Search results for "Distribution" in Home Design Ideas

Design: Poul Henningsen
Concept: The fixture is 100% glare-free, with a design based on the principle of a reflective three-shade system, which directs most of the light downwards. The shades are made of deepdrawn aluminium with white inner surface that ensures gentle, downward light distribution. The downward light is both soft and pleasant.
Finish: Red, green, yellow and white, powder coated
Material: Shade: deep drawn aluminum, suspension: silk mat brown, copper.
Mounting: Canopy: White. Cord type: 3-conductor, 18 AWG white PVC power cord. Cord length: 9.8’.
Weight: Max. 2.9 lbs.
Label: cULus, Dry location. IBEW.

John G Wilbanks Photography
Small transitional l-shaped medium tone wood floor open concept kitchen photo in Seattle with a single-bowl sink, flat-panel cabinets, dark wood cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, ceramic backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island
Small transitional l-shaped medium tone wood floor open concept kitchen photo in Seattle with a single-bowl sink, flat-panel cabinets, dark wood cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, ceramic backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island

Call us for help on your Monorail System:
(866) 954 - 4489
Fili freejack pendant features a mouth-blown glass shade. All shades are satin with a wrap of hand-applied glass over the clear portion. Glass available in amber with red fili, green with topaz fili, satin with amber fili, satin with black fili and satin with clear fili. Finish available in satin nickel and dark bronze. Available in a wall sconce and table lamp version. Also available in a small and large size option. One 50 watt, 12 volt, T3 GY6.35 base halogen lamp not included. General light distribution. UL listed. Canopy sold separately. Overall height adjustable up to 120 inches. 6 inch diameter x 14 inch height.
Find the right local pro for your project

Main Line Kitchen Design is a brand new business model! We are a group of skilled Kitchen Designers each with many years of experience planning kitchens around the Delaware Valley. And we are cabinet dealers for 6 nationally distributed cabinet lines much like traditional showrooms. Unlike full showrooms open to the general public, Main Line Kitchen Design works only by appointment. Appointments can be scheduled days, nights, and weekends either in your home or in our office and selection center. During office appointments we display clients kitchens on a flat screen TV and help them look through 100’s of sample doorstyles, almost a thousand sample finish blocks and sample kitchen cabinets. During home visits we can bring samples, take measurements, and make design changes on laptops showing you what your kitchen can look like in the very room being renovated. This is more convenient for our customers and it eliminates the expense of staffing and maintaining a larger space that is open to walk in traffic. We pass the significant savings on to our customers and so we sell cabinetry for less than other dealers, even home centers like Lowes and The Home Depot.
We believe that since a web site like Houzz.com has over half a million kitchen photos any advantage to going to a full kitchen showroom with full kitchen displays has been lost. Almost no customer today will ever get to see a display kitchen in their door style and finish because there are just too many possibilities. And the design of each kitchen is unique anyway.
Scott Fredrick photographer

This brick and limestone, 6,000-square-foot residence exemplifies understated elegance. Located in the award-wining Blaine School District and within close proximity to the Southport Corridor, this is city living at its finest!
The foyer, with herringbone wood floors, leads to a dramatic, hand-milled oval staircase; an architectural element that allows sunlight to cascade down from skylights and to filter throughout the house. The floor plan has stately-proportioned rooms and includes formal Living and Dining Rooms; an expansive, eat-in, gourmet Kitchen/Great Room; four bedrooms on the second level with three additional bedrooms and a Family Room on the lower level; a Penthouse Playroom leading to a roof-top deck and green roof; and an attached, heated 3-car garage. Additional features include hardwood flooring throughout the main level and upper two floors; sophisticated architectural detailing throughout the house including coffered ceiling details, barrel and groin vaulted ceilings; painted, glazed and wood paneling; laundry rooms on the bedroom level and on the lower level; five fireplaces, including one outdoors; and HD Video, Audio and Surround Sound pre-wire distribution through the house and grounds. The home also features extensively landscaped exterior spaces, designed by Prassas Landscape Studio.
This home went under contract within 90 days during the Great Recession.
Featured in Chicago Magazine: http://goo.gl/Gl8lRm
Jim Yochum

