Search results for "Owner occupied" in Home Design Ideas

Large eclectic open concept concrete floor and gray floor living room library photo in New York with white walls, a tv stand and no fireplace

Most design showhouses are properties for sale, and each designer creates a space for viewing. It’s a great way to market the property and the designer. However, the Kingston Design Showhouse in the Fall of 2019 was at Historic Wiltyck House in Kingston, New York, that's partially used as an Airbnb and home for the owners. The room I designed is the homeowner's private dining room; therefore, we took their taste and needs into account, especially on architectural decisions.
The overall style is a mixture of modern and traditional, feminine and masculine, and moody and bright, lots of depth but not overwhelming. The architecture serves as a canvas for the furniture showcased during the exhibit and then the homeowner's furniture that will occupy the space afterward. Small details such as replacing or refinishing the doorknobs, replacing the switches and outlets were not forgotten. Then more significant details such as the wallpapered ceiling, new ceiling medallion, and light fixture make a tremendous impact on the space. The wall paint is neutral enough but adds depth with its medium tone gray. Then we added a white border and mauve painted trim as an interpretation of the crown molding that's missing.
During the exhibit, we had local makers from the Hudson Valley well represented through furniture, accessories, art, and floral arrangements. All are makers that I love and want to share with you; without them, the room wouldn’t be as lovely as it is.

Contractor: Kevin F. Russo
Interiors: Anne McDonald Design
Photo: Haris Kenjar
Inspiration for a coastal dining room remodel in Minneapolis
Inspiration for a coastal dining room remodel in Minneapolis
Find the right local pro for your project

This photo shows the rolling ladder, which provides easy access to the client's wines at the topmost section of the racking.
On this custom wine cellar project in San Diego, the Sapele Mahogany wine racks look very attractive and match the existing woodwork in the owner's home.
An existing wine cellar in a La Jolla, San Diego home was expanded to accommodate the growing collection of the owner.
We worked on this project twice. The first installation was completed in 2008. After about 5 years, the client requested us to double the capacity of their wine room, but maintain the contemporary design.
We added new sections to the existing racking to provide additional space for more wines. Stunning Wine Cellar for a Contemporary Home
We completed a wine cellar installation project in La Jolla, an affluent city of San Diego, California, where we had to match the contemporary design of the home. The beautiful residential space was originally built with glass and wood.
All the woodworking was constructed from Sapele Mahogany, which is common in many parts of the house. The cabinetry and furniture had to be the same tone and material.
We have worked on this project twice. The first time was in 2008 and the second one was in 2013. We needed to expand and double the size of the custom wine cellar.
A very integral part of this homeowner’s life is their wine and the collecting of wine. Our main goal was to create a racking design that consists of various orientations to allow the owner to store different sizes of bottles.
Racking Features of the La Jolla Custom Wine Cellar
The original room was constructed when the home was built. The architect, designing team, and contractor gave us a palette to match the existing cabinetry.
The owners didn’t know what their needs were going to be. When they buy cases of wine, for example, they just put some of the bottles in the diamond bins and some in individual bottle spaces.
In 2013, we tried to make the racking as universal as possible. The original capacity of the wine room was 1,100 bottles. It increased to 1,624 after the expansion of the space and adding more wine racks.
Elevation 1
The first area of the room consists of racking for individual storage at the top section, with a VC-style cover for concealing the evaporator. There are diamond bins in the middle that can store nine bottles in each opening.
We added many slots for large format bottles below the diamond bins because the owners stored bigger bottles in the first room, as big as 9 liters. What we did was to open up a couple of spaces to create a wider wine storage area.
The whole racking in this area has a solid end panel. We took out the vertical supports and put the beam supports across to bear the load.
We incorporated a coved tray feature to allow the owners to get a feel for the beautiful bottles in their collection. The large format bottles are stored in various heights, resulting in a cascading wine display. This style of racking allows for easy visibility of the wine labels. We installed LED lighting above this area to illuminate the space dramatically without emitting too much heat.
