Search results for "Master burner" in Home Design Ideas

This urban townhouse took on new life when it was renovated for a couple relocating from New York City. The owner’s sophisticated taste, cultivated from world travels, paired with the character of the existing home and resulted in a fresh and colorful gem in the heart of the historic downtown.
Extensive approvals from the local Historic District Commission preceded an addition on the rear of the time-honored building and a complete restoration of the exterior. The addition encompasses a first-floor, finished garage with arch doors that open to the gardens, ideal for entertaining. Above the garage accommodates the master bedroom, walk-in closets and a bathroom suite. The exterior restoration allowed the addition of window pediments, shutters with authentic hardware and gaslight features. Pocket gardens surround the townhouse and boast multiple plantings that complement a historic environment.
The interior of the home was restructured to allow for reworking of the main stair. The reconfigured flight can now carry the weight of books and art alongside ascending residents and guests. Amid construction, two previously hidden fireplaces were uncovered. By the end of the renovation, four fireplaces were entirely refurbished and now lend immense aesthetic to interior design.
The interior finishes within the home keep visitors engaged and impressed. From imported Italian tile to contextually historic light switches, the colorful décor is appealing to all senses. Specially painted walls coordinate with furnishings, bookcases and art.
Photos: Greg West Photography

This Historical Home was built in the Columbia Country Club in 1925 and was ready for a new, modern kitchen which kept the traditional feel of the home. A previous sunroom addition created a dining room, but the original kitchen layout kept the two rooms divided. The kitchen was a small and cramped c-shape with a narrow door leading into the dining area.
The kitchen and dining room were completely opened up, creating a long, galley style, open layout which maximized the space and created a very good flow. Dimensions In Wood worked in conjuction with the client’s architect and contractor to complete this renovation.
Custom cabinets were built to use every square inch of the floorplan, with the cabinets extending all the way to the ceiling for the most storage possible. Our woodworkers even created a step stool, staining it to match the kitchen for reaching these high cabinets. The family already had a kitchen table and chairs they were happy with, so we refurbished them to match the kitchen’s new stain and paint color.
Crown molding top the cabinet boxes and extends across the ceiling where they create a coffered ceiling, highlighting the beautiful light fixtures centered on a wood medallion.
Columns were custom built to provide separation between the different sections of the kitchen, while also providing structural support.
Our master craftsmen kept the original 1925 glass cabinet doors, fitted them with modern hardware, repainted and incorporated them into new cabinet boxes. TASK LED Lighting was added to this china cabinet, highlighting the family’s decorative dishes.
Appliance Garage
On one side of the kitchen we built an appliance garage with doors that slide back into the cabinet, integrated power outlets and door activated lighting. Beside this is a small Galley Workstation for beverage and bar service which has the Galley Bar Kit perfect for sliced limes and more.
Baking Cabinet with Pocket Doors
On the opposite side, a baking cabinet was built to house a mixer and all the supplies needed for creating confections. Automatic LED lights, triggered by opening the door, create a perfect baker’s workstation. Both pocket doors slide back inside the cabinet for maximum workspace, then close to hide everything, leaving a clean, minimal kitchen devoid of clutter.
Super deep, custom drawers feature custom dividers beneath the baking cabinet. Then beneath the appliance garage another deep drawer has custom crafted produce boxes per the customer’s request.
Central to the kitchen is a walnut accent island with a granite countertop and a Stainless Steel Galley Workstation and an overhang for seating. Matching bar stools slide out of the way, under the overhang, when not in use. A color matched outlet cover hides power for the island whenever appliances are needed during preparation.
The Galley Workstation has several useful attachments like a cutting board, drying rack, colander holder, and more. Integrated into the stone countertops are a drinking water spigot, a soap dispenser, garbage disposal button and the pull out, sprayer integrated faucet.
Directly across from the conveniently positioned stainless steel sink is a Bertazzoni Italia stove with 5 burner cooktop. A custom mosaic tile backsplash makes a beautiful focal point. Then, on opposite sides of the stove, columns conceal Rev-a-Shelf pull out towers which are great for storing small items, spices, and more. All outlets on the stone covered walls also sport dual USB outlets for charging mobile devices.
Stainless Steel Whirlpool appliances throughout keep a consistent and clean look. The oven has a matching microwave above it which also works as a convection oven. Dual Whirlpool dishwashers can handle all the family’s dirty dishes.
The flooring has black, marble tile inlays surrounded by ceramic tile, which are period correct for the age of this home, while still being modern, durable and easy to clean.
Finally, just off the kitchen we also remodeled their bar and snack alcove. A small liquor cabinet, with a refrigerator and wine fridge sits opposite a snack bar and wine glass cabinets. Crown molding, granite countertops and cabinets were all customized to match this space with the rest of the stunning kitchen.
Dimensions In Wood is more than 40 years of custom cabinets. We always have been, but we want YOU to know just how much more there is to our Dimensions.
The Dimensions we cover are endless: custom cabinets, quality water, appliances, countertops, wooden beams, Marvin windows, and more. We can handle every aspect of your kitchen, bathroom or home remodel.