Main cabinetry is in a simple Shaker style while the two hutches are in a glazed/painted finish. The mid-height open shelf is of the same maple as the other cabinets. The painted crown moulding is continued on the maple cabinets and ties the two areas together. The design layout includes relocation of the sink into a corner, which provides better distribution of the main work space. Four custom built pullout pantries create easy to reach storage of food prep items. Tile backsplash includes randomly paced hand painted decorative tiles. Existing vinyl flooring was replaced with Cherry engineered flooring.
New recessed lighting replaced the fluorescent 4x6 light panel.
A bookcase was added into the design to provide additional storage for newspapers, magazines, radio and miscellaneous items.

http://fulkra.com/services/feel
Example of a large trendy attached three-car garage design in Los Angeles
Example of a large trendy attached three-car garage design in Los Angeles

One of our Italian white lacquer modern kitchen projects in NYC's Upper West Side.
Enclosed kitchen - small modern single-wall ceramic tile and beige floor enclosed kitchen idea in New York with a drop-in sink, flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, quartz countertops, blue backsplash, ceramic backsplash, stainless steel appliances and no island
Enclosed kitchen - small modern single-wall ceramic tile and beige floor enclosed kitchen idea in New York with a drop-in sink, flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, quartz countertops, blue backsplash, ceramic backsplash, stainless steel appliances and no island

Ben Gebo
Inspiration for a large modern open concept family room remodel in Boston with a two-sided fireplace, a wood fireplace surround and a concealed tv
Inspiration for a large modern open concept family room remodel in Boston with a two-sided fireplace, a wood fireplace surround and a concealed tv

When it was time to update their small and poorly functional master bath, these homeowners approached Renovisions for help. The small 5’x8’ size constraints was a challenge but ‘Team Renovisions’ was up for the task and came up with a beautiful creative use of space which incorporates a spacious walk-in shower, a curved furniture-styled vanity with porcelain lavatory top, a sleek and energy efficient luxury performance toilet, with faucet and shower fixtures in chrome finish. Safety is a must for our projects and this decorative grab bar that matches the towel holder accessories is evidence of that as it provides both functional and aesthetic attributes.
18”x18” porcelain tiles in a brown marble pattern was a great choice as these over-sized tiles increased the feeling of the room while the rich cherry finish of the vanity complimented the brown veining of the tile nicely.
This newly remodeled master bath is clearly an example of making the most out of a small space. Beauty, functionality and style – it has it all!

This brick and limestone, 6,000-square-foot residence exemplifies understated elegance. Located in the award-wining Blaine School District and within close proximity to the Southport Corridor, this is city living at its finest!
The foyer, with herringbone wood floors, leads to a dramatic, hand-milled oval staircase; an architectural element that allows sunlight to cascade down from skylights and to filter throughout the house. The floor plan has stately-proportioned rooms and includes formal Living and Dining Rooms; an expansive, eat-in, gourmet Kitchen/Great Room; four bedrooms on the second level with three additional bedrooms and a Family Room on the lower level; a Penthouse Playroom leading to a roof-top deck and green roof; and an attached, heated 3-car garage. Additional features include hardwood flooring throughout the main level and upper two floors; sophisticated architectural detailing throughout the house including coffered ceiling details, barrel and groin vaulted ceilings; painted, glazed and wood paneling; laundry rooms on the bedroom level and on the lower level; five fireplaces, including one outdoors; and HD Video, Audio and Surround Sound pre-wire distribution through the house and grounds. The home also features extensively landscaped exterior spaces, designed by Prassas Landscape Studio.
This home went under contract within 90 days during the Great Recession.
Featured in Chicago Magazine: http://goo.gl/Gl8lRm
Jim Yochum

Control of the interior lighting allows one to set the ambience for listening to musical performances. Each instrument is connected to the Audio Distribution system so everyone may enjoy the performance; no mater where they are in the house. Audio controls allow precise volume adjustments of incoming and outgoing signals. Automatic shades protect the furnishings from sun damage and works with the Smart Thermostat to keep the environment at the right temperature all-year round. Freezing temperature sensors ensure the fireplace automatically ignites just in case the HVAC lost power or broke down. Contact sensors on the windows and door work with the home weather station to determine if windows/doors need to be closed when raining; not to mention the primary use with the security system to detect unwanted intruders.