Elevation 2
The next racking is labeled Elevation 2, which is the left wall that you will pass by before you go into the other storage area. It consists of horizontal display racks that can store both standard and larger bottles. These display racks, which are 8 ¼” deep, were installed with lighting and mirror at the back.
The middle section has two glass shelves that provide an area for the client’s wine cellar accessories and mini car collection.
Elevation 3
On the 3rd Elevation, the top racking includes slots with twelve coved trays and six solid backs. We added new individual column wine racks, and custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports to the existing cabinetry. Now, the total capacity of the individual bottle racking is 384, and the custom cabinets can accommodate 34 bottles.
There is a double deep Sapele Mahogany tabletop where we installed very large steel supports under it. This will provide structural stability for bearing the weight of this big case storage area. The homeowner buys a lot of wine, so he wanted to have an area where he could stack all the boxes.
He didn’t want the boxes to occupy the area at the front. With this feature, he could just bring the wines directly to this storage area, without affecting the aesthetic appeal of the front entrance of his La Jolla custom wine cellar.
Elevations 4 and 5
The next wall is Elevation 4, which consists of wine racks for 98 magnum bottles. The top most section has a VC-style evaporator cover.
Elevation 5 (in front of elevation 3), had twelve coved trays, 16-bottle custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports, and one hundred eighty individual storage slots.
After adding new sections, we ended up having sixteen coved trays, 26-bottle custom cabinets, and 288 individual bottle racking.
Rolling Ladder for Easy Access of Wines
Another factor that we consider when designing a wine room is the convenience in accessing the bottles. Since the ceiling of this La Jolla custom wine cellar was tall (about 124” height), we added a hook rolling ladder.
A hook ladder has fixtures that allow it to slide along the rail and can be lifted off the rail if you want to transfer it to another section of the racking on a different wall.
Check out more about this project: http://www.vintagecellars.com/california-wine-cellars-designs/la-jolla-san-diego-custom-wine-cellars-contemporary-designs/
Vintage Cellars has built gorgeous custom wine cellars and wine storage rooms across the United States and World for over 25 years. We are your go-to business for anything wine cellar and wine storage related! Whether you're interested in a wine closet, wine racking, custom wine racks, a custom wine cellar door, or a cooling system for your existing space, Vintage Cellars has you covered!
We carry all kinds of wine cellar cooling and refrigeration systems, incuding: Breezaire, CellarCool, WhisperKool, Wine Guardian, CellarPro and Commercial systems.
We also carry many types of Wine Refrigerators, Wine Cabinets, and wine racking types, including La Cache, Marvel, N'Finity, Transtherm, Vinotheque, Vintage Series, Credenza, Walk in wine rooms, Climadiff, Riedel, Fontenay, and VintageView.
Vintage Cellars also does work in many styles, including Contemporary and Modern, Rustic, Farmhouse, Traditional, Craftsman, Industrial, Mediterranean, Mid-Century, Industrial and Eclectic.
Some locations we cover often include: San Diego, Rancho Santa Fe, Corona Del Mar, Del Mar, La Jolla, Newport Beach, Newport Coast, Huntington Beach, Del Mar, Solana Beach, Carlsbad, Orange County, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Bel Air, Los Angeles, Encinitas, Cardiff, Coronado, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes, San Marino, Ladera Heights, Santa Monica, Brentwood, Westwood, Hancock Park, Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, Laguna Niguel, Torrey Pines, Thousand Oaks, Coto De Caza, Coronado Island, San Francisco, Danville, Walnut Creek, Marin, Tiburon, Hillsborough, Berkeley, Oakland, Napa, Sonoma, Agoura Hills, Hollywood Hills, Laurel Canyon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, San Rafael, Piedmont, Paso Robles, Carmel, Pebble Beach
Contact Vintage Cellars today with any of your Wine Cellar needs!
(800) 876-8789

2011 NARI CAPITAL COTY FINALIST AWARD WINNER
Project Scope--
The owners of this 1990’s colonial home were seeking to convert the existing space-constricted builder-grade kitchen into a generously-apportioned Tuscan-style country kitchen with lots of natural light, high-end appointments and a warmly textured interior design concept. Among other features they sought a mid-room island that would house critical appliances, complete the work triangle and provide dining counter space for three. They also wanted to include a professional-grade gas range.
