Search results for "Drive traffic" in Home Design Ideas

Our clients immediately recognized the potential of the home located in a highly sought-after section of Allentown. The dated kitchen needed significant rethinking but our clients knew it could be turned into something beautiful and inspiring. And, indeed, they were right.
Busy professionals with an active social life, our clients wanted an inviting space to host both intimate dinner parties and large social gatherings. With this in mind, we worked to reimagine the flow of traffic from one room to another. Extraneous walls and a desk inconveniently positioned in the middle of the main kitchen thoroughfare needed to be removed and tight workspace aisles and narrow passageways demanded widening to help alleviate the problem.
In addition to the kitchen’s flow concerns, the dark and dated space needed brightening. The wall between the kitchen and family room was opened up to unite the two spaces allowing more light into both rooms. Windows were also added at the sink wall so the room could be flooded with bright morning sun, while also offering a beautiful view of the park below. All-white cabinetry was selected to help reflect the additional light.
An unfortunate challenge of expanding the windows meant there were fewer wall cabinets to store dishes. We turned to the island where we installed large dish drawers featuring wood pegged interiors. We also relied on wall-to-counter cabinets for additional storage to help keep the room clutter-free as appliances were neatly tucked behind doors. A new, built-in pantry was also added.
The finished kitchen unites traditional with today and elegance with comfort to ensure perfection. We are thrilled for our clients who have an abundance of good taste, an eye for what is possible and a drive to see it accomplished.
Jacqueline Powell Photography

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The detached garage required a driveway across the lawn and we installed Stabiligrid recycled plastic grids for a driveable lawn. Here you can see the grids partially installed on the special base and even though they aren't filled yet, can handle the loaded weight of this dump truck. The grids keep the crown of the grass plants from getting crushed from vehicular traffic so the grass doesn't die and the site doesn't get muddy or mushy.
Find the right local pro for your project

AirField installed an AirPave grass fire lane for their porous flexible paving at Baptist Trinity Residential Hospice, creating a beautiful, functional, ecological friendly solution to facility access.
An installation of an AirField Systems grass fire lane at Baptist Trinity Residential Hospice brings green building benefits and incredible strength to a beautiful new facility. A time lapse photo series highlight the installation process of the 6,747 PSI sand filled 100% recycled geocell technology, providing the strength of asphalt and concrete while relieving some of the burden of costly storm sewers and drainage.
This new installation highlights the benefits of paving with grass, as well as the comparative ease of installation. Concrete and asphalt surfaces occupy twice the area of buildings and are the most detrimental to clean water. Concrete and asphalt surfaces dominate the landscape of our urban environments and prevent rainwater from being filtered naturally. They send harmful polluted water straight into our streams, rivers and lakes. In urban America, concrete and asphalt pavements produce two thirds of our excess water runoff. They are responsible for significant hydrocarbon pollutants on our ground and in our water, causing ground water decline, and resulting in local water shortages. These concrete and asphalt surfaces also create huge increases in temperature known as the urban “heat island effect”.
The pollution caused by impervious surfaces deteriorate the quality of our storm water runoff and create large overflows that our storm sewer systems cannot handle. It is also important to realize that the urban forest force is drastically diminishing, causing CO2 levels to rise, which in turn causes global warming. With all the negative influences of impervious pavements now is the time to turn our attention to alternatives for the benefit of the environment.
From fire lanes, overflow, and event parking, to temporary and stadium parking, reinforced grass parking systems deliver the same strength and durability of asphalt and concrete without the negative affects mentioned above. These incredibly strong geocells reinforce grass parking, prevent rutting from traffic, protect turf roots, and promote beautiful grass. Reinforced grass parking structures, also know as grass pavements, enhance the environment by naturally filtering auto and truck liquids such as oil drippings, antifreeze overflows and many other leaks and spills. They also help with air pollutants after they have been knocked to the ground by rainwater and greatly reduce hot surface temperatures thus fighting global warming and the “heat island effect”. Grass pavements allow our groundwater to be naturally replenished, the roots of trees to breathe, and they help our streams and rivers flow cleanly in dry hot summers. A large part of the solution to urban environmental problems is under our feet. By paying appropriate attention to the everyday materials on which we walk and drive, we can replenish renewable resources, restore the natural regenerative processes, and produce a cleaner, healthier, safer, more sustainable world in which we must live. Porous pavements are potentially the most important development in urban watersheds since the invention of storm sewers. By routing rainwater directly into the earth as nature intended, the need for costly storm water structures can be drastically reduced.
Reinforced grass parking has built in permeable spaces through which water and air can pass. Although some porous paving materials are nearly indistinguishable from nonporous materials in construction and superficial appearance, their environmental effects are qualitatively exponential. They allow air, water and heat to dissipate into the environment naturally helping to save the planet.
AirField reinforced grass parking provides beauty and comfort, and with the unbeatable price and performance of AirDrain you can’t go wrong. AirDrain is the reinforced grass pave system the industry has trusted for years !!!
Airfield Systems, LLC 8028 North May Avenue Oklahoma City, OK 73120 405-359-3775
Installer – GREENPRO Landscapes Kevin James 9847 Stewart Rd Arlington, TN 38002

