Search results for "Ideal fish" in Home Design Ideas

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Hartwell Area . Knowing the areas and resources of Lake Hartwell is our specialty. Whether you're looking for fishing on Lake Hartwell, information and history of Hartwell Dam and Lake. Learn all about Lake Hartwell here!
Hartwell, Ga. was the Reader's Choice 2009 Best small town to live in. Hartwell is the seat of Hart County and sits upon the southern border of Lake Hartwell. Lake Hartwell is a reservoir bordering Georgia and South Carolina on the Savannah, Tugaloo, and Seneca Rivers.
LAKE HARTWELL is located in the Northeast Georgia Mountains and Upcountry South Carolina. Formed by a Corps of Engineers dam at Hartwell, Georgia and bisected by Interstate 85 as it crosses from Georgia into South Carolina, Hartwell Lake is one of the most accessible lakes in the nation. Less than 2 hours from downtown Atlanta, GA, 2 hours from Charlotte, NC, or 1 hour from Greenville, SC, Lake Hartwell is an ideal location for your residence, retirement, vacation, or investment real estate. Lake Hartwell's 962 miles of shoreline and 56,000 acres feature over 80 public boat ramps, recreation, and park areas with some of the best boating, water-skiing, and fishing in Georgia or South Carolina. GOLF HARTWELL at one of the nearby courses, or just relax on a quiet island or one of many natural sand beaches. Lake Hartwell Water Level

The Lakewood home is a charming and compact timber frame plan, offering one story living with the master bedroom suite, living, dining and kitchen all on the first floor. Two additional bedrooms and full bath upstairs are ideal for family or guests, and there is a loft overlooking the great room. The wrap around deck and screened in porch make this house perfect for any scenic location.
Built by Old Hampshire Designs in the Lake Sunapee NH area
Photos by William Fish
Timber frame by Timberpeg
Virtual tour of this home available on the Timberpeg website at http://timberpeg.com/content/timber-frame-virtual-tours#lakewood

The Lakewood home is a charming and compact timber frame plan, offering one story living with the master bedroom suite, living, dining and kitchen all on the first floor. Two additional bedrooms and full bath upstairs are ideal for family or guests, and there is a loft overlooking the great room. The wrap around deck and screened in porch make this house perfect for any scenic location.
Built by Old Hampshire Designs in the Lake Sunapee/Hanover NH area
Photos by William Fish
Timber frame by Timberpeg
Virtual tour of this home available on the Timberpeg website at http://timberpeg.com/content/timber-frame-virtual-tours#lakewood
Find the right local pro for your project