Randall Perry Photography
Landscaping:
Mandy Springs Nursery
In ground pool:
The Pool Guys
Kitchen - rustic kitchen idea in New York
Kitchen - rustic kitchen idea in New York
Find the right local pro for your project

Photography by Erika Bierman www.erikabiermanphotography.com
Inspiration for a mid-sized coastal l-shaped medium tone wood floor enclosed kitchen remodel in Los Angeles with a peninsula, shaker cabinets, green cabinets, solid surface countertops, green backsplash, glass sheet backsplash, stainless steel appliances and a single-bowl sink
Inspiration for a mid-sized coastal l-shaped medium tone wood floor enclosed kitchen remodel in Los Angeles with a peninsula, shaker cabinets, green cabinets, solid surface countertops, green backsplash, glass sheet backsplash, stainless steel appliances and a single-bowl sink

Open concept kitchen - large traditional l-shaped open concept kitchen idea in Atlanta with two islands

Clean and Classy: A kitchen designed for entertaining.
Kitchen Design, Architectural Detailing and Photo Staging: Zieba Builders. Photography: Ken Henry.

This masterfully appointed kitchen is both beautiful and functional. The large center island has room for seating, storage, open book shelving and wine display. The kitchen is complete with abundant natural light streaming in from the large window, the LRD can lighting, modern mini pendant lights, and under cabinet LED strip lighting. The white and grey quartz gives the beauty and elegance of marble, without any of the maintenance. The polished grey porcelain floor is the perfect anchor point to the dark cherry cabinets. The glass and stone blend for the back splash brings just enough movement and color into this upscale space.

Although the home is in its 100th year, the owners wanted to create an updated urban style reflective of their downtown location. The new styling, while sleek and contemporary, kept a traditional feel with a paneled door styling, crystal chandeliers and an updated glass version of subway tile. We were also able to create an open kitchen with a 3’8 ½” x 7’ 5 ½” island centered on a gourmet Wolf cooking area.
Oak Floors with an Ebony Stain
Kate Benjamin Photography

The kitchen has a coastal appeal with rustic wood finishes and metal lighting. The white cabinets and ship lap walls complete the look. The wall of windows provides natural light and incredible views. This beautiful beach house was designed by Bob Chatham and built on Ono Island by Phillip Vlahos Homes.

Architecture by Anders Lasater Architects. Interior Design and Landscape Design by Exotica Design Group. Photos by Jeri Koegel.
Inspiration for a 1960s bamboo floor open concept kitchen remodel in Orange County with an undermount sink, medium tone wood cabinets, quartz countertops, porcelain backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island
Inspiration for a 1960s bamboo floor open concept kitchen remodel in Orange County with an undermount sink, medium tone wood cabinets, quartz countertops, porcelain backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island

Small white painted kitchen in cottage on the beach in California. Natural wood shelves and natural materials with white cabinetry,
A small weekend beach resort home for a family of four with two little girls. Remodeled from a funky old house built in the 60's on Oxnard Shores. This little white cottage has the master bedroom, a playroom, guest bedroom and girls' bunk room upstairs, while downstairs there is a 1960s feel family room with an industrial modern style bar for the family's many parties and celebrations. A great room open to the dining area with a zinc dining table and rattan chairs. Fireplace features custom iron doors, and green glass tile surround. New white cabinets and bookshelves flank the real wood burning fire place. Simple clean white cabinetry in the kitchen with x designs on glass cabinet doors and peninsula ends. Durable, beautiful white quartzite counter tops and yes! porcelain planked floors for durability! The girls can run in and out without worrying about the beach sand damage!. White painted planked and beamed ceilings, natural reclaimed woods mixed with rattans and velvets for comfortable, beautiful interiors Project Location: Oxnard, California. Project designed by Maraya Interior Design. From their beautiful resort town of Ojai, they serve clients in Montecito, Hope Ranch, Malibu, Westlake and Calabasas, across the tri-county areas of Santa Barbara, Ventura and Los Angeles, south to Hidden Hills- north through Solvang and more.

Eat-in kitchen - mid-sized traditional l-shaped dark wood floor eat-in kitchen idea in Minneapolis with a farmhouse sink, flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, granite countertops, white backsplash, ceramic backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Wannemacher Interiors
Customized Award-Winning Interior Design Solutions in Franklin Cnty OH

Modern farmhouse meets beach house in this 2800 sq. ft. shingle-style home set a quarter mile from the beach on the southern Maine coast. Open concept downstairs. Great room with built-in window seat with bookshelves above, gas-fireplace with cultured stone surround; entertainment center to right of fireplace behind cabinet doors. White oak floors, coffered ceiling, Photo: Rachel Sieben

The Lightness vs Darkness theme carries throughout this project including never used materials and details to create this transitional gem in FlowerMound, TX. The axis and cross axis have stunning water and fire feature elements in the asymmetrical design. The black precise stacked slate spillway provides sound and visual effects and contrasts with the fire line burner visible from everywhere inside. This draws you out to enjoy the pool, and a lot more. The pool offered great places to hang out with the tanning ledge and built in bar stools and lots of room for the game of volleyball. The cross axis from the master bedroom draws the eye across the pool, through the black all tile vanishing edge spa, splitting the dual cabanas, through the fire pit, to gaze on the "Dark Planet" starburst light. The cabanas were divided into entertainment and dining. The graphite air slate, from Spain, covered the entertainment floating center and the cooking counter. Ivory Travertine in a stack bond pattern accented the cabanas, porch, fire pit and key areas blending with the coping and some veneers. The cabana steel roof matched the front home entry roof and helps unify the existing home with the additions. Details were important down the lighted and tiled vanishing edge channel for the spa. This project is one to be enjoyed any day of the week but it really is the shiny star every night. Project designed by Mike Farley. Photos by Mike & Laura Farley.

Patio kitchen - mid-sized contemporary backyard concrete paver patio kitchen idea in Austin with no cover
29




