Search results for "Increases" in Home Design Ideas

Sheltered walkways and porches increase the year-round enjoyment of the home.
Scott Bergman Photography
Mountain style side yard deck photo in Boston with a roof extension
Mountain style side yard deck photo in Boston with a roof extension

The goal in building this home was to create an exterior esthetic that elicits memories of a Tuscan Villa on a hillside and also incorporates a modern feel to the interior.
Modern aspects were achieved using an open staircase along with a 25' wide rear folding door. The addition of the folding door allows us to achieve a seamless feel between the interior and exterior of the house. Such creates a versatile entertaining area that increases the capacity to comfortably entertain guests.
The outdoor living space with covered porch is another unique feature of the house. The porch has a fireplace plus heaters in the ceiling which allow one to entertain guests regardless of the temperature. The zero edge pool provides an absolutely beautiful backdrop—currently, it is the only one made in Indiana. Lastly, the master bathroom shower has a 2' x 3' shower head for the ultimate waterfall effect. This house is unique both outside and in.

Living room - 1950s living room idea in Los Angeles with white walls, a standard fireplace and a brick fireplace
Find the right local pro for your project

Klopf Architecture, Outer Space Landscape Architects, Sezen & Moon Structural Engineer and Flegels Construction updated a classic Eichler open, indoor-outdoor home.
Everyone loved the classic, original bones of this house, but it was in need of a major facelift both inside and out. The owners also wanted to remove the barriers between the kitchen and great room, and increase the size of the master bathroom as well as make other layout changes. No addition to the house was contemplated.
The owners worked with Klopf Architecture in part because of Klopf’s extensive mid-century modern / Eichler design portfolio, and in part because one of their neighbors who had worked with Klopf on their Eichler home remodel referred them. The Klopf team knew how to update the worn finishes to make a more sophisticated, higher quality home that both looks better and functions better.
In conjunction with the atrium and the landscaped rear yard / patio, the glassy living room feels open on both sides and allows an indoor / outdoor flow throughout. The new, natural wood exterior siding runs through the house from inside to outside to inside again, updating one of the classic design features of the Eichler homes.
Picking up on the wood siding, walnut vanities and cabinets offset the white walls. Gray porcelain tiles evoke the concrete slab floors and flow from interior to exterior to make the spaces appear to flow together. Similarly the ceiling decking has the same white-washed finish from inside to out. The continuity of materials and space enhances the sense of flow.
The large kitchen, perfect for entertaining, has a wall of built-ins and an oversized island. There’s plenty of storage and space for the whole group to prep and cook together.
One unique approach to the master bedroom is the bed wall. The head of the bed is tucked within a line of built-in wardrobes with a high window above. Replacing the master closet with this wall of wardrobes allowed for both a larger bathroom and a larger bedroom.
This 1,953 square foot, 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom Double Gable Eichler remodeled single-family house is located in Mountain View in the heart of the Silicon Valley.
Klopf Architecture Project Team: John Klopf, AIA, Klara Kevane, and Yegvenia Torres-Zavala
Landscape Architect: Outer Space Landscape Architects
Structural Engineer: Sezen & Moon
Contractor: Flegels Construction
Landscape Contractor: Roco's Gardening & Arroyo Vista Landscaping, Inc.
Photography ©2016 Mariko Reed
Location: Mountain View, CA
Year completed: 2015

Serenity reigns in the second floor master suite, which includes private office/sitting room. Pristine gray walls, white tongue and groove ceiling with industrial metal & wood fans keep breezes moving on those warm summer nights.

See what our client say about Paul Lopa Designs:
We hired Paul Lopa to remodel our master bathroom. During the project, we increased the work to include upgrading all moldings and replaced all interior doors including our front door. We are very pleased with his work. There were no hidden costs, he followed through on every last detail and did so in a timely manner.
He guided us toward materials that were of a higher quality to prevent problems down the road. His team was respectful of our home and did their best to protect our belongings from the renovation destruction. We will definitely hire Paul Lopa again for future renovations.
Haw, Ron

This beautiful white and gray marble floor and shower tile inspired the design for this bright and spa-like master bathroom. Gold sparkling flecks throughout the tile add warmth to an otherwise cool palette. Luxe gold fixtures pick up those gold details. Warmth and soft contrast were added through the butternut wood mantel and matching shelves for the toilet room. Our details are the mosaic side table, towels, mercury glass vases, and marble accessories.
The bath tub was a must! Truly a treat to enjoy a bath by the fire in this romantic space. The corner shower has ample space and luxury. Leaf motif marble tile are used in the shower floor. Patterns and colors are connected throughout the space for a cohesive, warm, and bright space.

photo by Chad Mellon
Example of a large country l-shaped light wood floor and beige floor open concept kitchen design in Orange County with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, white backsplash, shiplap backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and white countertops
Example of a large country l-shaped light wood floor and beige floor open concept kitchen design in Orange County with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, white backsplash, shiplap backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and white countertops

Working with a long time resident, creating a unified look out of the varied styles found in the space while increasing the size of the home was the goal of this project.
Both of the home’s bathrooms were renovated to further the contemporary style of the space, adding elements of color as well as modern bathroom fixtures. Further additions to the master bathroom include a frameless glass door enclosure, green wall tiles, and a stone bar countertop with wall-mounted faucets.
The guest bathroom uses a more minimalistic design style, employing a white color scheme, free standing sink and a modern enclosed glass shower.
The kitchen maintains a traditional style with custom white kitchen cabinets, a Carrera marble countertop, banquet seats and a table with blue accent walls that add a splash of color to the space.

Eat-in kitchen - large coastal l-shaped light wood floor eat-in kitchen idea in Boston with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances, a peninsula and subway tile backsplash

Example of a mid-sized mountain style front yard stone patio design in San Francisco with a fire pit and no cover

David Dietrich
Arts and crafts enclosed family room photo in Other with beige walls, a standard fireplace, a stone fireplace and a concealed tv
Arts and crafts enclosed family room photo in Other with beige walls, a standard fireplace, a stone fireplace and a concealed tv

Ryan Patrick Kelly
Inspiration for a small transitional formal and enclosed carpeted and beige floor living room remodel in Edmonton with black walls
Inspiration for a small transitional formal and enclosed carpeted and beige floor living room remodel in Edmonton with black walls

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The goal in building this home was to create an exterior esthetic that elicits memories of a Tuscan Villa on a hillside and also incorporates a modern feel to the interior.
Modern aspects were achieved using an open staircase along with a 25' wide rear folding door. The addition of the folding door allows us to achieve a seamless feel between the interior and exterior of the house. Such creates a versatile entertaining area that increases the capacity to comfortably entertain guests.
The outdoor living space with covered porch is another unique feature of the house. The porch has a fireplace plus heaters in the ceiling which allow one to entertain guests regardless of the temperature. The zero edge pool provides an absolutely beautiful backdrop—currently, it is the only one made in Indiana. Lastly, the master bathroom shower has a 2' x 3' shower head for the ultimate waterfall effect. This house is unique both outside and in.
50




