Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emily_scott170

When to repot a young jade plant

Emily Scott
4 years ago

I bought a small indoor jade plant from walmart a few months ago. When I got it, it came in this small, brown plastic pot. Now, it has 11 small leaves on it, and the soil has some small roots coming up...not sure if that means it needs a bigger pot or more water? Since it is starting to move into winter, I’m watering it once every 2 or so weeks. One of the leaves towards the bottom had also started to look a little brown, then when I touched it, it flaked off of the plant. Again, should I water it more? It’s constantly in direct sunlight by my two windows, so no lack of sunlight. As you can probably tell, I’m new to owning plants. I have read lots about the soil and to keep the plant in smaller pots, since the plant has roots at the top, but should I repot it?

Comments (23)

• erinsean
    4 years ago

Google the name of the plant and you will find what you need. By my guessing, yes you need to put it in a bigger pot. Not sure of the amount of water though...Google will help you. If you are in a plant nursery, you might ask them also.

• rina_Ontario,Canada 5a
    4 years ago

Emily

As Karen said, it is not jade = Crassula ovata. It is, most likely, either one of 2 she mentioned. These plants are, in general, relatively fast growers. They also need lots of light to stay as compact as possible. IMO, your plant needs more light. Leaves seem to be growing quite far apart, and color looks too light (but could be the photo!)

It is best to repot succulents when they are actively growing, young or mature. That said, they could be repoted any time if neccessary.

If you water less (which is OK), plant should be kept in cooler temps. How warm is it where it is?

You could consider giving it lots of light and wait until Spring. Plant may etiolate, and you can decapitate it then. And repot at the same time.

• Anne Duke
    4 years ago