Design ideas for a large rustic partial sun backyard stone landscaping in Boston for winter.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Miele Appliances at Universal Appliance and Kitchen Center
26767 Agoura Road, Calabasas, CA 91302
Phone 818.880.0011 Fax 818.880.0411
12050 Ventura Blvd.,Studio City, CA 91604
Phone 818.755.1111 Fax 818.755.9111
www.uakc.com
Miele Generation 6000 is bringing design and innovation that exceed expectations. It includes two distinct design styles - PureLine and ContourLine - as well as several color options including Brilliant White and Truffle Brown.
Design for Miele is not simply the exterior. Like the design principle, form follows function; the true beauty of the Generation 6000 series is highlighted by its intuitive user interface, which ensures unsurpassed performance and convenience in the kitchen. With these new color options and the uniform design of the Generation 6000 series, Miele has created a series of appliances that will seamlessly integrate into any kitchen or lifestyle. Whether appliances are installed vertically, horizontally, as a square or in a T-shape configuration, the design is fully resolved.
M Touch – Top-class technology with a special touch
Whether it’s creating a double cappuccino at the touch of a single button, finding the desired MasterChef automatic program on the Combi-Steam Oven in an instant or selecting the operating mode and temperature in just a few simple steps – Miele eliminates the guesswork. All of these operations are easier than ever because of M Touch. Reminiscent of smart phones and tablets, M Touch is an intuitive user interface that allows the user to swipe or scroll through the menu with the tip of a finger. A new high resolution control panel with white TFT (Thin Film Transistor) text brings a brilliant display. And because the interface is universal across all Gen 6000 appliances, the transition from appliance to appliance is easier than ever.
Oven Innovations: Moisture Plus, Gourmet Center and MultiSteam
Developed exclusively for Miele USA, Moisture Plus is a truly unique steam injection system featured in Miele M Touch 30” Convection Ovens. Moisture Plus automatically injects a burst of steam into the oven cavity at pre-determined points during the cooking process. The addition of moisture improves results when proofing dough, gives loaves of bread a crisp crust and glossy finish and makes cuts of meat particularly crisp on the outside and succulent inside.
Also new to the 30” Convection Oven is the addition of MasterChef Plus programs. Ideal for the consummate baker at home, this exclusive new menu system houses 14 automatic bread programs and replicates results seen in artisan bakeries. Included are programs for sourdough, whole grain, rolls and baguettes.
A pioneer in steam oven technology, Generation 6000 Steam and Combi-Steam Ovens are equipped with MultiSteam technology, a revolutionary new steam cooking generation. The addition of six steam inlets in the Steam Oven and eight steam inlets in the Combi-Steam Oven, delivers fast, even steam distribution and incredibly quick heat-up times for even cooking results through a more powerful steam generator.
Long regarded for its ingredient-driven menu, Miele MasterChef programs are now located within the Gourmet Center. Choose from more than 100 easy to use programs for grains, vegetables, meats, fish and poultry. At just the touch of a button, the program will deliver menu options that guide the user step by step - from the desired oven mode to temperature - all resulting in the perfect dish.
Generation 6000 Coffee Systems impress with comfort and innovation
There are several new highlights to the Generation 6000 Whole Bean Coffee System including a new CupSensor, EasyClick Milk System and One Touch for Two features. Exclusive to Miele, the CupSensor automatically adjusts the height of the spout to the optimum position for different cup and glass sizes. Whether a tall latté macchiato or a dainty espresso is being prepared, the central spout automatically adjusts to the cup’s rim and eliminates splashing. The CupSensor even reacts precisely to beverages made with milk by raising the spout slightly to make room for the incoming espresso.
Also new is the EasyClick milk system which is a dishwasher safe glass, milk flask that effortlessly clicks into place at the front of the machine. And for easy maintenance, the new Miele Coffee Systems now automatically rinse all milk spouts and hoses with water after each use.
The One Touch for Two feature allows the user to prepare two coffee specialties such as cappuccino and latté macchiato at the same time, thus reducing prep time when two or more drinks are being served.
Miele Generation 6000 series is distinguished by its elegant design and remarkable innovations to deliver unmatched results that can be seen, touched and tasted. German engineered and tested to last 20 years, Generation 6000 reinforces the Miele Design for Life philosophy and solidifies Miele at the forefront of residential culinary appliances.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Hartwell Area . Knowing the areas and resources of Lake Hartwell is our specialty. Whether you're looking for fishing on Lake Hartwell, information and history of Hartwell Dam and Lake. Learn all about Lake Hartwell here!
Hartwell, Ga. was the Reader's Choice 2009 Best small town to live in. Hartwell is the seat of Hart County and sits upon the southern border of Lake Hartwell. Lake Hartwell is a reservoir bordering Georgia and South Carolina on the Savannah, Tugaloo, and Seneca Rivers.
LAKE HARTWELL is located in the Northeast Georgia Mountains and Upcountry South Carolina. Formed by a Corps of Engineers dam at Hartwell, Georgia and bisected by Interstate 85 as it crosses from Georgia into South Carolina, Hartwell Lake is one of the most accessible lakes in the nation. Less than 2 hours from downtown Atlanta, GA, 2 hours from Charlotte, NC, or 1 hour from Greenville, SC, Lake Hartwell is an ideal location for your residence, retirement, vacation, or investment real estate. Lake Hartwell's 962 miles of shoreline and 56,000 acres feature over 80 public boat ramps, recreation, and park areas with some of the best boating, water-skiing, and fishing in Georgia or South Carolina. GOLF HARTWELL at one of the nearby courses, or just relax on a quiet island or one of many natural sand beaches. Lake Hartwell Water Level

