Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mariec_6a

Sacred plant... Is this stem rot?

mariec_6a
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

Greetings everyone!

I have recently purchased these 2 Salvia Apiana aka White Sage at a local nursery. Currently sifting and getting a new batch of gritty mix ready so that I will soon be able to repot my plants in better pots and growing medium.

Background: They have spent the last 1-2 weeks in full sun on my balcony in their original nursery pot and soil. I have watered them throughly every time the soil has dried out completely and that the weight of the pot feels much lighter, which means, with the heat and wind we are currently experiencing here in Montreal (Canada), approximately once every other day. Its my first time growing this specific variety, and it means a lot to me to have this opportunity, as I greatly value and respect this plant.

Situation: I’m afraid now both plants may experience stem rot... The very bottom of the stems look and feel like wood, but the tender part is turning deep purple and black, although it doesn’t feel soft/mushy at touch, it’s quite hard. Is this normal? A few leaves are also changing color; purple hues on top and and yellow/reddish/brown on bottom of the leaves. I have attached pictures below from the 2 plants.

Thank you so much in advance for your kind help!!

-

Plant #1:

Plant #2:

Comments (12)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    2 years ago

looks like too much plant for too little pot ... meaning.. there are so many roots ... you cant keep it properly watered in the little media in there ..

have you slipped them out of the pot.. to find out whats going on in the pot ...

soooo.. get that media finished.. and repot it ... and dont put them in sun and wind on your balcony until they have settled down after the repotting ...

second plant pix.. is that a second plant wit the big seed head???