Challenges--
Situated between dining room and family room, the existing kitchen was small and poorly planned. The sink faced a blank wall and the appliances were inadequate for the owner’s gourmet cooking ambitions.
To create the desired footprint, the contractor, Michael Nash Design, Build & Homes, created a plan that called for consolidating square footage in several rooms adjacent to the kitchen. This entailed removing two load bearing walls– one between the kitchen and dining room, a second separating the kitchen and family room– and shifting loads to newly installed structural supports carefully concealed within the resultant “open” floor plan.
To accommodate new appliances (and work efficiencies) called for by this radically altered space plan, the design located the new professional gas range and other key features in the footprint formerly occupied by the breakfast room, a change that takes advantage of opportunities for a higher cathedral ceiling, better natural lighting and greater space.
Solutions--
With this space plan resolved, the design team could now eliminate a picture window on the west elevation, designing a new elevation to accommodate a stucco cooktop flanked by a pair of custom Palladium windows. A side elevation slider was replaced with a French door.
Infrastructure considerations included introducing gas lines needed for the 48” Viking cooktop range and re-routing plumbing. The 5’ x 9’ granite-surfaced custom designed island includes the primary kitchen sink, a dishwasher, microwave and dining overhang that provided seating for up to four.
On another wall, the design called for installing ceiling flush “beaded” display pantries with open bookcases, and routed-in plumbing for a water fountain, a faucet and an ice-making machine.
Glazed maple and cherry cabinetry increased available storage by over 50%. A recessed space was also created for a built-in vertical wine rack. Style-appropriate terra cotta tiling with mosaic bordering detailing extends into the home’s foyer. Other finishing work elements include crown molding with rounded turn posts and corbels.

Living Room After. Photo
Using owner’s sofa and chair.
Home design - mid-sized transitional home design idea in St Louis
Home design - mid-sized transitional home design idea in St Louis

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Photographer: Ashley Avila Photography
Builder: Colonial Builders - Tim Schollart
Interior Designer: Laura Davidson
This large estate house was carefully crafted to compliment the rolling hillsides of the Midwest. Horizontal board & batten facades are sheltered by long runs of hipped roofs and are divided down the middle by the homes singular gabled wall. At the foyer, this gable takes the form of a classic three-part archway.
Going through the archway and into the interior, reveals a stunning see-through fireplace surround with raised natural stone hearth and rustic mantel beams. Subtle earth-toned wall colors, white trim, and natural wood floors serve as a perfect canvas to showcase patterned upholstery, black hardware, and colorful paintings. The kitchen and dining room occupies the space to the left of the foyer and living room and is connected to two garages through a more secluded mudroom and half bath. Off to the rear and adjacent to the kitchen is a screened porch that features a stone fireplace and stunning sunset views.
Occupying the space to the right of the living room and foyer is an understated master suite and spacious study featuring custom cabinets with diagonal bracing. The master bedroom’s en suite has a herringbone patterned marble floor, crisp white custom vanities, and access to a his and hers dressing area.
The four upstairs bedrooms are divided into pairs on either side of the living room balcony. Downstairs, the terraced landscaping exposes the family room and refreshment area to stunning views of the rear yard. The two remaining bedrooms in the lower level each have access to an en suite bathroom.

Randall Perry Photography
Cottage bedroom photo in New York with a corner fireplace
Cottage bedroom photo in New York with a corner fireplace

The Lakota Residence occupies a spectacular 10-acre site in the hills above northwest Portland, Oregon. The residence consists of a main house of nearly 10,000 sf and a caretakers cottage/guest house of 1,200 sf over a shop/garage. Both have been sited to capture the four mountain Cascade panorama plus views to the city and the Columbia River gorge while maintaining an internal privacy. The buildings are set in a highly manicured and refined immediate site set within a largely forested environment complete with a variety of wildlife.
