Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

My Cannas as indoor plants(pics)

v1rt
15 years ago

Tallest: Tropicanna Black

Variegated: Bengal Tiger

Glossy Maroon: Australia(I love it)

I decided to not put one of each to sleep. I'll be monitoring them how they progress on an area that only gets 30 mins of direct sun. Those were just prepared today.

I'll keep you posted after 2 weeks.

{{gwi:538884}}

{{gwi:538885}}

Comments (19)

• nynewbie
    15 years ago

Hi!
    I'm new with plants in general, and bought a canna pink sunburst in the spring. The foliage grew lots but it didn't flower - i guess it's too young?

I was wondering what is the secret to keeping the canna indoors during the winter? I keep mine in a pot on the rooftop, and don't really have a basement or garage to winterize it... sooo, can i just bring it indoors, place it by a sunny window (southern exposure) and water it occasionally? Or is there more to it?

Appreciate any feedback!

thanks!!
    judy

• jimhardy
    15 years ago

I can't imagine that they would not live through the winter however I think they will get a little leggy and need to start over when planted next spring.I have some canna stuttgart that I bought on e-bay and these are already sprouted,so I will be growing them in a south window.I think this particular variety will do well inside although it may turn a little more green inside untill it can be put out next year,I will let you guys know how they do and will post a pic of what they look like when I bring them inside and again in spring when they go back out and then again at the end of the season and then....well you get the idea-LOL

• v1rt
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi jimhardy,

Here is the latest pic as of 5 mins ago. The Australia put out a new leaf in 7 days. I love the new leaf that is coming out. It became a varigated yellow and maroon. I love the color combination very much! :) Looks like the foliage changes when it doesn't get enough sunlight.