Search results for "Indigenous" in Home Design Ideas

Phillip and Marianne wanted an outdoor space extended from their inside living area. They had a great view onto the veld from their property. We decided to extend that view with Flagstones between ornamental gravel and created a rustic gumpole pergola structure with a fire pit in the centre and benches constructed with Wooden railway sleepers. The rest of the garden we opened up to the veld planting up a forest of Indigenous trees and allowing the veld grass to grow into their existing lawn.
the result was a natural space extending the boundary of their inside space to the outside and giving them the feeling of living out into the veld.

Vienna Addition Skill Construction & Design, LLC, Design/Build a two-story addition to include remodeling the kitchen and connecting to the adjoining rooms, creating a great room for this family of four. After removing the side office and back patio, it was replaced with a great room connected to the newly renovated kitchen with an eating area that doubles as a homework area for the children. There was plenty of space left over for a walk-in pantry, powder room, and office/craft room. The second story design was for an Adult’s Only oasis; this was designed for the parents to have a permitted Staycation. This space includes a Grand Master bedroom with three walk-in closets, and a sitting area, with plenty of room for a king size bed. This room was not been completed until we brought the outdoors in; this was created with the three big picture windows allowing the parents to look out at their Zen Patio. The Master Bathroom includes a double size jet tub, his & her walk-in shower, and his & her double vanity with plenty of storage and two hideaway hampers. The exterior was created to bring a modern craftsman style feel, these rich architectural details are displayed around the windows with simple geometric lines and symmetry throughout. Craftsman style is an extension of its natural surroundings. This addition is a reflection of indigenous wood and stone sturdy, defined structure with clean yet prominent lines and exterior details, while utilizing low-maintenance, high-performance materials. We love the artisan style of intricate details and the use of natural materials of this Vienna, VA addition. We especially loved working with the family to Design & Build a space that meets their family’s needs as they grow.

• End of Cul-de-Sac home nestled into woods, rock for secluded cabin feel in urban setting
• Moss covered rock protected during construction embraces outdoor living
• Design/orientation captures amazing views of The Chief and Howe Sound,
• Xeriscape drought tolerant indigenous water wise plantings
• Passive solar design
• Black cedar vertical 2x2 siding, white washed cedar soffits colour matched to interior ceilings, stucco accents at entry
Find the right local pro for your project

An oversized storage/guest room became a suite for children to entertain friends as well as a place to sleep and study. Ordinary closet doors were replaced with old doors covered with chalkboard paint for messages and memos sliding on a heavy metal track. An old metal work bench base was updated with a new top to house three TV’s for video gaming. A large sectional gives generous seating for his friends when playing games or just relaxing.
Rustic sconces on either side of the bed create task lighting for studying. A fun dresser that mimics an old trunk provides storage. The space is topped off with accessories indigenous of a boy’s space.
Photos by Randy Colwell

A fresh interpretation of the western farmhouse, The Sycamore, with its high pitch rooflines, custom interior trusses, and reclaimed hardwood floors offers irresistible modern warmth.
When merging the past indigenous citrus farms with today’s modern aesthetic, the result is a celebration of the Western Farmhouse. The goal was to craft a community canvas where homes exist as a supporting cast to an overall community composition. The extreme continuity in form, materials, and function allows the residents and their lives to be the focus rather than architecture. The unified architectural canvas catalyzes a sense of community rather than the singular aesthetic expression of 16 individual homes. This sense of community is the basis for the culture of The Sycamore.
The western farmhouse revival style embodied at The Sycamore features elegant, gabled structures, open living spaces, porches, and balconies. Utilizing the ideas, methods, and materials of today, we have created a modern twist on an American tradition. While the farmhouse essence is nostalgic, the cool, modern vibe brings a balance of beauty and efficiency. The modern aura of the architecture offers calm, restoration, and revitalization.
Located at 37th Street and Campbell in the western portion of the popular Arcadia residential neighborhood in Central Phoenix, the Sycamore is surrounded by some of Central Phoenix’s finest amenities, including walkable access to premier eateries such as La Grande Orange, Postino, North, and Chelsea’s Kitchen.
Project Details: The Sycamore, Phoenix, AZ
Architecture: Drewett Works
Builder: Sonora West Development
Developer: EW Investment Funding
Interior Designer: Homes by 1962
Photography: Alexander Vertikoff
Awards:
Best in American Living Award for Best Single Family Production Home 4,501-5,000 sq ft Built for Sale
Gold Nugget Award of Merit – Best Residential Detached Collection of the Year

