Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mattquintero

Basement bar counter tops question.

Matt Q
6 years ago
Hello all, newbie here. Attached is our basement bar and am looking for advice for countertops. As you can see the island has not yet been installed but it will feature, (and this is due to sizing constraints in the room) a few 12” wall cabinets anchored, (and I mean anchored very well) to the floor with a wall of mdf and then wrapped in the stone cabinet finish. The island will have a 12” overhang with steel supports. Our cabinet guys swear up and down that this thing will hold, but just to be safe I am having corbels installed as well.

So back to the question part of my ramble. Would you recommend Quartz or Granite. Unfortunately there is no sink in this bar because we didn’t want to drill into the concrete, but the island will be at the normal bar height of 42” and all one level. We have been looking at silestone Calcatta gold or MSI statuary classic. Granite could also be an option as well.

Any other advice about the overall concept would be great. Thank you.

Comments (13)

• sushipup1
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

Check the Kitchens forum for lots of discussions about countertop materials.

• Matt Q
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Thank you so much, it just worries me that this thing may tip over one of these days, but it seems that won't be an issue.

• Ron Natalie
    6 years ago

Yep, my bar has metal cantilevers (I didn't want the visible braces). They have to be screwed tot he cabinetry, but it's on big thing. The only thing I'd be conccerned with is your wine cellar or whatever that is on the right being too inaccessible with a big overhang.

Matt Q thanked Ron Natalie
  • acm
    6 years ago

I think that the island is separate from the cabinetry we're currently seeing.

Go with quartz, just for ease of upkeep, especially with lots of guest use. Shouldn't be a large enough area to break the bank.

Matt Q thanked acm