Successful business people, the owners desired an elegant but "edgey" retreat that would accommodate an active social life while still functional as "mission control" for their construction materials business. There are days at a time when business is conducted from Lakota. The three-level main house has been benched into an edge of the site. Entry to the middle or main floor occurs from the south with the entry framing distant views to Mt. St. Helens and Mt. Rainier. Conceived as a ruin upon which a modernist house has been built, the radiused and largely opaque stone wall anchors a transparent steel and glass north elevation that consumes the view. Recreational spaces and garage occupy the lower floor while the upper houses sleeping areas at the west end and office functions to the east.
Obsessive with their concern for detail, the owners were involved daily on site during the construction process. Much of the interiors were sketched on site and mocked up at full scale to test formal concepts. Eight years from site selection to move in, the Lakota Residence is a project of the old school process.

An existing wine cellar in a La Jolla, San Diego home was expanded to accommodate the growing collection of the owner.
We worked on this project twice. The first installation was completed in 2008. After about 5 years, the client requested us to double the capacity of their wine room, but maintain the contemporary design.
We added new sections to the existing racking to provide additional space for more wines. Stunning Wine Cellar for a Contemporary Home
We completed a wine cellar installation project in La Jolla, an affluent city of San Diego, California, where we had to match the contemporary design of the home. The beautiful residential space was originally built with glass and wood.
All the woodworking was constructed from Sapele Mahogany, which is common in many parts of the house. The cabinetry and furniture had to be the same tone and material.
We have worked on this project twice. The first time was in 2008 and the second one was in 2013. We needed to expand and double the size of the custom wine cellar.
A very integral part of this homeowner’s life is their wine and the collecting of wine. Our main goal was to create a racking design that consists of various orientations to allow the owner to store different sizes of bottles.
Racking Features of the La Jolla Custom Wine Cellar
The original room was constructed when the home was built. The architect, designing team, and contractor gave us a palette to match the existing cabinetry.
The owners didn’t know what their needs were going to be. When they buy cases of wine, for example, they just put some of the bottles in the diamond bins and some in individual bottle spaces.
In 2013, we tried to make the racking as universal as possible. The original capacity of the wine room was 1,100 bottles. It increased to 1,624 after the expansion of the space and adding more wine racks.
Elevation 1
The first area of the room consists of racking for individual storage at the top section, with a VC-style cover for concealing the evaporator. There are diamond bins in the middle that can store nine bottles in each opening.
We added many slots for large format bottles below the diamond bins because the owners stored bigger bottles in the first room, as big as 9 liters. What we did was to open up a couple of spaces to create a wider wine storage area.
The whole racking in this area has a solid end panel. We took out the vertical supports and put the beam supports across to bear the load.
We incorporated a coved tray feature to allow the owners to get a feel for the beautiful bottles in their collection. The large format bottles are stored in various heights, resulting in a cascading wine display. This style of racking allows for easy visibility of the wine labels. We installed LED lighting above this area to illuminate the space dramatically without emitting too much heat.
Elevation 2
The next racking is labeled Elevation 2, which is the left wall that you will pass by before you go into the other storage area. It consists of horizontal display racks that can store both standard and larger bottles. These display racks, which are 8 ¼” deep, were installed with lighting and mirror at the back.
The middle section has two glass shelves that provide an area for the client’s wine cellar accessories and mini car collection.
Elevation 3
On the 3rd Elevation, the top racking includes slots with twelve coved trays and six solid backs. We added new individual column wine racks, and custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports to the existing cabinetry. Now, the total capacity of the individual bottle racking is 384, and the custom cabinets can accommodate 34 bottles.
There is a double deep Sapele Mahogany tabletop where we installed very large steel supports under it. This will provide structural stability for bearing the weight of this big case storage area. The homeowner buys a lot of wine, so he wanted to have an area where he could stack all the boxes.
He didn’t want the boxes to occupy the area at the front. With this feature, he could just bring the wines directly to this storage area, without affecting the aesthetic appeal of the front entrance of his La Jolla custom wine cellar.
