Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
livesforever_gw

Help choosing a grow light

LivesForever
9 years ago

I want to start vegetable seeds indoors this winter. I will likely be putting the plants in a basement near a big east facing window. I have never done this before, and I would love some help choosing a grow light.

Here are my options.

New Hydrofarm Jump Start 4 ft. T5 grow light with adjustable rack, $60 from amazon. Seems like a great product, but bulbs are a proprietary size and hard to replace.

2 opened but unused Hydrofarm Jump Start 2 ft. grow lights with racks, one with broken leg, but easily fixable. This one comes with a heat mat, all for $50 from a local seller. Great deal! Same bulb problem. I am assuming this is the newer T5 version, not the old T12. If it is old, I'll pass.

Or, I could make my own from a $50 T5 light from HTG supply or theLAshop. The benefit of this option is that I would get 2 bulbs in the light fixture, which I assume would give me twice the light output. Also, the bulbs would be a standard size. One of these would likely fit in my kitchen window, too.

Is it worth the trouble of building my own rack to get twice the light? Is the bonus heat mat too good to pass up?

Thanks for the help!

Comments (7)

• Pyewacket
    9 years ago

I'd go with standard size bulbs, definitely. And 2 bulbs per fixture is also a gigantic plus. Single bulb fixtures are the next thing to useless, IMHO.

• LivesForever
    Original Author
    9 years ago

A friend of mine said the same thing. I think I will go with the homemade version! Can anyone recommend a way to make a cheap rack that would look decent on my kitchen window sill? It should be wide enough to hold a 4 foot stand.

By the way, zensojourner, thank you so much for the response!

• valray
    9 years ago