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

The Lakewood home is a charming and compact timber frame plan, offering one story living with the master bedroom suite, living, dining and kitchen all on the first floor. Two additional bedrooms and full bath upstairs are ideal for family or guests, and there is a loft overlooking the great room. The wrap around deck and screened in porch make this house perfect for any scenic location.
Built by Old Hampshire Designs in the Lake Sunapee/Hanover NH area
Photos by William Fish
Timber frame by Timberpeg
Virtual tour of this home available on the Timberpeg website at http://timberpeg.com/content/timber-frame-virtual-tours#lakewood

The Lakewood home is a charming and compact timber frame house plan, offering one story living, with the master bedroom suite, living, dining and kitchen all on the first floor. Two additional bedrooms and full bath upstairs are ideal for family or guests, and there is a loft overlooking the great room. The wrap around deck and screened in porch make this house perfect for any scenic location.
Built by Old Hampshire Designs in the Lake Sunapee/Hanover NH area
Photos by William Fish
Timber frame by Timberpeg
Virtual tour of this home available on the Timberpeg website at http://timberpeg.com/content/timber-frame-virtual-tours#lakewood

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Miele Appliances at Universal Appliance and Kitchen Center
26767 Agoura Road, Calabasas, CA 91302
Phone 818.880.0011 Fax 818.880.0411
12050 Ventura Blvd.,Studio City, CA 91604
Phone 818.755.1111 Fax 818.755.9111
www.uakc.com
Miele Generation 6000 is bringing design and innovation that exceed expectations. It includes two distinct design styles - PureLine and ContourLine - as well as several color options including Brilliant White and Truffle Brown.
Design for Miele is not simply the exterior. Like the design principle, form follows function; the true beauty of the Generation 6000 series is highlighted by its intuitive user interface, which ensures unsurpassed performance and convenience in the kitchen. With these new color options and the uniform design of the Generation 6000 series, Miele has created a series of appliances that will seamlessly integrate into any kitchen or lifestyle. Whether appliances are installed vertically, horizontally, as a square or in a T-shape configuration, the design is fully resolved.
M Touch – Top-class technology with a special touch
Whether it’s creating a double cappuccino at the touch of a single button, finding the desired MasterChef automatic program on the Combi-Steam Oven in an instant or selecting the operating mode and temperature in just a few simple steps – Miele eliminates the guesswork. All of these operations are easier than ever because of M Touch. Reminiscent of smart phones and tablets, M Touch is an intuitive user interface that allows the user to swipe or scroll through the menu with the tip of a finger. A new high resolution control panel with white TFT (Thin Film Transistor) text brings a brilliant display. And because the interface is universal across all Gen 6000 appliances, the transition from appliance to appliance is easier than ever.
Oven Innovations: Moisture Plus, Gourmet Center and MultiSteam
Developed exclusively for Miele USA, Moisture Plus is a truly unique steam injection system featured in Miele M Touch 30” Convection Ovens. Moisture Plus automatically injects a burst of steam into the oven cavity at pre-determined points during the cooking process. The addition of moisture improves results when proofing dough, gives loaves of bread a crisp crust and glossy finish and makes cuts of meat particularly crisp on the outside and succulent inside.
Also new to the 30” Convection Oven is the addition of MasterChef Plus programs. Ideal for the consummate baker at home, this exclusive new menu system houses 14 automatic bread programs and replicates results seen in artisan bakeries. Included are programs for sourdough, whole grain, rolls and baguettes.
A pioneer in steam oven technology, Generation 6000 Steam and Combi-Steam Ovens are equipped with MultiSteam technology, a revolutionary new steam cooking generation. The addition of six steam inlets in the Steam Oven and eight steam inlets in the Combi-Steam Oven, delivers fast, even steam distribution and incredibly quick heat-up times for even cooking results through a more powerful steam generator.
