Search results for "Operator" in Home Design Ideas

Nestled in the pristine beauty of the north woods of Wisconsin is the natural landscape of majestic trees, clear spring fed lakes, fascinating wildlife and exhilarating outdoor recreational activities. It is inviting to many families, friends and couples throughout the year The lakes in particular provide for an enormous amount of fun and relaxation. For those so fortunate to have a property it is customary to have a boathouse to store your swimming or boating gear and equipment. Recently Parrett was selected to provide windows and doors for a new boathouse and replacement windows and doors for an existing home. The boathouse windows consisted of folding windows and doors allowing for opening the windows the complete 10 foot expanse. These same doors were backed by a full length horizontal pulled screen. The folding window system was set on the second level loft designed as an elevated viewing area of the lake. Mulled directly to the top of the folding window was a Napoleon shaped direct set. On the opposite side of the second level was a window system matching the shape of the lakeside window system. The upper mulled window was a duplicate of the window on the lake side however the window below consisted of four awning windows. Due to the awnings being elevated from the lower floor and not easily accessible the windows were set up with individual electronic motors for operation which can be operated by either a switch or a remote control. The system allows for operating all of the windows at once or individually. The windows were made out of solid mahogany to the interior and a high performance woodgrain aluminum clad to the exterior. The lower boathouse door is a four panel solid mahogany plank style folding door system with a horizontal pull screen. Greeting anyone entering the boathouse is a custom designed entry door which has a carved pattern to the exterior emulating an owl. The owl door was made out of solid white oak and bordered with a 10 inch wide flat casing with a 12 inch keystone and plinth blocks located on top. Parrett was proud to be part of this fun, picturesque and very functional project.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Jaime Alvarez jaimephoto.com
Family room - industrial open concept medium tone wood floor family room idea in Philadelphia with white walls and a wall-mounted tv
Family room - industrial open concept medium tone wood floor family room idea in Philadelphia with white walls and a wall-mounted tv
Find the right local pro for your project

Nathan Morgan
Example of a small trendy women's carpeted dressing room design in Los Angeles with white cabinets
Example of a small trendy women's carpeted dressing room design in Los Angeles with white cabinets

Angle Eye Photography
Bedroom - contemporary master medium tone wood floor bedroom idea in Philadelphia with white walls
Bedroom - contemporary master medium tone wood floor bedroom idea in Philadelphia with white walls

Bathroom remodel in Sag Harbor, NY. The client had an inspiration in mind and this is the result
Trendy bathroom photo in New York
Trendy bathroom photo in New York

Sunset Drive exploits a steeply sloping hillside site in order to take advantages of sweeping neighborhood views. This contemporary hillside home utilizes a stepped plan that offers multiple levels for entertaining.

Bailey Porter Photography
Contemporary gray split-level mixed siding gable roof idea in Austin
Contemporary gray split-level mixed siding gable roof idea in Austin

Designed and constructed by Los Angeles architect, John Southern and his firm Urban Operations, the Slice and Fold House is a contemporary hillside home in the cosmopolitan neighborhood of Highland Park. Nestling into its steep hillside site, the house steps gracefully up the sloping topography, and provides outdoor space for every room without additional sitework. The first floor is conceived as an open plan, and features strategically located light-wells that flood the home with sunlight from above. On the second floor, each bedroom has access to outdoor space, decks and an at-grade patio, which opens onto a landscaped backyard. The home also features a roof deck inspired by Le Corbusier’s early villas, and where one can see Griffith Park and the San Gabriel Mountains in the distance.

Monte Mar embodies a refined balance of bold rectilinear forms and warm complementary materials, accentuated by welcoming, public-facing balconies. Lush landscaping cascades toward the street, creating a vibrant threshold that invites both neighbors and pedestrians while providing a verdant transition to the elevated residence.
Inside, strategically designed volumes crescendo to create uplifting spatial experiences, while subtle level transitions unify the interior and exterior, harmonizing with the natural slope of the site. Operable façades frame views of the expansive public park to the north, and extend the family’s private living spaces into the southern rear yard, effortlessly blending the dining and living areas into an indoor-outdoor experience.
Thoughtful window placement and the elegant, centrally located stair, designed as a light shaft, draw daylight deep into the home throughout the day. Warm finishes, echoing the exterior palette, enhance the sense of cohesion, while personalized details imbue the space with character, crafting a home that is both sophisticated and intimately tailored to its residents.
Highlights
• Integrate LID system as a public facing and enhancing design feature
• Activate façade and foster sense of neighborhood connection with public facing balconies
• Expand living space to exterior via operable facades also fostering natural ventilation and reducing the need for cooling
• Capture natural light to reduce energy consumption

It's easy to get swept away by the room’s gorgeous coloration, from the natural handwoven cane of the Palecek bed to the custom upholstered chair and the celestial Anewall wallpaper.

