Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flybysop

removing febreze smell on sofa

flybysop
14 years ago

hello - a few weeks ago I smelled what I thought was a faint moldy smell coming from the back corner of a microfiber sofa, not far from where I had placed a humidifier the day before. Thinking that the damper air may have triggered the smell, I removed the humidifier, and picked up a can of Febreze Air Effects (meadows and rain fragrance). I sprayed a few puffs directly on the sofa, and also in the general vicinity. Unfortunately, I didn't realize the Febreze smell would be so overpowering - it's very distracting, and headache inducing (!). I wish I hadn't used Febreze (I also wish I hadn't put the humidifier close by, but that's another regret :-$ ). I've taken a roll of dry paper towels to the sofa and surrounding carpet, trying to rub it off the material, but it doesn't seem to help much at all. Any suggestions? thanks...

Comments (39)

• allora
    14 years ago

I have no experience with microfiber furniture but I imagine you could try baking soda to absorb the odor.

• maimie
    14 years ago

Personally, I hate the smell of all Febreeze products. My suggestion is a spray of white vinegar & water. You may need to repeat a few times but it should take care of the odor. Baking soda is a great idea but if you use it, you should beware it can take out the color in fabric or carpeting. I learned the hard way!

• webtack_hotmail_com
    13 years ago

i've tried repeated washings and soakings with full strength vinegar. the smell is slightly diminished but still strong. anyone have any other recommendations?

• jannie
    13 years ago

Sorry, the only thing I can suggest is time, time, time. The smell will eventually go away.

• granite-girl
    13 years ago

Where do you live ? It's pretty cold all over the country, but some fresh air & a fan might help. But not if you live anywhere near me. 3 degrees when I went out this morning! Yikes!

• carmen_grower_2007