Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mjw15618

My chicken ate a toad!

mjw15618
18 years ago

Hello! I'm a newbie chicken owner - my girls are 11 weeks old. My buff orp managed to somehow catch a toad last night, and after alot of squabbling with the rest of the group she swallowed it whole! Well, almost whole. It was missing a few legs by that point. Has anyone else ever had that happen? I knew they ate bugs, worms and caterpillars, but I never thought they would consider a toad for dinner. Yuck! LOL!

Comments (18)

• Turtle_Haven_Farm
    18 years ago

Our will kill and eat mice, esp baby mice. I just look the other way and don't think about it too much LOL - Ellen

• Maggie_J
    18 years ago

I once saw one of mine swallow a mouse my cat killed - whole! And (I hated this but it was too late) they killed and ate some baby robins that left their nest too early.

• breezyb
    18 years ago

Chickens will try to eat ANYTHING & EVERYTHING - lol!! They are truly featherd garbage disposals. Which is fine if you're not eating the eggs - lol!!

• velvet_sparrow
    18 years ago

My Barred Rock roo, Jack, made my DH turn pale one day by gobbling down a LARGE lizard one day...*L*

• Anna264
    18 years ago

Okay, I must have the most finicky chickens in the world... they love the dog's food (they'll squabble with my large shepherd to get it), have gotten into the horrible habit of eating their own eggs, and will sometimes eat the juicy fat worms from my compost pile, and other times will turn their beaks up at them! They also won't eat slugs, much to my disappointment, since I get plenty of them in the compost as well. Where did I go wrong? They are Rhode Island Reds, by the way.

• mjw15618
    Original Author
    18 years ago