Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dandth

cheap daylilies

dandth
16 years ago

I need a whole bunch of daylilies - any kinds - I like a mix. (probably 50) I was hoping this fall I'm might be able to get some cheap from people dividing. I certainly can't afford 50 plants at $5-7 a pop and I'm not very good at planting rhizomes or bulbs, they never seem to do very well for me. :-(

I've got a pitiful 5 gallon gardenia I can trade ;-)

Any thoughts? I'm in Acworth.

Comments (25)

• buford
    16 years ago

Yes, get a few and just let them grow. In a few years you will have more than you want.

• bmmalone
    16 years ago

if you can wait a while i have some that will need thinning out. i will also have some tall yellow iris if you would like some. i also have limelight artimesia, chocolate mint and a couple of other things to share. let me know

• squirrellypete
    16 years ago

I've never done it myself but I heard on the daylily forum there are a few well-known daylily growers on the internet who have periodic clump sales of the varieties they have an excess of. Maybe that would be a way to go. I've heard other daylily folk say you can get clumps from these sales which will have anywhere from 4-10 fans sometimes more for around $5 depending on which varieties you get. Of course you have to pay shipping though. Might be some local growers who do the same too I just don't know who they are.

Squirrellypete

• quirkyquercus
    16 years ago

You can maybe find some of the orange ones growing on the side of the road.

• Bumblebeez SC Zone 7
    16 years ago

Buy what you like and wait for them to grow. Keep up the miracle grow! Then divide. As already pointed out, soon enough you will have an adundance.

• Iris GW
    16 years ago

I bought Stella D'Oros in quart pots at Home Depot last year. They have grown so much that you couldn't fit them in gallon pot this year! And blooming their heads off in full sun.

• Twinkle
    16 years ago