Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cosmo_kramer

Trumpet vine control

cosmo_kramer
18 years ago

Having read about trumpet vines and thier invasiveness underground, I was wondering what would happen it I put the vine in a large 5 or 10 gallon pot and buried it. Has anyone tried this and what were your results?

Comments (14)

• kayjones
    18 years ago

I grow our wild trumpet vine in a 36" pot ABOVE ground, because I believe, due to the drainage holes in your pot, the runners would grow thru and take off 'running'.

• cosmo_kramer
    Original Author
    18 years ago

How big does yours get? I was wondering if being pot-bound might cause it to stay relatively small.

• Bonbon_N_KS
    18 years ago

Cosmo, it WILL come out the bottom. I've been tolerating the vine in mine yard for nearly 15 years. It will travel underground 50-100 yards and then come up take over there. It will strangle trees. I cut and spray with round-up all through the growing season. I did let it cover some chain link fence to shade my hosta beds.- Be careful.

• kayjones
    18 years ago

Cosmo, it will get as big as I let it, but I keep it trimmed. I cut it back to about a foot just after it blooms, then cut it thru the summer. When fall arrives, I don't cut on it any more, let it go dormant, then it does it's thing in the spring. I keep a diligent eye on the drain holes to make sure none escape.

• linda_schreiber
    18 years ago

Kay and Bonnie are absolutely correct. Don't let this lovely plant *near* ground soil. In a pot, in contact with soil, that has anything like drainage holes, even a fine mesh, it *will* escape. And it doesn't take long at all for a smallish amount of spreading root to be able to be self-sustaining, putting up a new sprout.