Robert Clark Photography
Inspiration for a timeless kitchen/dining room combo remodel in Orlando with brown walls
Inspiration for a timeless kitchen/dining room combo remodel in Orlando with brown walls

The simply adorned sliders allows the ocean view to rival the fireplace wall as the focal point in this inviting family space,
Example of a large classic open concept limestone floor and beige floor living room design in New York with beige walls, a standard fireplace, a stone fireplace and a wall-mounted tv
Example of a large classic open concept limestone floor and beige floor living room design in New York with beige walls, a standard fireplace, a stone fireplace and a wall-mounted tv

Main Line Kitchen Design is a unique business model! We are a group of skilled Kitchen Designers each with many years of experience planning kitchens around the Delaware Valley. And we are cabinet dealers for 8 nationally distributed cabinet lines much like traditional showrooms.
Appointment Information
Unlike full showrooms open to the general public, Main Line Kitchen Design works only by appointment. Appointments can be scheduled days, nights, and weekends either in your home or in our office and selection center. During office appointments we display clients kitchens on a flat screen TV and help them look through 100’s of sample doorstyles, almost a thousand sample finish blocks and sample kitchen cabinets. During home visits we can bring samples, take measurements, and make design changes on laptops showing you what your kitchen can look like in the very room being renovated. This is more convenient for our customers and it eliminates the expense of staffing and maintaining a larger space that is open to walk in traffic. We pass the significant savings on to our customers and so we sell cabinetry for less than other dealers, even home centers like Lowes and The Home Depot.
We believe that since a web site like Houzz.com has over half a million kitchen photos, any advantage to going to a full kitchen showroom with full kitchen displays has been lost. Almost no customer today will ever get to see a display kitchen in their door style and finish because there are just too many possibilities. And the design of each kitchen is unique anyway. Our design process allows us to spend more time working on our customer’s designs. This is what we enjoy most about our business and it is what makes the difference between an average and a great kitchen design. Among the kitchen cabinet lines we design with and sell are Jim Bishop, 6 Square, Fabuwood, Brighton, and Wellsford Fine Custom Cabinetry.

Wolf 30" E Series Transitional Built-In Double Oven Stainless Steel | DO30TE
Available at Universal Appliance and Kitchen Center | uakc.com
New stainless steel touch-control panel:
A favorite of chefs, the easy-to-master control panel now has a sleeker, cleaner look, with the same precise control of temperature, timer and mode settings — all visible via crisp LCD display.
Coordinated design styles:
Built to beautifully complement other Wolf products such as microwaves and warming drawers, ovens are available in three coordinating trim styles for easy customization.
Dual convection:
Two dedicated heating elements distribute heat evenly throughout the oven, for faster and better-tasting results — especially when using multiple racks at once.
10 one-touch cooking modes:
Each mode uses a distinct combination of heat source and airflow, providing the right cooking environment for every dish and ensuring delicious results.
Cobalt blue porcelain interiors:
Wolf's signature aesthetics enhance the ovens' interior, creating a bold cooking backdrop.
Temperature probe:
The temperature probe alerts you when your dish has reached the desired temperature, eliminating guesswork when preparing roasts and other meats.
Smooth door opening and closing:
Say goodbye to the sound of oven-door slams. Doors on built-in E series ovens open and close quietly and effortlessly, thanks to a balanced door hinge system.
Home automation compatible:
Select built-in E series oven features can be controlled via an existing home automation system for enhanced convenience.
Convenient features:
Ease-of-use is enhanced with self-clean, delayed start, timed cook and Sabbath mode settings.
Lower oven features:
The lower oven is a standard, non-convection oven offering four cooking modes (bake, broil, roast and proof).
Adjustable oven racks:
Each built-in E series oven comes standard with three adjustable racks: one standard rack, one full-extension easy-glide rack and one full-extension door-glide rack — placing heavier dishes safely within reach.
Obstacle-free cooking environment:
A hidden bake element allows for obstacle-free cleaning of the oven's floor, and a recessed broil element provides more room for large dishes.
Design flexibility:
Built-in E series ovens can be installed flush with surrounding cabinetry to complement an overall integrated kitchen design.
Enhanced interior views:
Large, double-pane glass door windows and bright, dual halogen lights give you a clear view of your dish without having to open the door and disturb the cooking environment.
Technical Features:
Dimensions: 29 7/8"W x 50 3/8"H x 23 3/4"D
Star-K Kosher certified as Sabbath and holiday-compliant

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
138


