Search results for "Master he" in Home Design Ideas

Example of a large transitional master white tile, gray tile and stone tile porcelain tile bathroom design in Phoenix with recessed-panel cabinets, white cabinets, beige walls, an undermount sink and marble countertops

Inspiration for a large contemporary master single-sink bathroom remodel in Portland with flat-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, marble countertops, white countertops and a built-in vanity

Photo: Rachel Loewen Photography © 2017 Houzz
Example of a danish bedroom design in Chicago
Example of a danish bedroom design in Chicago
Find the right local pro for your project

Outdoor patio: Rug by Dash and Albert
Photo by Eric Rorer
While we adore all of our clients and the beautiful structures which we help fill and adorn, like a parent adores all of their children, this recent mid-century modern interior design project was a particular delight.
This client, a smart, energetic, creative, happy person, a man who, in-person, presents as refined and understated — he wanted color. Lots of color. When we introduced some color, he wanted even more color: Bright pops; lively art.
In fact, it started with the art.
This new homeowner was shopping at SLATE ( https://slateart.net) for art one day… many people choose art as the finishing touches to an interior design project, however this man had not yet hired a designer.
He mentioned his predicament to SLATE principal partner (and our dear partner in art sourcing) Danielle Fox, and she promptly referred him to us.
At the time that we began our work, the client and his architect, Jack Backus, had finished up a massive remodel, a thoughtful and thorough update of the elegant, iconic mid-century structure (originally designed by Ratcliff & Ratcliff) for modern 21st-century living.
And when we say, “the client and his architect” — we mean it. In his professional life, our client owns a metal fabrication company; given his skills and knowledge of engineering, build, and production, he elected to act as contractor on the project.
His eye for metal and form made its way into some of our furniture selections, in particular the coffee table in the living room, fabricated and sold locally by Turtle and Hare.
Color for miles: One of our favorite aspects of the project was the long hallway. By choosing to put nothing on the walls, and adorning the length of floor with an amazing, vibrant, patterned rug, we created a perfect venue. The rug stands out, drawing attention to the art on the floor.
In fact, the rugs in each room were as thoughtfully selected for color and design as the art on the walls. In total, on this project, we designed and decorated the living room, family room, master bedroom, and back patio. (Visit www.lmbinteriors.com to view the complete portfolio of images.)
While my design firm is known for our work with traditional and transitional architecture, and we love those projects, I think it is clear from this project that Modern is also our cup of tea.
If you have a Modern house and are thinking about how to make it more vibrantly YOU, contact us for a consultation.

The addition of a dedicated make up counter area pleased both spouses. She has the correct lighting and storage and he has the rest of the bathroom counter free.
The larger pull out drawer houses a blow dryer and curling irons as well as another smaller pull out drawer.
This Master Ensuite reflects the light, water and earth elements found on this home's substantial lake front site in south Burlington. Wall mounted shower bench seat and a wall mounted Kohler Veil toilet are design details. Luxury feel of marble envelops and calms. The seating overlooks Lake Ontario - great spot for a steam shower.
Stephani Buchman Photography

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

BC&J Architecture designed a floating home that is now located at its permanent location on the Willamette River in Portland. The home was constructed at a Marina an hour from the final home location. Upon completion, the home was floated up the Willamette River to the current site.
The homeowners were looking for a river side, cottage style house well suited to entertaining. At 2,100 square feet, the home has an open floor plan with a large kitchen opening to a dining room and the living room with views onto the river.
Upstairs, the master bedroom extends toward the river under a large centered dormer. On the opposite side of the master bedroom is a bonus room under a symmetrical dormer that will serve as guest quarters when adult children and grandchildren visit.

Lisa Garcia Architecture + Interior Design
Inspiration for a mid-sized timeless master black and white tile and ceramic tile marble floor alcove bathtub remodel in DC Metro with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, a two-piece toilet and green walls
Inspiration for a mid-sized timeless master black and white tile and ceramic tile marble floor alcove bathtub remodel in DC Metro with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, a two-piece toilet and green walls

Master Bedroom with green wall and views to Moss Garden - Architecture: HAUS | Architecture For Modern Lifestyles - Interior Architecture: HAUS with Design Studio Vriesman, General Contractor: Wrightworks, Landscape Architecture: A2 Design, Photography: HAUS

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The shower although not overly large is beautiful and functional. Dual shower heads; fixed and hand held, a large split shampoo niche, small mosaic glass tiles on the floor allow for slop resistance and add a pop of color and style.
A framed chevron tile accent is on he main wall.

This Grant Park house was built in 1999. With that said, this bathroom was dated, builder grade with a tiny shower (3 ft x 3 ft) and a large jacuzzi-style 90s tub. The client was interested in a much larger shower, and he really wanted a sauna if squeeze it in there. Because this bathroom was tight, I decided we could potentially go into the large walk-in closet and expand to include a sauna. The client was looking for a refreshing coastal theme, a feel good space that was completely different than what existed.
This renovation was designed by Heidi Reis with Abode Agency LLC, she serves clients in Atlanta including but not limited to Intown neighborhoods such as: Grant Park, Inman Park, Midtown, Kirkwood, Candler Park, Lindberg area, Martin Manor, Brookhaven, Buckhead, Decatur, and Avondale Estates.
For more information on working with Heidi Reis, click here: https://www.AbodeAgency.Net/

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Concept Kitchen and Bath
6349 N. Federal Highway
Boca Raton, FL 33487
561-699-9999
Inspiration for a contemporary master marble floor and white floor bathroom remodel in Miami with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, blue walls and marble countertops
Inspiration for a contemporary master marble floor and white floor bathroom remodel in Miami with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, blue walls and marble countertops

The master bedroom is such a lovely room located at the back of the house, looking out on to acres of serene farmland, with an adjoining dressing room and en-suite. Our brief was to design and create a contemporary, streamlined en-suite and dressing room with storage, complete with a walk-in shower area, and a freestanding bath.

John knew it was time for a change, his outdated master bathroom with an uninspired color scheme did little to invoke a sense of relaxation or style. The lackluster ambiance was far from the relaxing experience he and his wife desired.
His aim was clear: to infuse the master bathroom with modern lines and a fresh, bright aesthetic. Our design team worked closely with him to select materials and fixtures that would bring his vision to life.
The new painted white shaker style cabinets and Fairy White Quartz countertops brought a fresh and clean look to the vanity area. The Delta Kayra faucets give a contemporary flair that is aesthetically pleasing and ergonomically satisfying.
The Kohler Verdera mirrors are more than just reflective surfaces; they provide smart storage solutions that enhanced the functionality of the space.
The old shower made way for the sleek, custom-built shower, lined with stunning Flash White ceramic tiles. The Themar Statuario Hex Mesh on the floor and the shimmering Swell Glass in the niche added layers of texture and modernity.
As the crown jewel the Kohler Sunward Collection soaking tub was thoughtfully installed with a tiled front tub deck, complemented by the same Quartz used for the vanity countertop, marrying consistency and luxury in design.
87






