Search results for "Activities" in Home Design Ideas

In the Daisy’s kitchen, you’ll find open shelving, a smooth surface cooktop, pop-up ventilation, hickory cabinets with black walnut countertops, and a 33-inch stainless steel sink with a hands-free kitchen faucet.
Over the sink, a three-panel ActivWall Horizontal Folding Window (also known as a bi-fold window) is mounted to open up the space, let in the fresh air, and serve as a pass-through window.

This is a featured Kitchen by Active Cabinet Co who works with Plesser's Appliance for their clients appliance needs. Active Cabinet Co was established in 1970 and is a family owned and operated 3rd generation cabinet shop. Centrally located on Long Island, New York they manufacture fine custom cabinetry from Montauk to Manhattan. Visit their web site for more information. http://www.activecabinet.com

For some design inspiration with a Lowcountry feel, check out this custom home on Sullivan's Island, as featured in Charleston Home + Design Magazine.
The ActivWall Gas Strut Window used creates a stylish and functional indoor-outdoor entertaining space. For added peace of mind, our products are impact tested for safety in hurricane zones and include a 10-year residential warranty.
Architect: Clarke Design Group
Builder: Diament Building Corp.
Designer: LuAnn Oliver McCants
#GasStrutWindow #CoastalLiving #MadeinUSA Martinsville Made #CharlestonSC
Find the right local pro for your project

These homeowners are ready for college football season with the addition of an ActivWall Gas Strut Window on their deck. The innovative window opens up and out to create a convenient pass-through and serving bar for game day entertaining.
Hosts can set out appetizers and drinks on the bar for guests to enjoy and pass through ingredients and supplies for the nearby grill. The window creates a flexible space, allowing guests inside and outside the home to converse and enjoy each other’s company while eating and watching the game on TV.
When the game day is over, the ActivWall Gas Strut Window can be pushed closed from the outside or closed from the inside using our optional Pull Hook.

The stunning renovation was led by Innovative Homes & Remodeling and Jennie Thomas Design, both of Zionsville, Indiana. They expanded their vision to include the outdoors when transforming the home’s small U-shaped kitchen and rarely-used dining room into a large open concept space.
The kitchen’s back wall is adjacent to a screened porch, so the team replaced the existing window with an ActivWall Gas Strut Window. It opens up and out to create a serving bar and allows for conversation between the two spaces.

This is a featured Kitchen by Active Cabinet Co who works with Plesser's Appliance for their clients appliance needs. Active Cabinet Co was established in 1970 and is a family owned and operated 3rd generation cabinet shop. Centrally located on Long Island, New York they manufacture fine custom cabinetry from Montauk to Manhattan. Visit their web site for more information. http://www.activecabinet.com

Every window by ActivWall is custom designed for the customer and manufactured in Martinsville, Virginia. This window for The Daisy measures 5′ wide by 3′ high and is finished in a white powder coat with a flush style sill.
American engineered hinges and motion hardware allow for the smooth operation of this window, and the thermally broken aluminum and dual-paned low-E glass make the product extremely energy efficient.

The owner of this home in Texas used an ActivWall Gas Strut Window to open up their home bar to the covered back patio for entertaining.
The custom window measures 78″ wide by 48″ high and is finished in a white powder coat with matching hardware. The customer chose our no-sill option for a smooth countertop transition, one of six sill options available.
The thermally broken aluminum frame and insulated glass provide maximum energy efficiency when closed, and the unit can be opened on nice days to create a convenient pass-through window for serving drinks.
ActivWall Gas Strut Windows are available for commercial and residential use.

This is a featured Kitchen by Active Cabinet Co who works with Plesser's Appliance for their clients appliance needs. Active Cabinet Co was established in 1970 and is a family owned and operated 3rd generation cabinet shop. Centrally located on Long Island, New York they manufacture fine custom cabinetry from Montauk to Manhattan. Visit their web site for more information. http://www.activecabinet.com

ActivWall Gas Strut Windows feature concealed commercial grade gas struts for a sleek look. Unlock the latches and push the Gas Strut Window from the inside. The sturdy struts will take over and gently extend to create up to a 90-degree opening.
Many customers install a countertop extending through the window to create an indoor-outdoor bar for serving.
When you are done grilling or dining outdoors, pull down the window from the outside to close, or use our optional ActivWall Pull Hook to close the pass-through window from the inside.
If you only want to open the window a few inches for ventilation, ask about our optional Kick Stand attachment.