Elevations 4 and 5
The next wall is Elevation 4, which consists of wine racks for 98 magnum bottles. The top most section has a VC-style evaporator cover.
Elevation 5 (in front of elevation 3), had twelve coved trays, 16-bottle custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports, and one hundred eighty individual storage slots.
After adding new sections, we ended up having sixteen coved trays, 26-bottle custom cabinets, and 288 individual bottle racking.
Rolling Ladder for Easy Access of Wines
Another factor that we consider when designing a wine room is the convenience in accessing the bottles. Since the ceiling of this La Jolla custom wine cellar was tall (about 124” height), we added a hook rolling ladder.
A hook ladder has fixtures that allow it to slide along the rail and can be lifted off the rail if you want to transfer it to another section of the racking on a different wall.
Vintage Cellars has built gorgeous custom wine cellars and wine storage rooms across the United States and World for over 25 years. We are your go-to business for anything wine cellar and wine storage related! Whether you're interested in a wine closet, wine racking, custom wine racks, a custom wine cellar door, or a cooling system for your existing space, Vintage Cellars has you covered!
We carry all kinds of wine cellar cooling and refrigeration systems, incuding: Breezaire, CellarCool, WhisperKool, Wine Guardian, CellarPro and Commercial systems.
We also carry many types of Wine Refrigerators, Wine Cabinets, and wine racking types, including La Cache, Marvel, N'Finity, Transtherm, Vinotheque, Vintage Series, Credenza, Walk in wine rooms, Climadiff, Riedel, Fontenay, and VintageView.
Vintage Cellars also does work in many styles, including Contemporary and Modern, Rustic, Farmhouse, Traditional, Craftsman, Industrial, Mediterranean, Mid-Century, Industrial and Eclectic.
Some locations we cover often include: San Diego, Rancho Santa Fe, Corona Del Mar, Del Mar, La Jolla, Newport Beach, Newport Coast, Huntington Beach, Del Mar, Solana Beach, Carlsbad, Orange County, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Bel Air, Los Angeles, Encinitas, Cardiff, Coronado, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes, San Marino, Ladera Heights, Santa Monica, Brentwood, Westwood, Hancock Park, Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, Laguna Niguel, Torrey Pines, Thousand Oaks, Coto De Caza, Coronado Island, San Francisco, Danville, Walnut Creek, Marin, Tiburon, Hillsborough, Berkeley, Oakland, Napa, Sonoma, Agoura Hills, Hollywood Hills, Laurel Canyon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, San Rafael, Piedmont, Paso Robles, Carmel, Pebble Beach
Contact Vintage Cellars today with any of your Wine Cellar needs!
(800) 876-8789
Vintage Cellars
904 Rancheros Drive
San Marcos, California 92069
(800) 876-8789

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This classic loft building features the Flatiron Residence, features large windows and soaring ceiling heights. This was a perfect project for a young growing family who wanted to create a luminous, spacious home. They combined two floors and opted for a sun drenched, generous layout designed to maintain as much openness as possible throughout the residence. The overall feeling is fresh, contemporary and artisan. Their custom kitchen anchors the main floor’s loft space while the dining, living and family rooms flow together. The rooms are separated only by a full height woven-leather sliding panel system. This was integrated to give the owners flexibility in open or closed doors depending on how they’re occupying the space on any given day. The stair’s sculptural bronze and white oak finishes quietly integrate the two floors, with cove lighting and an artisan glass chandelier illuminating the area.
Photography: Guillaume Gaudet
www.guillaumegaudet.com
© DHD / ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This is the contemporary home in San Diego where we installed the custom wine cellar. We were able to create a design that matched woodwork and glass of the space.
An existing wine cellar in a La Jolla, San Diego home was expanded to accommodate the growing collection of the owner.
We worked on this project twice. The first installation was completed in 2008. After about 5 years, the client requested us to double the capacity of their wine room, but maintain the contemporary design.
We added new sections to the existing racking to provide additional space for more wines. Stunning Wine Cellar for a Contemporary Home
We completed a wine cellar installation project in La Jolla, an affluent city of San Diego, California, where we had to match the contemporary design of the home. The beautiful residential space was originally built with glass and wood.
