Your shopping cart is empty.

Browning fig tree leaves

Rosie
January 11, 2019

I'm new to gardening, so I'm sorry if the answer is really obvious - but why are my fig tree leaves turning brown like this? I'm not sure if I'm over watering, underwatering or if the leaves are getting burnt by the sun (it's about 40°C in the sun according to my thermometer, but cooler at night) I've been watering it every day as the soil dries out super quick in this heat. What can I do to keep my fig tree healthy?

Comments (7)

• Moses, Western PA., zone 5/6, USA

Old leaves do that. Stress does too. Plant it in the next size up pot. It will be easier to keep up with watering. What variety is it? Will it eventually be planted in the ground?

Moses

Rosie thanked Moses, Western PA., zone 5/6, USA
  • Jason (Zone 10b, San Diego)

Out of curiosity, where are you that you are having 40C weather? Australia?

If your plant has always been in the sun and is aclimatized to the heat, then it's probably older leaves stressed from a lack of water. This last summer I had some weather like yours for a week or so and my in-ground trees drooped a bit from the sun. I made sure to provide lots of supplemental water, usually daily during that heat. My potted figs were much smaller (like about your size) and I kept them out of the direct afternoon sun for this period. They made it fine without any problems.

• Rosie

Moses it's a Brown Turkey Fig. It's fairly new from the garden centre, so I'm not sure how old the leaves are or how acclimatised it is to full sun.

Jason, I'm in Hawea, New Zealand - 40°C was peak temperature taken in the sun, not the shade. Otherwise it might have been about 30ish? And gets down to maybe 15 at night. I had been watering everyday as I have been with my other plants, they almost need twice daily watering! But fig trees dont need so much right? My gut feeling is it is sun scald, but it could be that im not getting the watering right

• bluemoonlight