Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarah_guthrie67

How to revive my hibiscus

Sarah Guthrie
7 years ago

I'm really new to plants... I got two hibiscus this year. I didn't bring them in early enough I think... because now they look like this. I think they are still alive because they stems are still pliable. What should I do now?

Comments (30)

• merkity
    7 years ago

don't over water, keep just damp until you see growth - thats pretty far gone for a tropical hibiscus....

Sarah Guthrie thanked merkity
  • User
    7 years ago

how are they now?

Sarah Guthrie thanked User
  • Sarah Guthrie
    Original Author
    7 years ago

That's so nice of you to ask! Here they are. I don't get it. I moved the unhappy one to the happy one's spot about a month ago. I thought maybe more sun? Still unhappy :( Any ideas?

• Renee Texas
    7 years ago

Here, they'll maintain but dont' really get going until it's 80+ at night...if you can make it to your summer, they may really take off then

• User
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

The dead looking one should have some growth by now:( They do grow very slow in the winter picking up around April. If you want to prune now is the time. Thanks for the pics!

• Logan L Johnson
    7 years ago

My idea would be that it's dead. You're lucky the other one survived. I remember a couple years ago the cold barely nipped my double peach hibiscus and it died mysteriously.

• CindyZ4b
    7 years ago

I had a tropical drop all its leaves in jan. I just kept watering as usual and in late feb early march it started putting out new growth! Keep it in full sun!!

• CindyZ4b
    7 years ago

Sarah did your hibiscus come back??

• Logan L Johnson
    7 years ago

It's most likely dead.

• CindyZ4b
    7 years ago

Ive got 5 sprouts from seeds i planted on the 3rd of feb. Supposed to be hardy hibiscus. Seeds came from hong kong. I cant remember what kind i ordered. It will be a surprise!

• Logan L Johnson
    7 years ago