install.(Something that is suppose to be done before we template). From template to installations of Countertops, they were within two weeks, our normal scheduling.
We had a communication issue from our office to the fabrication shop about the 4” backsplash; which was explained to you and you were understanding. We did not ask for payment at that time, in which we told you to hold it until the job was completed.
Soon after your install, we had a fire at our location which caused severe damage to 4 out of 6 offices. We notified and informed customers as soon as we could about this unfortunate event, and asked them to be patient with us. One of the many things that were damaged were records of past due accounts with balances. That was the reason Stephanie called and asked for your payment -- the only records she was able to find showed you had a balance, but it did not indicate it was still an open job. We did complete your job as the contract stated August 8, 2017. At that time, you signed and dated our completion form.
The threshold you mentioned was supplied by us, but your Contractor was supposed to install it. We do not install thresholds unless we are contracted to install tile floors. Also, our records indicate we left you a threshold when we installed your tops -- you had told us it was not there in which case we made you a new one. As a courtesy; there was no charge. Because of the inconvenience we offered to help you out and install the threshold from one of our experienced tile setters. We weren’t sure of the exact date at that time due to us being committed to other jobs. I believe you had a scheduled week off from work, the week of August 21st, and asked us if we could do it then. We made you no promises, but would try and accommodate and do what we could for you.
One of my guys went to your home, on Friday 25th, around 4pm. When he was there, he realized there was more involved to install the threshold and knew it wasn’t going to be a simple, because your wood floating floor in the kitchen had been installed incorrectly. He said he would need additional tools, knowing that it would take longer than half an hour to install (in the right condition, it should take a threshold no longer than fifteen minutes to set).
He also mentioned to you that I was away on vacation so, he wasn’t sure when he could get back to do it. You told him that it was no problem, but you said it would have to be done after 5:30 during the week or on a Saturday. Our work week for installers are 8:00 -4:30, Monday through Friday -- this was also explained to you numerous times during the course of the job (August 25th - same day my Tile guy, came out you wrote your 1st review). When I returned from vacation on the 5th, I called you about getting your threshold installed; you told me on the phone about your work schedule, and us coming after 5:30. I asked if it was ok to come out Saturday because the install was going to take some time.
We scheduled a 10am appointment, Saturday the 9th, I arrived at your home and attempted to contact you for half an hour. You were not answering your phone calls or door. When you finally answered your phone, I asked if you needed to reschedule and you told me no, and asked me to wait so you could let me in which took approximately 20 minutes. When I was finally able to get in your apartment -- 45 minutes past our scheduled time, (I wasn’t frustrated, I understand things happen) to install your threshold properly, there was an extensive amount of work that needed to be done because of the original install of the kitchen floor. It took me about an hour and a half to install correctly. When I completed the job, I asked if you were replacing the rug, you told me no. I told you I could cut the rug to the threshold, but had no tack strip present to install under rug to hold it secure.
By the look of things around the apartment, it looked like you were still under some renovations. I asked if your contractor was coming back to finish the trim work (that was clearly unfinished), you told me yes, I asked if you think he could handle putting tack strip for the carpet in, you said yes. I also told you that I can cut the carpet to the threshold but it would start to fray due to the age of the carpet; if it’s not set to the tac strip right away. Again you told me not to worry about it since your contractor would take care of it. I’d like to reiterate, one more time; the install for this threshold was not supposed to be installed by Abruzzi -- we were trying to help you out. We also discussed with your input on how poorly the install of the kitchen floors were done and I offered to help you level the subfloor correctly, letting you know you could reuse the floating floor material that’s there.
Before I left I asked you if there was anything else that I could do for you and you assured me everything looked good. We shook hands and you told me you would remove the negative review. Unfortunately that is not the case, so I felt compelled to reply. Sunday we received an email that we could have any negative reviews removed from our websites for a fee, and any other place we advertise on the internet. We also noticed more bad reviews started popping up from people we have never done work for, and live in Texas. Also on your review, you put down your last name as Escobar -- but on our contract it says Champion. Coincidentally as guy’s last name in Texas. That is the reason I was calling to try and get some clarification to the bad reviews.
I’d like to conclude by stating that we value our Customers and take tremendous pride in our work. Our main goal is to provide excellent Customer service, outstanding craftsmanship and Quality materials. One bad review can destroy years of great service. We urge you to do a background check on the company you so choose to do Business with, and understand with any bad review there are two sides to the story. I hope I cleared up ours.
Abruzzi Stone and flooring
After hearing of the sub-contractor's unsatisfactory workmanship, we at Abruzzi decided to restructure our company to avoid any similar situations from occurring. We also offered to complete the work at no additional cost and to provide the materials to help finish the job. Again, as evidenced by our other reviews, customer satisfaction is our top concern, and we look forward to continuing to exceed our clients' expectations for their home renovation needs.