Long regarded for its ingredient-driven menu, Miele MasterChef programs are now located within the Gourmet Center. Choose from more than 100 easy to use programs for grains, vegetables, meats, fish and poultry. At just the touch of a button, the program will deliver menu options that guide the user step by step - from the desired oven mode to temperature - all resulting in the perfect dish.
Generation 6000 Coffee Systems impress with comfort and innovation
There are several new highlights to the Generation 6000 Whole Bean Coffee System including a new CupSensor, EasyClick Milk System and One Touch for Two features. Exclusive to Miele, the CupSensor automatically adjusts the height of the spout to the optimum position for different cup and glass sizes. Whether a tall latté macchiato or a dainty espresso is being prepared, the central spout automatically adjusts to the cup’s rim and eliminates splashing. The CupSensor even reacts precisely to beverages made with milk by raising the spout slightly to make room for the incoming espresso.
Also new is the EasyClick milk system which is a dishwasher safe glass, milk flask that effortlessly clicks into place at the front of the machine. And for easy maintenance, the new Miele Coffee Systems now automatically rinse all milk spouts and hoses with water after each use.
The One Touch for Two feature allows the user to prepare two coffee specialties such as cappuccino and latté macchiato at the same time, thus reducing prep time when two or more drinks are being served.
Miele Generation 6000 series is distinguished by its elegant design and remarkable innovations to deliver unmatched results that can be seen, touched and tasted. German engineered and tested to last 20 years, Generation 6000 reinforces the Miele Design for Life philosophy and solidifies Miele at the forefront of residential culinary appliances.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This transitional kitchen design in Lake Forest is packed with professional quality features interwoven with personal touches that bring out the personality of the homeowner. Earthy tones feature throughout this kitchen design from the ceiling beam to the raised panel kitchen cabinets to the multi-toned glass mosaic tile backsplash. This gives the open plan kitchen a warm appeal that will make it the center of life in this home. A luxury vinyl tile floor pulls together the space with an easy to maintain material with the look of hardwood flooring.
Upper glass front kitchen cabinets add light and depth to the room and offer space to display glassware and dishes. The cabinetry is offset by an engineered quartz countertop and cabinet hardware that includes unique fish-shaped drawer pulls. This adds an eclectic edge to the kitchen design and brings out the personality of the homeowner, who is a fisherman.
The kitchen remodel also brought in professional quality appliances, creating an ideal space for an avid home chef to create culinary masterpieces. The Thor professional oven and range combined with a Vent-a-Hood range hood and a pot filler faucet offer the perfect space for day-to-day cooking or creating special meals for family and friends. A large Kohler Stages stainless steel Chef’s undermount sink in the island pairs with a Grohe pull down sprayer faucet, offering ample room for everything from preparing food to cleaning large pots. The island also features angled power strips that fit neatly under the edge of the countertop. A Samsung refrigerator, LG built-in microwave, and Bosch dishwasher complete the food storage and cooking area of this kitchen design.
Ample lighting brightens up the space, including recessed lights and pendants over the island. Undercabinet lighting highlights the stunning backsplash and offers additional task lighting in the cooking area. This is a kitchen design that will be the center of life for years to come!

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

A beautiful relaxing scene of the coral reef in the ocean. A glass mosaic that is ideal for installation in bathrooms and pools.
Pool - coastal pool idea in Chicago
Pool - coastal pool idea in Chicago