This fun space is a common lounge in which the lighting reflects the active and lively atmosphere of the room. Downlights shower the space with light and unique pendants were used to give the space a free-flowing energy feel. Cove lighting provides a nice glow that makes the ceiling seems limitless and floating to further enhance the active and free feel.

If you are planning to build or renovate a pool house for the upcoming season, be sure to include an ActivWall Gas Strut Window in your design. Contact us for a quote, and our team will help add some #WowFactor to your backyard!
This unit, located in central Virginia, measures 96″ wide by 48″ high. The thermally-broken aluminum frame is finished in a white powder coat with a saddle sill. The glass used for this unit is Insulated LowE 366.

Take your spa experience to a whole other level, with the superb new Zen Active Indoor/Outdoor Spa Pro by Aquatica. Now you can own your own state-of-the-art hot tub and enjoy the benefits of its hydrotherapy massage and chromotherapy right in your own backyard. Imagine, after a long day, slipping into your own attractive and very therapeutic spa, to relax and revitalize your senses.
Designed by the renowned international designer Marc Sadler, Zen Active Spa Pro is unparalleled in its approach to home spa enjoyment. Its generous 118 x 92” brings together the best features of quality spas, to create one superbly appointed, infinitely balanced, rectangular hot tub, outstanding in its simple clean lines, stylish modern minimalism and true Italian quality.

ActivWall Gas Strut Windows feature concealed commercial grade gas struts for a sleek look. Unlock the latches and push the Gas Strut Window from the inside. The sturdy struts will take over and gently extend to create up to a 90-degree opening.
Many customers install a countertop extending through the window to create an indoor-outdoor bar for serving.
When you are done grilling or dining outdoors, pull down the window from the outside to close, or use our optional ActivWall Pull Hook to close the pass-through window from the inside.
If you only want to open the window a few inches for ventilation, ask about our optional Kick Stand attachment.

The stunning renovation was led by Innovative Homes & Remodeling and Jennie Thomas Design, both of Zionsville, Indiana. They expanded their vision to include the outdoors when transforming the home’s small U-shaped kitchen and rarely-used dining room into a large open concept space.
The kitchen’s back wall is adjacent to a screened porch, so the team replaced the existing window with an ActivWall Gas Strut Window. It opens up and out to create a serving bar and allows for conversation between the two spaces.

When this homeowner in Michigan needed to add additional space to their 1930’s concrete-clad home, they turned to Renaissance Exteriors & Remodeling, an authorized ActivWall Dealer serving the Grand Rapids area.
The team at Renaissance collaborated with the homeowners to design and build a two-story addition, including a bedroom, bathroom, living area, and patio. One of the unique features of this renovation is the ActivWall Horizontal Folding Door which opens up the living space to the patio for indoor-outdoor living and enjoying nature.
The designers chose to use a four-panel outswing door with a 3L-1R configuration that allows one panel to be used as a swing door for daily use, and all four panels can be opened up to connect the indoor and outdoor living spaces.
The unit measures 144″ wide by 96″ high and is finished in a black powder coat with matching hardware to coordinate with other fixtures in the space. It is made with thermally broken aluminum, insulated glass, and a raised sill for maximum energy efficiency and protection from the elements.

2013 NARI CAPITAL COTY, MERIT AWARD WINNER, RESIDENTIAL EXTERIOR
A family of five living in a Chantilly, Virginia, neighborhood with a lot of improvement going on decided to do a project of their own. An active family, they decided their old deck was ragged, beat up and needed revamping.
After discussing their needs, the design team at Michael Nash Design, Build & Homes developed a plan for a covered porch and a wrap-around upscale deck. Traffic flow and multiple entrances were important, as was a place for the kids to leave their muddy shoes.
A double staircase leading the deck into the large backyard provides a panoramic view of the parkland behind the property. A side staircase lets the kids come into the covered porch and mudroom prior to entering the main house.
The covered porch touts large colonial style columns, a beaded cedar (stained) ceiling, recess lighting, ceiling fans and a large television with outdoor surround sound.
The deck touts synthetic railing and stained grade decking and offers extended living space just outside of the kitchen and family room, as well as a grill space and outdoor patio seating.
This new outdoor facility has become the jewel of their neighborhood and now the family can enjoy their backyard activities more than ever.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Photography by Lucas Henning.
Example of a mid-sized mountain style brown one-story metal house exterior design in Seattle with a shed roof and a metal roof
Example of a mid-sized mountain style brown one-story metal house exterior design in Seattle with a shed roof and a metal roof

The home’s open-concept layout integrates the great room, dining room and kitchen, providing a connected experience. A folding glass door leads from the great room to an expansive covered deck.
27