The interior of this single family residential home was in need of a remodel. The space was enhanced aesthetically, re-worked for better functionality, and opened up for more natural light and space. The Key areas of focus were the kitchen, master bathroom, and master walk in closet. These areas were most changed architecturally. The spaces we reconfigured to make them more user friendly, adding storage and better foot traffic paths. A wall was removed that divided the kitchen and the living space providing better lighting and an open concept peninsula. The kitchen layout was also re-worked moving the refrigerator, stove, and sink to provide a better configuration for cooking and entertaining. The rest of the home was remodeled to coordinate with the finishes and selections of the master bath and kitchen.

Our clients immediately recognized the potential of the home located in a highly sought-after section of Allentown. The dated kitchen needed significant rethinking but our clients knew it could be turned into something beautiful and inspiring. And, indeed, they were right.
Busy professionals with an active social life, our clients wanted an inviting space to host both intimate dinner parties and large social gatherings. With this in mind, we worked to reimagine the flow of traffic from one room to another. Extraneous walls and a desk inconveniently positioned in the middle of the main kitchen thoroughfare needed to be removed and tight workspace aisles and narrow passageways demanded widening to help alleviate the problem.
In addition to the kitchen’s flow concerns, the dark and dated space needed brightening. The wall between the kitchen and family room was opened up to unite the two spaces allowing more light into both rooms. Windows were also added at the sink wall so the room could be flooded with bright morning sun, while also offering a beautiful view of the park below. All-white cabinetry was selected to help reflect the additional light.
An unfortunate challenge of expanding the windows meant there were fewer wall cabinets to store dishes. We turned to the island where we installed large dish drawers featuring wood pegged interiors. We also relied on wall-to-counter cabinets for additional storage to help keep the room clutter-free as appliances were neatly tucked behind doors. A new, built-in pantry was also added.
The finished kitchen unites traditional with today and elegance with comfort to ensure perfection. We are thrilled for our clients who have an abundance of good taste, an eye for what is possible and a drive to see it accomplished.
Jacqueline Powell Photography

Our clients immediately recognized the potential of the home located in a highly sought-after section of Allentown. The dated kitchen needed significant rethinking but our clients knew it could be turned into something beautiful and inspiring. And, indeed, they were right.
Busy professionals with an active social life, our clients wanted an inviting space to host both intimate dinner parties and large social gatherings. With this in mind, we worked to reimagine the flow of traffic from one room to another. Extraneous walls and a desk inconveniently positioned in the middle of the main kitchen thoroughfare needed to be removed and tight workspace aisles and narrow passageways demanded widening to help alleviate the problem.
In addition to the kitchen’s flow concerns, the dark and dated space needed brightening. The wall between the kitchen and family room was opened up to unite the two spaces allowing more light into both rooms. Windows were also added at the sink wall so the room could be flooded with bright morning sun, while also offering a beautiful view of the park below. All-white cabinetry was selected to help reflect the additional light.
An unfortunate challenge of expanding the windows meant there were fewer wall cabinets to store dishes. We turned to the island where we installed large dish drawers featuring wood pegged interiors. We also relied on wall-to-counter cabinets for additional storage to help keep the room clutter-free as appliances were neatly tucked behind doors. A new, built-in pantry was also added.
The finished kitchen unites traditional with today and elegance with comfort to ensure perfection. We are thrilled for our clients who have an abundance of good taste, an eye for what is possible and a drive to see it accomplished.
Jacqueline Powell Photography

