Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
euphemia_gw

To dig or not to dig, that is the question!

euphemia
19 years ago

I am a garden newbie and I would appreciate advice from fellow gardeners in Toronto. I have 5 cannas which were planted end of July/beginning of August. They have grown almost double their original size, to about 3 or 3.5 ft. and have a lot of big leafs. So far only one bloomed and now two others are with buds. I noticed that people are beginning to dig up their cannas and I cannot decide if to follow suit. These two which are in buds are so close to blooming. I'd really want to wait a bit longer to see them bloom and find out their colour (my landscaping contractors planted them for me but they have thrown away the tags!). On the other hand, I would really be very sorry if they died because I waited too long to dig them up. Any advice as to what I might do now? Many thanks in anticipation!

Comments (6)

• Gwyn
    19 years ago

Hello
    Mine have not bloomed in 2 years. However last year I dug them up when they got hit by frost. That is when my canna and dahlia leaves got black and wilted.
    Will be doing the same this year.

• turtlegirl03
    19 years ago

I agree with Gwyn. I think after the first freeze, the cannas will turn brown overnight. That will be your indication that it is time to dig them. The rhizomes should be fine.

• euphemia
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi Gwyn and Turtlegirl03:

Thanks for the advice. I can now wait a bit longer without too much fear. Many thanks again!

Euphemia

• euphemia
    Original Author
    19 years ago