Wolf 24" E Series Transitional Convection Steam Oven Stainless Steel | CSO24TE
Available at Universal Appliance and Kitchen Center | uakc.com
Easy-access water tank:
The oven’s large water tank provides 90 minutes of continuous steam cooking. Thoughtfully designed, it can be refilled when needed without opening the oven door and interrupting the cooking process.
Largest interior capacity:
More than 25 percent larger than similar units, large enough to roast a 15-pound turkey, Wolf’s steam oven lets you prepare larger items and even multiple dishes at once.
Design flexibility:
Install the unit flush with cabinetry to seamlessly integrate it into your kitchen design. And since the unit isn’t plumbed, it can be installed anywhere without requiring special water lines.
10 cooking modes:
Precisely control heat, steam and airflow for the best results with any dish with 10 cooking modes: Steam, Reheat, Auto Steam Bake, Convection, Convection Humid, Convection Steam, Gourmet, Slow Roast, Recipes, and Keep Warm.
Steam mode:
Steam mode heats with steam and hot air, achieving a temperature range from 85°F-210°F. From vegetables, poultry and fish to grains, beans, pasta and egg dishes, gentle steam heat is ideal for capturing nutrition, color and flavor.
Reheat mode:
Reheat mode uses steam and hot air to rehydrate food gently. Using convection and the right amount of moisture, Reheat mode warms one to four pans of food evenly and without drying with a temperature range from 210°F to 300°F.
Auto Steam Bake mode:
By heating with steam first, then using convection heat to finish, bagels, breads, buns, rolls and pastries acquire a tender interior and a natural shine without the need for brushing with an egg wash. Auto Steam Bake mode temperatures range from 210°F to 445°F.
Convection mode:
A fan circulates hot air from a heating element at the back of the oven to distribute heat evenly around food for consistent results and browning. Convection mode temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Convection Humid mode:
In Convection Humid mode, a heating element at the back of the oven produces heat and oven ventilation is sealed so that moisture produced during cooking remains in the oven. Convection Humid temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Convection Steam mode:
Use Convection Steam for any foods you want to be tender inside and roasted or crisped outside. Convection steam mode temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Gourmet mode:
Gourmet mode uses a climate sensor to adjust time, temperature and humidity for ideal results with no guesswork.
Slow Roast mode:
Slow Roast mode is an ultimate convenience. Insert the probe into your prepared meat, select a slow roast setting for the dish you're preparing, tell the oven what time you want it done, and come home to a perfectly cooked meal.
Recipes mode:
Use Recipes mode and the collection of built-in recipes to harness the power of the oven's many different cooking modes to easily cook entire meals from appetizers and entrees to desserts.
Keep Warm mode:
The combination of convection and steam heat preserves food’s taste, texture, looks and quality so every bite is as delicious as if it were fresh from the oven. Keep multiple dinner plates warm at once, making staggered meal times more convenient.
Temperature probe:
The temperature probe alerts you when your dish has reached the desired temperature, eliminating guesswork when preparing roasts and other meats.
Multiple pans and rack positions:
Two included pans can be placed in any of four rack positions. Both pans are stainles steel – one solid, and the other with a perforated bottom that is particularly well-suited for dishes prepared in Steam mode.
Delayed start:
What time would you like your dish to be ready? Simply program in a time. The oven turns on at the right moment and adjusts the cooking process so the food is ready to serve precisely when you want it.
Technical Features:
Shipping Weight (lbs): 80
Electrical Requirements: 220/240V, 60Hz, 20 amp dedicated circuit
Dimensions: 23 1/2”W x 17 7/8”H x 21 1/2”D
Star-K Kosher certified as Sabbath and holiday-compliant

The Lakewood home is a charming and compact timber frame plan, offering one story living with the master bedroom suite, living, dining and kitchen all on the first floor. Two additional bedrooms and full bath upstairs are ideal for family or guests, and there is a loft overlooking the great room. The wrap around deck and screened in porch make this house perfect for any scenic location.
Built by Old Hampshire Designs in the Lake Sunapee/Hanover NH area
Photos by William Fish
Timber frame by Timberpeg
Virtual tour of this home available on the Timberpeg website at http://timberpeg.com/content/timber-frame-virtual-tours#lakewood