All the woodworking was constructed from Sapele Mahogany, which is common in many parts of the house. The cabinetry and furniture had to be the same tone and material.
We have worked on this project twice. The first time was in 2008 and the second one was in 2013. We needed to expand and double the size of the custom wine cellar.
A very integral part of this homeowner’s life is their wine and the collecting of wine. Our main goal was to create a racking design that consists of various orientations to allow the owner to store different sizes of bottles.
Racking Features of the La Jolla Custom Wine Cellar
The original room was constructed when the home was built. The architect, designing team, and contractor gave us a palette to match the existing cabinetry.
The owners didn’t know what their needs were going to be. When they buy cases of wine, for example, they just put some of the bottles in the diamond bins and some in individual bottle spaces.
In 2013, we tried to make the racking as universal as possible. The original capacity of the wine room was 1,100 bottles. It increased to 1,624 after the expansion of the space and adding more wine racks.
Elevation 1
The first area of the room consists of racking for individual storage at the top section, with a VC-style cover for concealing the evaporator. There are diamond bins in the middle that can store nine bottles in each opening.
We added many slots for large format bottles below the diamond bins because the owners stored bigger bottles in the first room, as big as 9 liters. What we did was to open up a couple of spaces to create a wider wine storage area.
The whole racking in this area has a solid end panel. We took out the vertical supports and put the beam supports across to bear the load.
We incorporated a coved tray feature to allow the owners to get a feel for the beautiful bottles in their collection. The large format bottles are stored in various heights, resulting in a cascading wine display. This style of racking allows for easy visibility of the wine labels. We installed LED lighting above this area to illuminate the space dramatically without emitting too much heat.
Elevation 2
The next racking is labeled Elevation 2, which is the left wall that you will pass by before you go into the other storage area. It consists of horizontal display racks that can store both standard and larger bottles. These display racks, which are 8 ¼” deep, were installed with lighting and mirror at the back.
The middle section has two glass shelves that provide an area for the client’s wine cellar accessories and mini car collection.
Elevation 3
On the 3rd Elevation, the top racking includes slots with twelve coved trays and six solid backs. We added new individual column wine racks, and custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports to the existing cabinetry. Now, the total capacity of the individual bottle racking is 384, and the custom cabinets can accommodate 34 bottles.
There is a double deep Sapele Mahogany tabletop where we installed very large steel supports under it. This will provide structural stability for bearing the weight of this big case storage area. The homeowner buys a lot of wine, so he wanted to have an area where he could stack all the boxes.
He didn’t want the boxes to occupy the area at the front. With this feature, he could just bring the wines directly to this storage area, without affecting the aesthetic appeal of the front entrance of his La Jolla custom wine cellar.
Elevations 4 and 5
The next wall is Elevation 4, which consists of wine racks for 98 magnum bottles. The top most section has a VC-style evaporator cover.
Elevation 5 (in front of elevation 3), had twelve coved trays, 16-bottle custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports, and one hundred eighty individual storage slots.
After adding new sections, we ended up having sixteen coved trays, 26-bottle custom cabinets, and 288 individual bottle racking.
Rolling Ladder for Easy Access of Wines
Another factor that we consider when designing a wine room is the convenience in accessing the bottles. Since the ceiling of this La Jolla custom wine cellar was tall (about 124” height), we added a hook rolling ladder.
A hook ladder has fixtures that allow it to slide along the rail and can be lifted off the rail if you want to transfer it to another section of the racking on a different wall.
Vintage Cellars has built gorgeous custom wine cellars and wine storage rooms across the United States and World for over 25 years. We are your go-to business for anything wine cellar and wine storage related! Whether you're interested in a wine closet, wine racking, custom wine racks, a custom wine cellar door, or a cooling system for your existing space, Vintage Cellars has you covered!
We carry all kinds of wine cellar cooling and refrigeration systems, incuding: Breezaire, CellarCool, WhisperKool, Wine Guardian, CellarPro and Commercial systems.
