Search results for "Protect" in Home Design Ideas

This beautiful extension of the living room was finished and protected with Flood Wood Care products.
Elegant deck photo in Other
Elegant deck photo in Other

The door is 150 years old. We had layers of paint removed, but we left some of the finish. We had it sealed because we were concerned about any traces of lead left behind.
Photography: Philip Ennis Productions.

Photo: Curtis Clark, via Wikimedia Commons, licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 Generic
Design ideas for a landscaping in Other.
Design ideas for a landscaping in Other.
Find the right local pro for your project

Exterior Painting: The red front door on this lovely two story house adds a very nice accent to the darker gray exterior paint and black shutters.
Large traditional gray two-story exterior home idea in Boston
Large traditional gray two-story exterior home idea in Boston

An art gallery was designed with low windows to allow natural light to permeate while protecting the sensitive art from harmful direct sunlight. It is these careful details that, in combination with the striking lineation of the home, create a harmonious alliance of function and design.
Photo: David Agnello

This unique symmetry based coop has found its home in Anaheim Hills, CA. It's central coop roof was outfitted with a thermal composite corrugated material with a slight peak to perfectly adjoin the run areas on each side.
The run areas were treated with an open wired flat roof where it will find home to vining vegetable plants to further compliment the planter boxes to be placed in front.
Sits on a concrete footing for predator protection and to assure a flat footprint
Built with true construction grade materials, wood milled and planed on site for uniformity, heavily stained and weatherproofed, 1/2" opening german aviary wire for full predator protection.
Measures 19' long x 3'6" wide x 7' tall @ central peak and allows for full walk in access.
It is home to beautiful chickens that we provided as well as all the necessary implements.
Features T1-11 textured wood siding, a fold down door that doubles as a coop-to-run ramp on one side with a full size coop clean out door on the other, thermal corrugated roofing over run area and more!

What our clients needed:
• Create a garden folly that doubles as a well-built shed for crafts and storage.
• Size the structure large enough for comfortable storage without dominating the garden.
• Discreetly locate the shed in the far corner of the rear yard while maintaining existing trees.
• Ensure that the structure is protected from the weather and carefully detailed to deter access of wildlife and rodents.
FUNCTION
• Construct the shed slab close to grade to permit easy access for bicycle storage, while building shed walls above grade to ensure against termites and dryrot.
• Install a French door and operable casement windows to admit plenty of daylight and provide views to the garden.
• Include rugged built-in work bench, shelves, bike racks and tool storage for a rustic well-organized and efficient space.
• Incorporate GFIC electrical service for safe access to power at this distant corner of the yard.
• Position energy-efficient interior lighting to ensure space can be used year-round.
• Switch control of exterior light from house and from shed for ease of command.
AESTHETICS
• Design and detail the shed to coordinate with the Arts and Crafts style house.
• Include an arbor for future flowering vines, further softening the shed’s garden presence.
• Simple and rustic interior surfaces ensure that the space is easy to clean.
• Create an aged and softly weathered appearance, and protect the exterior siding by finishing the cedar with a custom-colored semi-transparent stain.
INNOVATIVE MATERIALS AND CONSTRUCTION
• Factory-built components were pre-assembled to allow for a speedy assembly and for a shorter on-site construction schedule.
• Each component was easily transported through the yard without disturbing garden features.
• Decorative exterior trim frames the door and windows, while a simpler trim is used inside the unadorned shed.
OBSTACLE OVERCOME
• The structure is located in the corner of the yard to avoid disturbance of a curly willow tree.
• The low-profile structure is positioned close to property lines while staying beneath the allowable daylight plane for structures.
• To comply with daylight plane close to fence, the roof form combines hip and gable forms, with door located at gable end.
• The height of the modest interior is maximized, without exceeding the allowable building height.
CRAFTSMANSHIP
• The concrete slab was precisely formed and finished for ease of shed assembly before the factory-built components were delivered to site.
• Precision planning meant the pre-framed door fit exactly between raised concrete curb.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Bracket portico for side door of house. The roof features a shed style metal roof. Designed and built by Georgia Front Porch.
Small elegant orange brick house exterior photo in Atlanta with a shed roof and a metal roof
Small elegant orange brick house exterior photo in Atlanta with a shed roof and a metal roof

