Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
travisaz

container insulation options

Travis in PHX (9b)
3 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

Hi all,

I'm learning that I really need to protect the roots of my potted friends during these Phoenix summers.

I'm planning on building these containers out of wood:

I can either line the inside with sheet insulation and then plant directly in the container, or I can skip the sheet insulation and place the existing container inside this one ("double pot"), and fill the space with packing peanuts or straw or newspaper, etc.

Option 1 seems like it might be more effective because I think sheet insulation is probably a better insulator than packing peanuts, and it allows for more mix mass which would help distribute the heat. But, option 2 would certainly be more convenient re: repotting, and maybe two containers would be a better shield against the hot sun?

As is probably evident here, I am not an expert when it comes to thermodynamics. But I'm optimistic there are smarter people than I on this board. What are your thoughts? Which do you think would better insulate my roots against triple digit heat?

Comments (20)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    3 years ago

let me just throw this out there ... wouldnt insulation also just hold the heat in???

release of heat at night is as important as trying to avoid heat accumulation during the day ...

i would probably do pot in pot.. and have many pots.. so i could switch them out every other day or so ... and i would have these decorative wooden planters in full bright shade.. to avoid day heat ....

also.. you dont mention size .. but if i were working my theory.. size would be dictated by the size of the nursery pots i could get... so they fit in nicely ... and are easy to remove..