Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
david_livingston20

Adding Potash to Lawn DIY

David
4 years ago

Hello, this is the first year investment on my lawn which used to be just a field. So far i have much of the weeds gone via burning, and DIY liquid formulas. I have a bahia lawn and it needs some potash for the fall. There are two sections of lawn, each is approx 1500 square feet (15x100).

I have watched some vids and i have decided that i might as well invest in a $35 walk spreader as i will be treating the lawn, and bugs, and fire-ants as well so i might as well invest in one.

The problem is that i dont have a compost pile yet, and potash is very expensive and i cant afford to spend upwards of $75 bucks for potash treatment. Bahia only really needs potash if anything as it is very tolerant and strong, but i want to give it some help since this is my first year and its alittle stressed.

Can i make my own potash, is there something that is NOT labeled fertiizer that is mostly potash. I feel if the label has the word fertilizer you pay for that.

What can i do on a DIY budget level to get some potash into my lawn for the fall?

Comments (14)

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    4 years ago

In a word, "No." It's oversimplified in the sense that yes, you can make items that contain plenty of potassium. But they'll also destroy your soil pH, contain heavy metals, and have other problems. I've heard the delightful advice of using...well, I won't tell you as you might be tempted to do it anyway.

That's lovely, it does contain tons of potassium, and it also contains--as noted--every heavy metal the item ever concentrated. And, also as noted, a very, very high pH. It's a terrible idea.

The reason fertilizers cost something is because they're chemically purer and controlled in terms of what they do contain.