Wolf 30" M Series Contemporary Convection Steam Oven Black | CSO30CM
Available at Universal Appliance and Kitchen Center | uakc.com
Easy-access water tank:
The oven’s large water tank provides 90 minutes of continuous steam cooking. Thoughtfully designed, it can be refilled when needed without opening the oven door and interrupting the cooking process.
Largest interior capacity:
More than 25 percent larger than similar units, large enough to roast a 15-pound turkey, Wolf’s steam oven lets you prepare larger items and even multiple dishes at once.
Design flexibility:
Install the unit flush with cabinetry to seamlessly integrate it into your kitchen design. And since the unit isn’t plumbed, it can be installed anywhere without requiring special water lines.
10 cooking modes:
Precisely control heat, steam and airflow for the best results with any dish with 10 cooking modes: Steam, Reheat, Auto Steam Bake, Convection, Convection Humid, Convection Steam, Gourmet, Slow Roast, Recipes, and Keep Warm.
Steam mode:
Steam mode heats with steam and hot air, achieving a temperature range from 85°F-210°F. From vegetables, poultry and fish to grains, beans, pasta and egg dishes, gentle steam heat is ideal for capturing nutrition, color and flavor.
Reheat mode:
Reheat mode uses steam and hot air to rehydrate food gently. Using convection and the right amount of moisture, Reheat mode warms one to four pans of food evenly and without drying with a temperature range from 210°F to 300°F.
Auto Steam Bake mode:
By heating with steam first, then using convection heat to finish, bagels, breads, buns, rolls and pastries acquire a tender interior and a natural shine without the need for brushing with an egg wash. Auto Steam Bake mode temperatures range from 210°F to 445°F.
Convection mode:
A fan circulates hot air from a heating element at the back of the oven to distribute heat evenly around food for consistent results and browning. Convection mode temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Convection Humid mode:
In Convection Humid mode, a heating element at the back of the oven produces heat and oven ventilation is sealed so that moisture produced during cooking remains in the oven. Convection Humid temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Convection Steam mode:
Use Convection Steam for any foods you want to be tender inside and roasted or crisped outside. Convection steam mode temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Gourmet mode:
Gourmet mode uses a climate sensor to adjust time, temperature and humidity for ideal results with no guesswork.
Slow Roast mode:
Slow Roast mode is an ultimate convenience. Insert the probe into your prepared meat, select a slow roast setting for the dish you're preparing, tell the oven what time you want it done, and come home to a perfectly cooked meal.
Recipes mode:
Use Recipes mode and the collection of built-in recipes to harness the power of the oven's many different cooking modes to easily cook entire meals from appetizers and entrees to desserts.
Keep Warm mode:
The combination of convection and steam heat preserves food’s taste, texture, looks and quality so every bite is as delicious as if it were fresh from the oven. Keep multiple dinner plates warm at once, making staggered meal times more convenient.
Temperature probe:
The temperature probe alerts you when your dish has reached the desired temperature, eliminating guesswork when preparing roasts and other meats.
Multiple pans and rack positions:
Two included pans can be placed in any of four rack positions. Both pans are stainles steel – one solid, and the other with a perforated bottom that is particularly well-suited for dishes prepared in Steam mode.
Delayed start:
What time would you like your dish to be ready? Simply program in a time. The oven turns on at the right moment and adjusts the cooking process so the food is ready to serve precisely when you want it.
Technical Features:
Shipping Weight (lbs): 80
Electrical Requirements: 220/240V, 60Hz, 20 amp dedicated circuit
Dimensions: 29 7/8"W x 17 7/8"H x 21 1/2"D
Star-K Kosher certified as Sabbath and holiday-compliant

Sponsored
Galena, OH
Buckeye Restoration & Remodeling Inc.
Central Ohio's Premier Home Remodelers Since 1996

The Lakewood home is a charming and compact timber frame plan, offering one story living with the master bedroom suite, living, dining and kitchen all on the first floor. Two additional bedrooms and full bath upstairs are ideal for family or guests, and there is a loft overlooking the great room. The wrap around deck and screened in porch make this house perfect for any scenic location.
Built by Old Hampshire Designs in the Lake Sunapee/Newbury NH area
Photos by William Fish
Timber frame by Timberpeg
Virtual tour of this home available on the Timberpeg website at http://timberpeg.com/content/timber-frame-virtual-tours#lakewood

