Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greylady_gardener

Winter sowing 2016

Anybody making plans to wintersow this year? oldies?.... newbies?

Comments (13)

• blueocean m
    7 years ago

I'm thinking of trying...never done it before.

• greylady_gardener
    Original Author
    7 years ago

I hope you do try it.. It's not always 100% successful but it's got a pretty good success rate in my book. I have been doing it for a few years and some years have been better than others but it hasn't stopped me. There is lots of info on the internet so read up on it and give it a try. It is a great way to get your gardening fix in the middle of winter. I just went and bought some more potting mix yesterday and will probably start the end of January. I hope you will let me know how you do. :)

• blueocean m
    7 years ago

It would probably be a fun thing to do in winter. We have late springs (I'm in Halifax) so I probably wouldn't want to start until later.

Any particular seeds you recommend? I'm thinking of doing a small cutting garden this year.

• blueocean m
    7 years ago

You are close Candy! I think you're one zone warmer, but that's not a huge difference.

I should do purple coneflowers, I really love them. And maybe black eyed susans too. I think the ones I have right now are biennials, which isn't ideal.

I should see if I can find some stuff to winter sow that would work well in part-sun. That's where I actually have a lot of space.

• Candy Max
    7 years ago

I have lots of black eyed Susan seeds to trade. I wintersowed them last year and they did very well...also purple coneflower seeds. I have blue lobelia seeds that could be wintersown and they like it shady and moist. Would you have any seeds to trade? The trading forum isn't too active lately.

• blueocean m
    7 years ago