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Our clients immediately recognized the potential of the home located in a highly sought-after section of Allentown. The dated kitchen needed significant rethinking but our clients knew it could be turned into something beautiful and inspiring. And, indeed, they were right.
Busy professionals with an active social life, our clients wanted an inviting space to host both intimate dinner parties and large social gatherings. With this in mind, we worked to reimagine the flow of traffic from one room to another. Extraneous walls and a desk inconveniently positioned in the middle of the main kitchen thoroughfare needed to be removed and tight workspace aisles and narrow passageways demanded widening to help alleviate the problem.
In addition to the kitchen’s flow concerns, the dark and dated space needed brightening. The wall between the kitchen and family room was opened up to unite the two spaces allowing more light into both rooms. Windows were also added at the sink wall so the room could be flooded with bright morning sun, while also offering a beautiful view of the park below. All-white cabinetry was selected to help reflect the additional light.
An unfortunate challenge of expanding the windows meant there were fewer wall cabinets to store dishes. We turned to the island where we installed large dish drawers featuring wood pegged interiors. We also relied on wall-to-counter cabinets for additional storage to help keep the room clutter-free as appliances were neatly tucked behind doors. A new, built-in pantry was also added.
The finished kitchen unites traditional with today and elegance with comfort to ensure perfection. We are thrilled for our clients who have an abundance of good taste, an eye for what is possible and a drive to see it accomplished.
Jacqueline Powell Photography

Our clients immediately recognized the potential of the home located in a highly sought-after section of Allentown. The dated kitchen needed significant rethinking but our clients knew it could be turned into something beautiful and inspiring. And, indeed, they were right.
Busy professionals with an active social life, our clients wanted an inviting space to host both intimate dinner parties and large social gatherings. With this in mind, we worked to reimagine the flow of traffic from one room to another. Extraneous walls and a desk inconveniently positioned in the middle of the main kitchen thoroughfare needed to be removed and tight workspace aisles and narrow passageways demanded widening to help alleviate the problem.
In addition to the kitchen’s flow concerns, the dark and dated space needed brightening. The wall between the kitchen and family room was opened up to unite the two spaces allowing more light into both rooms. Windows were also added at the sink wall so the room could be flooded with bright morning sun, while also offering a beautiful view of the park below. All-white cabinetry was selected to help reflect the additional light.
An unfortunate challenge of expanding the windows meant there were fewer wall cabinets to store dishes. We turned to the island where we installed large dish drawers featuring wood pegged interiors. We also relied on wall-to-counter cabinets for additional storage to help keep the room clutter-free as appliances were neatly tucked behind doors. A new, built-in pantry was also added.
The finished kitchen unites traditional with today and elegance with comfort to ensure perfection. We are thrilled for our clients who have an abundance of good taste, an eye for what is possible and a drive to see it accomplished.
Jacqueline Powell Photography

This fence was constructed to provide safety, security, and curb appeal to the exposed front yard of this family home situated on busy Lincoln Drive in Paradise Valley, Arizona. The fence was designed as a modular panel system utilizing solid panels parallel to the road to block traffic noise. The solid panels weave between large palo verde trees and landscaping, and are supported by welded steel mesh sections that double as trellises for bougainvillea. The landscape lighting illuminates the undersides of the tree canopies in front of dark fence panels, while smaller plants are presented as textural silhouettes before a light washed wall.

This centrally located intersection to a main thoroughfare a block away was a concern because of the corner lot visibility issue for cars making a turn driving in either direction. The Quince tree bloomed annually for just a short time and was originally planted by the prior home owners decades ago. Keeping it maintained to a height of 4’ maximum, dictated for safety reasons, was still obstructing and limiting the visibility of oncoming traffic at this busy intersection.
The existing roses planted in the same space as the Quince were a perfect backdrop to the new perennials and annuals planted to paint this corner with flowers. The project also included expanding the beautification to both corner areas in coordination with several other planting areas already seasonally updated on the property. With the Redwood Tree as a focal point and Roses, Daphnes, Iris, Azaleas, Fuchsias, Hydrangeas and Camilias highlighting the planting beds the addition of color, including around the driveway and side entrance, transformed the entire space.
Painting With Flowers Is Adding Beauty to Benefit Homeowners & Neighbors!
Kim Beber

Streetside garden in full bloom creating beautiful buffer betweent traffic and home, street garden, garden front home, sidewalk garden, street screening, large blooming plants,

In process: Showing the craftsmanship of the stair installation before the railings. White oak offers exceptional stability and wear-resistance for high-traffic staircases.

