dandt1

Creole garlic umbels/bulbils

dandt1
6 months ago

Quick question for any experienced garlic growers. This is my first year growing a creole subtype (Ajo Rojo). I'm in zone 7 and it seems that looking at lower leaves, my creole garlic should be ready to harvest (photo included) Seems a little early (although I know it can depend on climate and various factors). But also wanted to try to harvest some of the umbels and bulbils to expand my crop. The umbel looks really rather small. I know creole garlic bulbils are in fact smaller than many other varieties but my question is 1) do they look mature enough already? and 2) if not, what would you do: snip some and put in water to allow them to further mature? Thanks for any input.

Comments (11)

• Liz Gross (5a, WI)
    6 months ago

Looks like you still have the scapes on top. First, I'd snip those off and make some omelets or pesto. Then the garlic can probably take another week at least, maybe a couple. I wait for 3-4 leaves to die. Not sure why you'd worry about saving any umbels. Just harvest all the garlic, let it dry, store it appropriately, and then plant the largest cloves this fall for next year's crop.

I'm in zone 5a, so I'm used to a different season from yours, but I suspect the process is largely the same.

• dandt1
    Original Author
    6 months ago

Main reason I was considering saving umbels/bulbils was to expand my crop more rapidly. A single umbel could result in 40+ new garlic (albeit not full size for a couple years). I definitely have done the traditional way saving the largest cloves and replanting, which I will do again. Just wanted to try growing from bulbul stage as well. But I wasn’t sure if these umbels looked mature yet. I was actually snipping some off to use the scapes but wanted to keep some on to harvest bulbils.

In terms of leaves, several already have about 5 leaves dead already.

• Liz Gross (5a, WI)
    6 months ago