We also carry many types of Wine Refrigerators, Wine Cabinets, and wine racking types, including La Cache, Marvel, N'Finity, Transtherm, Vinotheque, Vintage Series, Credenza, Walk in wine rooms, Climadiff, Riedel, Fontenay, and VintageView.
Vintage Cellars also does work in many styles, including Contemporary and Modern, Rustic, Farmhouse, Traditional, Craftsman, Industrial, Mediterranean, Mid-Century, Industrial and Eclectic.
Some locations we cover often include: San Diego, Rancho Santa Fe, Corona Del Mar, Del Mar, La Jolla, Newport Beach, Newport Coast, Huntington Beach, Del Mar, Solana Beach, Carlsbad, Orange County, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Bel Air, Los Angeles, Encinitas, Cardiff, Coronado, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes, San Marino, Ladera Heights, Santa Monica, Brentwood, Westwood, Hancock Park, Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, Laguna Niguel, Torrey Pines, Thousand Oaks, Coto De Caza, Coronado Island, San Francisco, Danville, Walnut Creek, Marin, Tiburon, Hillsborough, Berkeley, Oakland, Napa, Sonoma, Agoura Hills, Hollywood Hills, Laurel Canyon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, San Rafael, Piedmont, Paso Robles, Carmel, Pebble Beach
Contact Vintage Cellars today with any of your Wine Cellar needs!
(800) 876-8789

AFTER photo- home staging consultation. Home owners received feedback to trade art and accessories from other rooms in the home to enhance buyer appeal in the Dining Room. Owners have great taste in furniture, which works very nicely with the overall style of the home.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Wannemacher Interiors
Customized Award-Winning Interior Design Solutions in Franklin Cnty OH

As a master builder in California for many years, we always make sure that the racking design of every wine cellar matches the existing decor of the home.
The beautiful cabinetry and racking were manufactured from Sapele Mahogany. The large format bottles are
stored in cascading heights.
An existing wine cellar in a La Jolla, San Diego home was expanded to accommodate the growing collection of the owner.
We worked on this project twice. The first installation was completed in 2008. After about 5 years, the client requested us to double the capacity of their wine room, but maintain the contemporary design.
We added new sections to the existing racking to provide additional space for more wines. Stunning Wine Cellar for a Contemporary Home
We completed a wine cellar installation project in La Jolla, an affluent city of San Diego, California, where we had to match the contemporary design of the home. The beautiful residential space was originally built with glass and wood.
All the woodworking was constructed from Sapele Mahogany, which is common in many parts of the house. The cabinetry and furniture had to be the same tone and material.
We have worked on this project twice. The first time was in 2008 and the second one was in 2013. We needed to expand and double the size of the custom wine cellar.
A very integral part of this homeowner’s life is their wine and the collecting of wine. Our main goal was to create a racking design that consists of various orientations to allow the owner to store different sizes of bottles.
Racking Features of the La Jolla Custom Wine Cellar
The original room was constructed when the home was built. The architect, designing team, and contractor gave us a palette to match the existing cabinetry.
The owners didn’t know what their needs were going to be. When they buy cases of wine, for example, they just put some of the bottles in the diamond bins and some in individual bottle spaces.
In 2013, we tried to make the racking as universal as possible. The original capacity of the wine room was 1,100 bottles. It increased to 1,624 after the expansion of the space and adding more wine racks.
Elevation 1
The first area of the room consists of racking for individual storage at the top section, with a VC-style cover for concealing the evaporator. There are diamond bins in the middle that can store nine bottles in each opening.
We added many slots for large format bottles below the diamond bins because the owners stored bigger bottles in the first room, as big as 9 liters. What we did was to open up a couple of spaces to create a wider wine storage area.
The whole racking in this area has a solid end panel. We took out the vertical supports and put the beam supports across to bear the load.
We incorporated a coved tray feature to allow the owners to get a feel for the beautiful bottles in their collection. The large format bottles are stored in various heights, resulting in a cascading wine display. This style of racking allows for easy visibility of the wine labels. We installed LED lighting above this area to illuminate the space dramatically without emitting too much heat.