The Owners of a home that had been consumed by the moving dunes of Lake Michigan wanted a home that would not only stand the test of aesthetic time, but survive the vicissitudes of the environment.
With the assistance of the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality as well as the consulting civil engineer and the City of Grand Haven Zoning Department, a soil stabilization site plan was developed based on raising the new home’s main floor elevation by almost three feet, implementing erosion studies, screen walls and planting indigenous, drought tolerant xeriscaping. The screen walls, as well as the low profile of the home and the use of sand trapping marrum beachgrass all help to create a wind shadow buffer around the home and reduce blowing sand erosion and accretion.
The Owners wanted to minimize the stylistic baggage which consumes most “cottage” residences, and with the Architect created a home with simple lines focused on the view and the natural environment. Sustainable energy requirements on a budget directed the design decisions regarding the SIPs panel insulation, energy systems, roof shading, other insulation systems, lighting and detailing. Easily constructed and linear, the home harkens back to mid century modern pavilions with present day environmental sensitivities and harmony with the site.
John Allegretti

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Vienna Addition Skill Construction & Design, LLC, Design/Build a two-story addition to include remodeling the kitchen and connecting to the adjoining rooms, creating a great room for this family of four. After removing the side office and back patio, it was replaced with a great room connected to the newly renovated kitchen with an eating area that doubles as a homework area for the children. There was plenty of space left over for a walk-in pantry, powder room, and office/craft room. The second story design was for an Adult’s Only oasis; this was designed for the parents to have a permitted Staycation. This space includes a Grand Master bedroom with three walk-in closets, and a sitting area, with plenty of room for a king size bed. This room was not been completed until we brought the outdoors in; this was created with the three big picture windows allowing the parents to look out at their Zen Patio. The Master Bathroom includes a double size jet tub, his & her walk-in shower, and his & her double vanity with plenty of storage and two hideaway hampers. The exterior was created to bring a modern craftsman style feel, these rich architectural details are displayed around the windows with simple geometric lines and symmetry throughout. Craftsman style is an extension of its natural surroundings. This addition is a reflection of indigenous wood and stone sturdy, defined structure with clean yet prominent lines and exterior details, while utilizing low-maintenance, high-performance materials. We love the artisan style of intricate details and the use of natural materials of this Vienna, VA addition. We especially loved working with the family to Design & Build a space that meets their family’s needs as they grow.

The marbled dining room with special Pichwai hung on the grey wall
Example of a classic marble floor kitchen/dining room combo design in Delhi with gray walls
Example of a classic marble floor kitchen/dining room combo design in Delhi with gray walls

Perched on a ridge 20 feet above a private lake in Stillwater, Minnesota, the clients wanted an age-in-place home where strong design influenced by the natural surroundings informed the space and shape of the project. CITYDESKSTUDIO carefully sited the home in one of the many natural clearings within their wooded property alongside a private lake, maximizing connection to the land, while preserving trees and natural topography. The home is distinguished by a light-filled, vaulted living area, a continuous timber loggia forming the entry court and connection to the garage, and a landscape design filled with rain gardens and indigenous rocks and plantings. The home features one-level living with a walk-out lower level which maintains a low profile upon approach, allowing the home to fit gracefully within its context. Sustainable features include landscaping with rain gardens to control rainwater, thermal mass concrete, geothermal in-floor heating, and a 10 kilowatt photovoltaic array with home batteries to allow fully off-grid living. Locally sourced building materials were used where possible for cedar siding and patio paving, including re-used soapstone counters. Select trees were harvested directly off the land for the staircase, interior wall finishes and the 10-foot dining table.
Project Team:
Ben Awes AIA, Principal-In-Charge

A rustic-modern house designed to grow organically from its site, overlooking a cornfield, river and mountains in the distance. Indigenous stone and wood materials were taken from the site and incorporated into the structure, which was articulated to honestly express the means of construction. Notable features include an open living/dining/kitchen space with window walls taking in the surrounding views, and an internally-focused circular library celebrating the home owner’s love of literature.
Phillip Spears Photographer

Phillip and Marianne wanted an outdoor space extended from their inside living area. They had a great view onto the veld from their property. We decided to extend that view with Flagstones between ornamental gravel and created a rustic gumpole pergola structure with a fire pit in the centre and benches constructed with Wooden railway sleepers. The rest of the garden we opened up to the veld planting up a forest of Indigenous trees and allowing the veld grass to grow into their existing lawn.
the result was a natural space extending the boundary of their inside space to the outside and giving them the feeling of living out into the veld.