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Wolf 30" E Series Contemporary Convection Steam Oven Black | CSO30CM
Available at Universal Appliance and Kitchen Center | uakc.com
Easy-access water tank:
The oven’s large water tank provides 90 minutes of continuous steam cooking. Thoughtfully designed, it can be refilled when needed without opening the oven door and interrupting the cooking process.
Largest interior capacity:
More than 25 percent larger than similar units, large enough to roast a 15-pound turkey, Wolf’s steam oven lets you prepare larger items and even multiple dishes at once.
Design flexibility:
Install the unit flush with cabinetry to seamlessly integrate it into your kitchen design. And since the unit isn’t plumbed, it can be installed anywhere without requiring special water lines.
10 cooking modes:
Precisely control heat, steam and airflow for the best results with any dish with 10 cooking modes: Steam, Reheat, Auto Steam Bake, Convection, Convection Humid, Convection Steam, Gourmet, Slow Roast, Recipes, and Keep Warm.
Steam mode:
Steam mode heats with steam and hot air, achieving a temperature range from 85°F-210°F. From vegetables, poultry and fish to grains, beans, pasta and egg dishes, gentle steam heat is ideal for capturing nutrition, color and flavor.
Reheat mode:
Reheat mode uses steam and hot air to rehydrate food gently. Using convection and the right amount of moisture, Reheat mode warms one to four pans of food evenly and without drying with a temperature range from 210°F to 300°F.
Auto Steam Bake mode:
By heating with steam first, then using convection heat to finish, bagels, breads, buns, rolls and pastries acquire a tender interior and a natural shine without the need for brushing with an egg wash. Auto Steam Bake mode temperatures range from 210°F to 445°F.
Convection mode:
A fan circulates hot air from a heating element at the back of the oven to distribute heat evenly around food for consistent results and browning. Convection mode temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Convection Humid mode:
In Convection Humid mode, a heating element at the back of the oven produces heat and oven ventilation is sealed so that moisture produced during cooking remains in the oven. Convection Humid temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Convection Steam mode:
Use Convection Steam for any foods you want to be tender inside and roasted or crisped outside. Convection steam mode temperatures range from 85°F to 445°F.
Gourmet mode:
Gourmet mode uses a climate sensor to adjust time, temperature and humidity for ideal results with no guesswork.
Slow Roast mode:
Slow Roast mode is an ultimate convenience. Insert the probe into your prepared meat, select a slow roast setting for the dish you're preparing, tell the oven what time you want it done, and come home to a perfectly cooked meal.
Recipes mode:
Use Recipes mode and the collection of built-in recipes to harness the power of the oven's many different cooking modes to easily cook entire meals from appetizers and entrees to desserts.
Keep Warm mode:
The combination of convection and steam heat preserves food’s taste, texture, looks and quality so every bite is as delicious as if it were fresh from the oven. Keep multiple dinner plates warm at once, making staggered meal times more convenient.
Temperature probe:
The temperature probe alerts you when your dish has reached the desired temperature, eliminating guesswork when preparing roasts and other meats.
Multiple pans and rack positions:
Two included pans can be placed in any of four rack positions. Both pans are stainles steel – one solid, and the other with a perforated bottom that is particularly well-suited for dishes prepared in Steam mode.
Delayed start:
What time would you like your dish to be ready? Simply program in a time. The oven turns on at the right moment and adjusts the cooking process so the food is ready to serve precisely when you want it.
Technical Features:
Shipping Weight (lbs): 80
Electrical Requirements: 220/240V, 60Hz, 20 amp dedicated circuit
Dimensions: 29 7/8"W x 17 7/8"H x 21 1/2"D
Star-K Kosher certified as Sabbath and holiday-compliant
5