Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_169492896

Weeping fig trouble Propagation

HU-169492896
last year

Hi, I have managed to get loads of weeping figs to root from just a leaf. the roots are even coming through the pot. I have found this with scented geraniums that root from a stem. My problem is that nothing happens! I am left with just the leaf or stem growing. The geraniums do tend to grow and other stems appear, but the fig I am struggling with! If I root the fig from a cutting, then its fine, but the leaf is not doing anything. I am quite new to gardening but cant seem to see how to get the weeping figs to grow further! I have been patient, but for 2 months nothing happens and just loads of roots from the plant pot appear, so it is growing. I've tried re-potting but it doesn't change anything. Any advice would be welcomed!

Comments (2)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    last year

There is a difference between nodal/leaf-bud/single-eye cuttings and 'leaf cuttings'.

Some leaf cuttings have preformed, primary meristems. We could simplify that statement by saying that these leaves have a group of cells that was engaged in meristematic (growth-extending) activity. These leaves come ready to rock with what is needed to form a shoot and grow.

Other leaf cuttings have tissues that are entirely differentiated. That is all the tissue is formed and dedicated to specific jobs other than acting as a growing point (meristem). These leaf cuttings produce secondary, wound-induced meristems. In these leaf cuttings, the dedicated tissues must first dedifferentiate and then change (redifferentiate) into new meristematic (growing) zones to form an adventitious bud.