Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kristin_fleetwood

First Time Growing Peppers (Aji Dulce): Questions

Kristin Fleetwood
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Hi, all,

This is my first time doing container gardening, as well as my first time trying to grow peppers. I don't have a lot of gardening experience or anyone I can ask questions about it. So, here is what I've done so far and my concerns (which I hope some of you may be able to help):

******TL; DR Version: I'm a novice, I'm growing 4 Aji Dulce peppers from seed according to the usual instructions (sunlight, room temp, 8-10 weeks before last frost, etc.), I may or may not have added too much extra seed starter mix after planting seeds shallowly, am I doing anything wrong, and how long do Aji Dulce take to germinate without grow lights or heat mats?.*******

I am starting my Aji Dulce pepper seeds indoors about 8-10 weeks before the start of our typical frost free period here in the Sandhills of North Carolina, per seed packet and online instructions.

I planted 4 Aji Dulce pepper seeds on January 20th. I planted each in a really good organic seed starter mix that is supposed to have excellent germination success rates. I put each seed by itself in a small peat pot, so 4 peat pots total. I planted the seeds shallowly, but then added about a spoonful's layer of more mix on top a few days later. Don't ask me why, because it probably won't make sense. I just thought the seeds might need a little more soil on top than when I first planted them. I added water to the seed mix and made sure it was moist, but not soggy before planting the seeds. I did the same with the extra spoonful layer of seed starter.