This custom hillside home takes advantage of the terrain in order to provide sweeping views of the local Silver Lake neighborhood. A stepped sectional design provides balconies and outdoor space at every level.

This 100+ year old farmhouse in Colorado had no central air conditioning. Using custom sized operable louvered doors allowed air flow throughout the house, keeping the house cool, while offering privacy when needed.
To receive a quote on our Operable Louvered doors follow the "Visit Store" link: below.

Custom cabinetry by DEANE inc allows for this ideal workspace to flow into the kitchen space with maximum space utilization.
Photography by Tim Lee
Example of a transitional built-in desk dark wood floor home office design in New York with gray walls
Example of a transitional built-in desk dark wood floor home office design in New York with gray walls

Retractable Screens, also known as Roll-up Screens and Vertical Rolling Screens are completely customized to meet the needs of the space.
Easy to see through and completely retractable, exterior Retractable Screens create a cool, comfortable, insect-free environment without sacrificing your view. Designed to provide superior solar protection, they mitigate UV damage, optimize comfort and provide daytime privacy even in windy settings.
Extra sun control can be achieved by increasing thread counts and weave density. Retractable Solar Shades provide energy-efficient sun shading, shelter against bugs and mosquitoes, climate control and rain/wind reduction while allowing outward visibility. Depending on screen fabric selection, our solar shade fabric selections are capable of blocking up to 95% of ultra-violet (UV) rays–saving up to 50% of the energy used to heat and cool homes.
Motorize Retractable Screens provide control at the touch of a button. Somfy Motors allow activation by wall mounted toggle switch or several different types of remote control options. These Retractable Screens will stop at upper and lower limits and are able to stop any where along the travel path on command.
Optional Manual Override features allow for operation in case of power outage for motorized units. Manual Operations are available on most models.
Motorized Retractable Screens equipped with Somfy RTS motors may be upgraded for use in Smart Homes and operated via Smartphone or other Mobile Devices.
Retractable Screens should be retracted when not in use. The screens are raised and housed inside the aluminum housing. All major components of the system are powder coated aluminum for durability, ease of operations, and longevity. All Retractable Screens from Shade & Shutter Systems come with a 5 year Warranty, to include the Somfy Motor.
Retractable Screens offer wind and rain abatement for breezy days. Many of our clients enjoy outdoor patio settings along coastal areas and beach front properties. Those areas also endure regular breezes that can be knocked down with retractable Screens for a more enjoyable experience. Although these screens are not designed for storm protection, winds to 40 mph are easily abated.
If you would like more information about Retractable Screens, our Product Specialists can be reached at 800-522-1599.

The Legacy™ C260 fireplace insert provides a long-term solution to the seldom-used family fireplace. Designed to meet almost any heating need, the Legacy fills an inefficient fireplace with a powerful heat source to warm your room or entire home. Built to accept large logs, the Legacy provides heat for up to 2,200 square feet. And to add your distinctive style, the Legacy can be customized for a perfect, personalized appearance.
Aesthetics
Unique, integral airwash system keeps the glass clean and clear for a wide-open view of the fire.
Constructed from premium materials, like heavy-gauge stainless steel, for dependable performance and striking appearance.
Comfort
Ceramic-fiber blanket utilizes technology developed by NASA that has 10 times the insulation value of firebrick, radiating heat back into the firebox and creating higher efficiencies and cleaner gas.
Uniquely designed refractory baffle assists in igniting fuel-rich gases, increasing efficiency and reducing emissions.
Stainless steel afterburner tubes mix oxygen with unburned gases and smoke to create a secondary burn, lowering fuel costs.
Heavy-duty door contains no nuts or washers, forming a 360° seal for long-lasting durability.
EPA Phase II-certified for clean and efficient operation.
Ease of Operation
Singular draft control for simple operation and burn rate adjustment.
Design Versatility
A choice of finishes and glass styling options.
Surround size and trim choices provide customization for personalized styling preference.
*Square-feet heating capacities are approximations only. Actual performance may vary depending upon home design and insulation, ceiling heights, climate, condition and type of wood used, appliance location, burn rate, accessories chosen, chimney installation and how the appliance is operated.
6



