Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_179064122

Bathroom Remodel Cost

C L
4 years ago

I am a new homeowner and this is my first time renovating a space in my house. I would like to renovate a bathroom but am unsure what to expect as an average cost of the remodel. I have had a few contractors in the space who have quoted anything from $5000 to $40,000. How much should I expect my bathroom remodel to cost if we're looking at removing the next room closet to expand the bathroom, install a double vanity, relocate the vanity and toilet, install a fan, wall-to-wall tile and radiant floor heating? I am wondering what is the best way to get a reasonable estimate of what the bathroom remodel should cost?

Comments (12)

• tatts
    4 years ago

You're wasting time. You didn't even tell us where you live and what the costs are (but don't bother). New York City? Praetoria? Peoria? Toronto? Seattle? Homer? Honolulu? Impossible.

Do you really expect people to come up with any real answer online?

Get three written estimates. Get references. Pick one. Done.

• Cavimum
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

You are describing an extensive remodel. My advice, based on learning this the hard way, is get an architect to draw and spec out everything you want. Then get the bids on the project. Otherwise you will be comparing apples to oranges with those quotes. You say one thing, the contractor hears something else. It happened to us. Get what you want down on paper. Hiring an architect was the best money we spent before we started over with the bids. It likely saved us money, in the long run.

• aprilneverends
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

Couple questions-Where do you live? Do you have to obtain permits where you live?

I'm in So Cal..here, you touch plumbing-you present plans to your city and you obtain permits.

The reno you've described sounds extensive.