Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bart1_gw

Harvesting Shallots - When?

bart1
13 years ago

This is my first year growing shallots and I'm unsure when to harvest them. Do they fall over like onions when they're ready? Do they turn yellow like garlic when they're ready? How do you know when they are ready to be harvested?

Thanks!

Comments (44)

• hortster
    13 years ago

I pull mine when half of the foliage is browning out and they are falling over (did mine last weekend - they were planted around the first of March). I also loosen the soil under them first with a potato fork - makes harvest easy and keeps them intact for drying.
    hortster

• bart1
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks!

I think I'm just about there. Some of my plants seem to be opening up in the middle - the bulbs are kind of spreading apart, and the once vertical "leaves" are starting to lean over.

• veggieholic
    13 years ago

This is my first year growing shallots also. Is it possible to leave shallots in the ground like floral bulbs to grow again next season? I did not plant very many bulbs last year and I would prefer to replant all the bulbs that grew this year for next year. If I don't dig them up, will they rot in the ground or will they regrow?

Thanks!

• spiced_ham
    13 years ago

Because of the high multiplication factor, if you leave the bulbs in the ground they will be too close together and you will get thick bunches of stunted bulbs next year. Adequate spacing is needed for good growth.

• Teslynz
    11 years ago

This is my first year growing shallot, it's been in the ground for 6 months now, should i dig it out now? the leaves still very green though that is why i m not sure whether to pull it out or leave it longer? Thanks

• gemini_jim
    11 years ago