Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catfriendly_rug

Help me pick a cat-friendly bedroom rug

CatFriendly Rug
2 months ago

I am renting this place. I just got the essential furniture for my BR, and it is cold in the North, so now I need to find a rug that is (1) cat-friendly and (2) cleaning-friendly.

(3) Style and colors?: I am new to this. I moved here for studying, so something not too distracting but not depressing, and that ties in the wall, bedding, and floor colors?

Any advice, mockup, or online store links will be welcomed. Thank you!!

Comments (24)

• Jennz9b
    2 months ago

If you google rugs direct you will see that they have a cool feature that lets you insert any rug into a photo of your room. its kind of fun to play with.

CatFriendly Rug thanked Jennz9b
  • marmiegard_z7b
    2 months ago

You may want to be able to machine wash any rug. Even if need to use a Laundromat. But depends on what you mean by “ cat- friendly “— hairballs? ( Cats love to go to carpet to gack up a hairball). Or, does your cat sometimes target rug instead of litter box? Or, just need to vacuum up cat hair?

Hence I would not get a room- sized rug, & nothing under bed at all. More like a couple of smallish “ scatter rugs. You may get suggestions for Ruggables— I haven’t tried.

Or you could get small washable synthetic rugs from places like Target. Or some bath rugs are available in less bath-mat type colors & prints.

CatFriendly Rug thanked marmiegard_z7b
  • PRO
    JAN MOYER
    2 months ago
    last modified: 2 months ago

You could begin with less "depressing" bedding?

Then pick an indoor outdoor rug that complements.

How do you sit at that desk, you can barely fit in, and how do you see with no lamp?

Start with NOT gray?

Google up some bedrooms you really like and post below.

CatFriendly Rug thanked JAN MOYER
  • PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    2 months ago