Search results for "Operator" in Home Design Ideas

James Ray Spahn
Inspiration for a transitional dining room remodel in Los Angeles
Inspiration for a transitional dining room remodel in Los Angeles

Enlarged and remodeled master bath has a new shower with steam unit, glass tile walls with niches, new slot window with operable upper and built-in walnut vanity with Caesarstone countertops and flush mirrors and medicine cabinet. The shower features a recessed trench drain with sloping floor for positive drainage.

Benjamin Hill Photography
Inspiration for a contemporary courtyard lap pool remodel in Houston
Inspiration for a contemporary courtyard lap pool remodel in Houston
Find the right local pro for your project

Trendy beige tile black floor and single-sink alcove shower photo in Minneapolis with flat-panel cabinets, black cabinets, an integrated sink, a hinged shower door, white countertops and a floating vanity

Ryann Ford
Inspiration for a mediterranean dark wood floor entryway remodel in Austin with white walls and a glass front door
Inspiration for a mediterranean dark wood floor entryway remodel in Austin with white walls and a glass front door

The Studio Sprout is constructed to optimize ventilation necessary for growing conditions. Two operable windows assist with climate control throughout the year.

Architect: Blaine Bonadies, Bonadies Architect
Photography By: Jean Allsopp Photography
“Just as described, there is an edgy, irreverent vibe here, but the result has an appropriate stature and seriousness. Love the overscale windows. And the outdoor spaces are so great.”
Situated atop an old Civil War battle site, this new residence was conceived for a couple with southern values and a rock-and-roll attitude. The project consists of a house, a pool with a pool house and a renovated music studio. A marriage of modern and traditional design, this project used a combination of California redwood siding, stone and a slate roof with flat-seam lead overhangs. Intimate and well planned, there is no space wasted in this home. The execution of the detail work, such as handmade railings, metal awnings and custom windows jambs, made this project mesmerizing.
Cues from the client and how they use their space helped inspire and develop the initial floor plan, making it live at a human scale but with dramatic elements. Their varying taste then inspired the theme of traditional with an edge. The lines and rhythm of the house were simplified, and then complemented with some key details that made the house a juxtaposition of styles.
The wood Ultimate Casement windows were all standard sizes. However, there was a desire to make the windows have a “deep pocket” look to create a break in the facade and add a dramatic shadow line. Marvin was able to customize the jambs by extruding them to the exterior. They added a very thin exterior profile, which negated the need for exterior casing. The same detail was in the stone veneers and walls, as well as the horizontal siding walls, with no need for any modification. This resulted in a very sleek look.
MARVIN PRODUCTS USED:
Marvin Ultimate Casement Window

Hunter Douglas Silhouette® Window Shadings with A Deux System
Operating Systems: A Deux System, LiteRise
Room: Bedroom
Room Styles: Contemporary, Casual
Hunter Douglas Silhouette® Window Shadings
Featuring the Signature S-Vane™, Hunter Douglas Silhouette® Window Shadings are available with the new A Deux System OR an advanced version of our cordless LiteRise® system that now allow the vanes to be manually operated. This eliminates the need for operating cords of any kind, rendering Silhouette with LiteRise the ultimate choice for child and pet safety.
Material: Fabric
Vane Size:
2", 3"
Sizes Available:
Width: 6" to 144"
Height: 12" to 168"
Material/Color Options:
240 Combinations
Available from Accent Window Fashions LLC (715) 355-0772
Hunter Douglas Showcase Priority Dealer
Hunter Douglas Certified Installer
Hunter Douglas Certified Professional Dealer
#Hunter_Douglas #Silhouette #A_Deux_System #LiteRise #Bedroom #Contemporary #Casual #Remote_Control #Motorized #Window_Shadings #Window_Treatments #HunterDouglas #Accent_Window_Fashions
Copyright 2001-2014 Hunter Douglas, Inc. All rights reserved.

This master bathroom remodel has a spacious layout with a walk-in shower next to the freestanding tub. This space also showcases cool design with a tub shadow made of pebble stone to match the shower flooring.

Barry Grossman Photography
Trendy master carpeted bedroom photo in Miami with no fireplace and gray walls
Trendy master carpeted bedroom photo in Miami with no fireplace and gray walls

Custom glass shower enclosures and glass shower doors can add beauty and brighten up any bathroom and come in a variety of options. Whether you choose framed or frameless shower glass, the possibilities are endless.
Arrow Glass and Mirror is an industry leader providing custom glass shower doors and enclosures for homeowners and contractors in Central Texas. We offer a wide variety of glass and hardware options allowing you to design the custom glass shower enclosure that fits your bathroom perfectly. Whatever your vision, our residential team has the expertise to guide you in the selection of glass and hardware that will work best for your shower project.
For more information on ordering a custom glass shower enclosure please contact Arrow Glass and Mirror's Residential Team today at 512-339-4888.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

A Marble-Wrapped Island Adds a Natural Element to the Minimal White Kitchen
Example of a minimalist l-shaped light wood floor and beige floor kitchen design in New York with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, white backsplash, stone slab backsplash, an island, green countertops and paneled appliances
Example of a minimalist l-shaped light wood floor and beige floor kitchen design in New York with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, white backsplash, stone slab backsplash, an island, green countertops and paneled appliances

When the neighbor expanded, the small, open courtyard became an extension of the neighbor's driveway. Southern Landscape designed and built a custom privacy trellis to shield the neighbor while creating an intimate retreat off the master bedroom. ,Asian jasmine climbs the trellis, while dianella, foxtail, and little gem magnolia highlight the custom water feature, all of which contributes to the quiet oasis.

Angle Eye Photography
Bedroom - contemporary master medium tone wood floor bedroom idea in Philadelphia with white walls
Bedroom - contemporary master medium tone wood floor bedroom idea in Philadelphia with white walls

The Devonshire Series direct vent gas fireplace delivers a clean-face design featuring one of the tallest viewing areas for a true masonry-built look. Combined with top tier features, such as heat-radiating ceramic glass, a realistic log set, heavy-duty cast iron grate, and a variety of options, the Devonshire Series will create a warm and inviting home.
EXCLUSIVE FEATURES
Available in 36” and 42” models
Conveniently located gas controls for easy installation and operation
Energy saving electronic controls with seamless battery backup provide continued operation in the event of a power outage
Clean-face design allows more flexibility for a custom look
Tall opening provides an exceptional view of the flame
Multi-level burner produces tall, dancing flames with beautiful ember bed
Smooth-faced design features ceramic glass for optimum heat transfer
Ceramic poured fiber log set with heavy duty cast-iron grate
Dual blowers for increased comfort
High definition refractory panels available in multiple styles and colors
Includes full-featured remote control (variable flame control and IPI/CPI)
Limited Lifetime Warranty
This fireplace meets all 2015 ANSI barrier requirements.

The primary bedroom and bathroom are the showstoppers of this phase! Unused and awkwardly located closets in both the bedroom and bathroom were removed to make way for additional square-footage in the bath and replaced with a sizable and functional reach-in closet in the bedroom. A dated and cramped shower stall was removed in favor for an expansive step in shower spanning the width of the bathroom and a new transom window washes the room in natural light. While the previous bathroom was only able to accommodate a single vanity, the new layout allowed us to create double matching vanities mirrored across from each other - a much appreciated addition for a primary bath. Floating walnut vanities boast impressive storage and are capped with tower cabinets with hidden outlets for charging and storing electronic bathroom tools. While the color palette is restrained - black, white, gray, and brown - the result is a timelessly modern and masculine space that is at once striking and warm. Modern geometric patterns play with each other throughout the material selections.
1