Our clients immediately recognized the potential of the home located in a highly sought-after section of Allentown. The dated kitchen needed significant rethinking but our clients knew it could be turned into something beautiful and inspiring. And, indeed, they were right.
Busy professionals with an active social life, our clients wanted an inviting space to host both intimate dinner parties and large social gatherings. With this in mind, we worked to reimagine the flow of traffic from one room to another. Extraneous walls and a desk inconveniently positioned in the middle of the main kitchen thoroughfare needed to be removed and tight workspace aisles and narrow passageways demanded widening to help alleviate the problem.
In addition to the kitchen’s flow concerns, the dark and dated space needed brightening. The wall between the kitchen and family room was opened up to unite the two spaces allowing more light into both rooms. Windows were also added at the sink wall so the room could be flooded with bright morning sun, while also offering a beautiful view of the park below. All-white cabinetry was selected to help reflect the additional light.
An unfortunate challenge of expanding the windows meant there were fewer wall cabinets to store dishes. We turned to the island where we installed large dish drawers featuring wood pegged interiors. We also relied on wall-to-counter cabinets for additional storage to help keep the room clutter-free as appliances were neatly tucked behind doors. A new, built-in pantry was also added.
The finished kitchen unites traditional with today and elegance with comfort to ensure perfection. We are thrilled for our clients who have an abundance of good taste, an eye for what is possible and a drive to see it accomplished.
Jacqueline Powell Photography

This beautiful marble mosaic tile creates the perfect backdrop for a large double slipper free-standing bathtub. The bubble chandelier is fitting for above a bathtub plus an extra-long built-in storage niche provides ample space for all bath supplies and decor. Marble can be cumbersome to maintain, so we opted to install it on the wall where zero traffic means zero maintenance. Tiling all the way to the ceiling created a show-stopping splash that is stunning AND stress-free.

How about this Neolith-clad ventilation hood!
Neolith’s Sintered Compact Surfaces are durable, heatproof, and lightweight, making it an excellent choice for covering a hood over the range or a fireplace surround.
Neolith weighs only 3.5 lbs/sq ft in its 6mm thickness, and 7 lbs/sq ft in its 12mm thickness. As such, it doesn’t add bulk or a great deal of weight to the wall and can be installed directly over existing surfaces, making it especially appealing for renovations.
Neolith is among the most durable surfaces on the market, combining the very best natural raw material with state-of-the-art technology to create high-tech, durable slabs that are resistant to scratching, stains, extreme temperature changes, moisture, high traffic, chemicals, and UV rays. For interior or exterior applications, Neolith will stand up to harsh use with little-to-no maintenance.

Our clients immediately recognized the potential of the home located in a highly sought-after section of Allentown. The dated kitchen needed significant rethinking but our clients knew it could be turned into something beautiful and inspiring. And, indeed, they were right.
Busy professionals with an active social life, our clients wanted an inviting space to host both intimate dinner parties and large social gatherings. With this in mind, we worked to reimagine the flow of traffic from one room to another. Extraneous walls and a desk inconveniently positioned in the middle of the main kitchen thoroughfare needed to be removed and tight workspace aisles and narrow passageways demanded widening to help alleviate the problem.
In addition to the kitchen’s flow concerns, the dark and dated space needed brightening. The wall between the kitchen and family room was opened up to unite the two spaces allowing more light into both rooms. Windows were also added at the sink wall so the room could be flooded with bright morning sun, while also offering a beautiful view of the park below. All-white cabinetry was selected to help reflect the additional light.
An unfortunate challenge of expanding the windows meant there were fewer wall cabinets to store dishes. We turned to the island where we installed large dish drawers featuring wood pegged interiors. We also relied on wall-to-counter cabinets for additional storage to help keep the room clutter-free as appliances were neatly tucked behind doors. A new, built-in pantry was also added.
The finished kitchen unites traditional with today and elegance with comfort to ensure perfection. We are thrilled for our clients who have an abundance of good taste, an eye for what is possible and a drive to see it accomplished.
Jacqueline Powell Photography
4