He wanted a lake house, she wanted a pool.
Tucked away on a small cul-de-sac in North Reading is a backyard oasis like no other.
“During our initial meeting with the homeowners, it became apparent that they wanted a unique pool, so we suggested a free-form gunite pool surrounded by an indigenous Goshen Stone patio, custom cut to create ultra-tight joints. The stone arrived in huge slabs — most over 5’ x 5’ in size — and varied significantly in thickness. Countless hours were spent cutting, chiseling, and even sandblasting this life-sized jigsaw puzzle. The final look was exactly what we were shooting for.” Russell
The pool itself has a dark, pebble finish with a long, custom bench and a simple, spillway stone creating a perfect respite with a calming sound. Surrounding the pool and patio is a lush lawn with large swatches of summertime perennials. The homeowner is an active gardener, so providing him with areas to hone his skills was paramount to our success as a design firm. Large, architectural boulders were carefully arranged throughout the rear yard as both design elements and as functional furniture. A custom-built, wood, wire, and split granite fence meets pool-enclosure requirements and adds that farmhouse-feel to the overall look. Carefully arranged Goshen step stone set flush in the lawn orchestrates movement throughout the garden while connecting the house and pool in a thoughtful, artistic way.
No need to travel north to the lake when you’ve got this to enjoy daily — right in your own backyard!

This 2,500 square foot “studio” is located in a neighborhood bisected by alleys and containing charming remnants of indigenous outbuildings common to the region. The desire was to create a clean, open, contemporary interior in a building that outwardly referenced its context. The primary form of the house took shape from the long, narrow lot. On the north end, which faces an alley, a patinated clad steel structure forms a canopy for the entry. This carefully scaled “cabin”, raised above the upper level to access a glimpse of the mountains, pays homage to the many sheds lining the alley.
The south end features a terrace above the garage that is an extension of the primary interior space. The masonry west wall of the building provides privacy from the adjacent lot. This functional “spine” contains program elements on both levels and is visible internally and externally. A gently curved wall provides continuity between the floors and shields a bathroom and dressing area. This wall stops short of the ceiling, allowing the uninterrupted plane of maple veneer plywood to form a canopy unifying the spaces.
A.I.A. Wyoming Chapter Design Award of Honor 2004

Nestled in Dallas, Texas, our remote design team based out of Washington, D.C. has transformed a backyard into a serene haven—all without stepping foot in the Lone Star State! With a newly constructed ADU, our client sought a seamless blend of Texan beauty and modern convenience. Through our remote design process, we curated a landscape featuring native Texan plants, a timeless flagstone patio, meandering walkways, and a personalized garden area.
Our selection of indigenous plants ensures year-round vibrancy with minimal upkeep. The rustic flagstone patio beckons relaxation under the Texan sun, while the custom garden area offers the joy of cultivating favorite herbs and blooms at home.
Despite the miles between us, our design ethos resonates with Texan tranquility. And while we may hail from D.C., we're all for fostering camaraderie—even with Dallas Cowboys fans!

Outdoor stone bar with a grand view. This home used all natural stone.
Inspiration for a contemporary home bar remodel in Hawaii
Inspiration for a contemporary home bar remodel in Hawaii

Set amongst a splendid display of forty-one oaks, the design for this family residence demanded an intimate knowledge and respectful acceptance of the trees as the indigenous inhabitants of the space. Crafted from this symbiotic relationship, the architecture found natural placement in the beautiful spaces between the forty-one, acknowledging their presence and pedagogy. Conceived as a series of interconnected pavilions, the home hovers slightly above the native grasslands as it settles down amongst the oaks. Broad overhanging flat plate roofs cantilever out, connecting indoor living space to the nature beyond. Large windows are strategically placed to capture views of particularly well-sculptured trees, and enhance the connection of the grove and the home to the valley surround.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

A Mexico vacation home featuring an open floor plan and indigenous materials blurs the distinction between indoors and out to fully maximize its stunning setting. Photos by Rigoberto Moreno

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.
42