Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
debtoner505

Tub tile surround...does this look right?

Deb T
7 years ago

I am not an expert and perhaps this is the right way to position the tiles but it seems like there are too many different sized tiles.

The tiles we ordered were 10"x14" and then matching bullnose for edge. We then picked the decorative tiles for the accent.

Was the tile laid out in the best possible way??

We are happy with how the decorative tile was done [although they need to also put it in the alcove]. Thanks!

Comments (69)

• PRO
    Creative Tile Eastern CT
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

That's why I can see the waterproofing was not done properly. Tile is cosmetic. You should be able to take a shower without any tile installed. If not your shower was not waterproofed correctly. The vertical right corner should be taped with alkali resistant mesh then covered with thinset and followed with the waterproofing. Clearly there is not any waterproofing there and it's to late to get it in the corner behind that tile. In a shower installation what you don't see behind the tile is way more important than a bad looking tile job. Actually it's more important than a beautiful looking tile installation.

Deb T thanked Creative Tile Eastern CT
  • Deb T
    Original Author
    7 years ago

OK, I am confused. I don't know what "folds" mean. And suztq is correct, the face/front of bench is not tiled yet. Creative, are you saying that from the picture I posted, you can tell that the waterproofing wasn't done right? Perhaps the green Hydroban still needs to be worked on, before the tile goes on the face of seat.

• PRO
    Creative Tile Eastern CT
    7 years ago