webuser_929476049

Sweet Pegge

weekend gardener
May 9, 2019

Hello! I've been a silent lurker for several years, and this is my first post. This site has been such a great resource for me, and I'd like to contribute. I live in the Houston area, zone 9.

I found very little information about the Pioneer rose Sweet Pegge, so I'd like to share my experiences so far. I purchased this rose from ARE this year. Because my yard has too much shade and too many thirsty tree roots, I frequently plant new roses in containers. If the rose does well, I'll leave it where it is, bumped up to a larger container if needed. If the rose sulks, I'll plant it in the ground and see how it fares. Sweet Pegge has only been in her container less than 2 months, and these are her first blooms. I plan to update as she grows larger and shows her true personality. Unfortunately my phone doesn't accurately capture the true colors. She is more red than pink.

Comments (47)

• weekend gardener

I'm still learning how to post photos. Here are a few more. Also, does anyone know how Sweet Pegge is pronounced? Is it like "Peggy" or "Peg"?

• Rekha A 9a Houston area

I have her too! New, just bloomed this year, darker red than pics show blooms did not last more than a day. Canes are very lax and spill from container.

She does have a light, rosy fragrance.

weekend gardener thanked Rekha A 9a Houston area
  • weekend gardener

My blooms have lasted several days and remain very cupped. So far only one bloom opened enough that I could see the stamens. I like the fragrance--sweet, but with a spicy hint. She's growing out more than up.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex

Very nice. I miss my roses. I can't grow them well on my limestone hill. Maybe I should try them in a container.

weekend gardener thanked wantonamara Z8 CenTex

Wantonamara, you should definitely try some in large container...I have more than 10 in planters, including sweet pegge.

• Vaporvac Z6-OhioRiverValley