Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rajasekhar_menon

How do I modernize this "entertainment center"

Rajasekhar Menon
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

We are moving into our new home that is about 20 years old. The built in shelves and entertainment center are for the old tv era. My wife would like to keep the wood shelves around the TV but modernize the look. The wood and the unit are sold hard wood and really expensive when originally built. Any before and after work done in this space would be awesome to see.

Comments (8)

• apple_pie_order
    2 years ago

These look like the sellers' photos. Do you plan to put a new same-size tv where their tv is?

• Sarah
    2 years ago

If it’s solid hardwood you can have a fine carpenter remove some of the details and make solid doors. Perhaps the doors can be flipped inside out so the carved details are hidden inside? I’m not a pro (obviously) but have seen that done before by a fine carpenter.

Removing some of the other formal elements in the rooms will help modernize the space too. The drapes can go, replace the ceiling fan with a more modern version. The dining space light is very fussy formal and could be much more to your tastes. Putting in your furniture and rugs will go a long way to feeling at home too.

As for decorating the bookshelves, I prefer to see a family’s favorite books, a select few photos, maybe a plant or 2. Keep it simple and change things around often. Show us more pics when you move in. Congratulations!

• Rajasekhar Menon
    Original Author
    2 years ago

apple_pie_order. The pictures are the sellers. Since this is the informal "den" we intend to keep a TV. I am not wedded to the size.

Thanks for your suggestion, Sara. Planning to replace the fan and the drapes (first thing to go). My wife is on the same page as you on the books and the pictures.

• Jilly
    2 years ago
    last modified: 2 years ago

I know it’s not everyone’s preferred style, but it sure is beautiful to me.