Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marciaz3

Seed starting mix

I've been using the Schultz mix for a few years and i like it in spite of the fact that it has had a few weeds sprouting in it. Last week, i ran out and ended buying some Plants and Pots mix at the Co-op in town. I'd forgotten - but i found out quick - that it tends to get a lot of mold on it. Almost everything i planted in it has sprouted, but i don't like the idea of that mold. The other day i bought more Schultz in Dryden so i won't use the other stuff. Now the question is, can it just be mixed with potting soil for other things, or what should i do with it? Just dump it somewhere? Any ideas?

Comments (28)

• sazzyrose
    17 years ago

I always use it in my pots outside. And I use it inside as well. Just keep the soil on the dry side in the house.

Shelley

• savona
    17 years ago

I would still use it, just not for starting seeds. This year I am getting weeds sprouting from the pro mix..grrr..savona

• cmmwiebe
    17 years ago

I am using Schultz's seed starting mix and sure like it. I used a Promix from a Garden Centre last year and it was great. Very little moss growing if any. Many of these which have peat as a base will grow moss since that is what they are made of. In some cases I think they have heated it enough to kill the potential for growth. I am using a Lee Valley growing tray that self waters and it constantly produces moss growth. Too bad as the idea is good.

Clayton

Here is a link that might be useful: Lee Valley

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    Original Author
    17 years ago

This stuff doesn't grow moss - it's a white mold. I've used it up, though, for some winter sowing projects that our little gardeners are going to do tomorrow. I didn't have enough of the Schultz for that, so used up the Pots & Plants stuff. I won't buy it again, though.

• cmmwiebe
    17 years ago