Bracket portico for side door of house. The roof features a shed style metal roof. Designed and built by Georgia Front Porch.
Small elegant orange one-story brick house exterior photo in Atlanta with a shed roof and a metal roof
Small elegant orange one-story brick house exterior photo in Atlanta with a shed roof and a metal roof

132 BOTTLE CAPACITY
DUAL REFRIGERATION SYSTEM
ELECTRONIC CONTROLS W/ LED DISPLAY
14 ROLLER ASSEMBLY SHELVES
GLASS DOOR W/ UV PROTECTION
APPEARANCE:
Integrated Design
Accepts Custom Wood or Stainless Door Panel
Full View High Altitude Glass Door w/UV Protection
Optional Stainless Tubular or Pro Handles
CAPACITY:
132 Bottle Capacity
CONTROLS:
2 Independent Temp Zones w/ Ideal Humidity
Illuminated Touch Control Panel
Electronic Controls w/ LED Display
CONVENIENCE FEATURES:
Optional Lock & Tie In To Home Security
Optional UL Approved Lock
Discreet LED Interior Lighting
MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY:
2 Years Parts & Labor
5 Years Parts & Labor -Sealed System
12 Years Parts - Sealed System
RACKS:
Accomodates Half- Bottle, 750 ml, Magnum Sizes
Roller-Glide Shelves Faced w/ Natural Cherry Wood
Illuminated Display Shelf
Sturdy, Rustproof Shelving
PRODUCT DIMENSIONS:
Depth: 24 Inches
Height: 80 Inches
Width: 27 Inches

This unique symmetry based coop has found its home in Anaheim Hills, CA. It's central coop roof was outfitted with a thermal composite corrugated material with a slight peak to perfectly adjoin the run areas on each side.
The run areas were treated with an open wired flat roof where it will find home to vining vegetable plants to further compliment the planter boxes to be placed in front.
Sits on a concrete footing for predator protection and to assure a flat footprint
Built with true construction grade materials, wood milled and planed on site for uniformity, heavily stained and weatherproofed, 1/2" opening german aviary wire for full predator protection.
Measures 19' long x 3'6" wide x 7' tall @ central peak and allows for full walk in access.
It is home to beautiful chickens that we provided as well as all the necessary implements.
Features T1-11 textured wood siding, a fold down door that doubles as a coop-to-run ramp on one side with a full size coop clean out door on the other, thermal corrugated roofing over run area and more!

From design to construction implementation, this remodeling project will leave you amazed.Need your whole house remodeled? Look no further than this impressive project. An extraordinary blend of contemporary and classic design will leave your friends and family breathless as they step from one room to the other.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Bask in the glow of our perfectly proportioned, hand-hammered Copper Chiminea. The generous basin tapers into a smoke-reducing chimney, topped with a rain cap.

This is a nice traditional home showing an install of the beautiful PVC vinyl fencing from Illusions Vinyl Fence. Known as Grand Illusions Vinyl WoodBond Rosewood (W104). Photos by: Amy Medina - Dang Rabbit Photography

chrome fixtures, white tile surround, frameless shower door, granite bench.
Example of a mid-sized arts and crafts master white tile and ceramic tile mosaic tile floor corner shower design in Atlanta with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, dark wood cabinets, granite countertops, a two-piece toilet and blue walls
Example of a mid-sized arts and crafts master white tile and ceramic tile mosaic tile floor corner shower design in Atlanta with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, dark wood cabinets, granite countertops, a two-piece toilet and blue walls

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Kerri Fukui
Mid-sized danish open concept light wood floor living room library photo in Salt Lake City with white walls
Mid-sized danish open concept light wood floor living room library photo in Salt Lake City with white walls
70