Elevation 2
The next racking is labeled Elevation 2, which is the left wall that you will pass by before you go into the other storage area. It consists of horizontal display racks that can store both standard and larger bottles. These display racks, which are 8 ¼” deep, were installed with lighting and mirror at the back.
The middle section has two glass shelves that provide an area for the client’s wine cellar accessories and mini car collection.
Elevation 3
On the 3rd Elevation, the top racking includes slots with twelve coved trays and six solid backs. We added new individual column wine racks, and custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports to the existing cabinetry. Now, the total capacity of the individual bottle racking is 384, and the custom cabinets can accommodate 34 bottles.
There is a double deep Sapele Mahogany tabletop where we installed very large steel supports under it. This will provide structural stability for bearing the weight of this big case storage area. The homeowner buys a lot of wine, so he wanted to have an area where he could stack all the boxes.
He didn’t want the boxes to occupy the area at the front. With this feature, he could just bring the wines directly to this storage area, without affecting the aesthetic appeal of the front entrance of his La Jolla custom wine cellar.
Elevations 4 and 5
The next wall is Elevation 4, which consists of wine racks for 98 magnum bottles. The top most section has a VC-style evaporator cover.
Elevation 5 (in front of elevation 3), had twelve coved trays, 16-bottle custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports, and one hundred eighty individual storage slots.
After adding new sections, we ended up having sixteen coved trays, 26-bottle custom cabinets, and 288 individual bottle racking.
Rolling Ladder for Easy Access of Wines
Another factor that we consider when designing a wine room is the convenience in accessing the bottles. Since the ceiling of this La Jolla custom wine cellar was tall (about 124” height), we added a hook rolling ladder.
A hook ladder has fixtures that allow it to slide along the rail and can be lifted off the rail if you want to transfer it to another section of the racking on a different wall.
Vintage Cellars has built gorgeous custom wine cellars and wine storage rooms across the United States and World for over 25 years. We are your go-to business for anything wine cellar and wine storage related! Whether you're interested in a wine closet, wine racking, custom wine racks, a custom wine cellar door, or a cooling system for your existing space, Vintage Cellars has you covered!
We carry all kinds of wine cellar cooling and refrigeration systems, incuding: Breezaire, CellarCool, WhisperKool, Wine Guardian, CellarPro and Commercial systems.
We also carry many types of Wine Refrigerators, Wine Cabinets, and wine racking types, including La Cache, Marvel, N'Finity, Transtherm, Vinotheque, Vintage Series, Credenza, Walk in wine rooms, Climadiff, Riedel, Fontenay, and VintageView.
Vintage Cellars also does work in many styles, including Contemporary and Modern, Rustic, Farmhouse, Traditional, Craftsman, Industrial, Mediterranean, Mid-Century, Industrial and Eclectic.
Some locations we cover often include: San Diego, Rancho Santa Fe, Corona Del Mar, Del Mar, La Jolla, Newport Beach, Newport Coast, Huntington Beach, Del Mar, Solana Beach, Carlsbad, Orange County, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Bel Air, Los Angeles, Encinitas, Cardiff, Coronado, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes, San Marino, Ladera Heights, Santa Monica, Brentwood, Westwood, Hancock Park, Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, Laguna Niguel, Torrey Pines, Thousand Oaks, Coto De Caza, Coronado Island, San Francisco, Danville, Walnut Creek, Marin, Tiburon, Hillsborough, Berkeley, Oakland, Napa, Sonoma, Agoura Hills, Hollywood Hills, Laurel Canyon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, San Rafael, Piedmont, Paso Robles, Carmel, Pebble Beach
Contact Vintage Cellars today with any of your Wine Cellar needs!
(800) 876-8789

In this area of the custom wine cellar San Diego project, there are single storage racks that store the bottles with corks facing out.
We added new sections of coved trays, individual wine rack, and custom cabinets.
An existing wine cellar in a La Jolla, San Diego home was expanded to accommodate the growing collection of the owner.
We worked on this project twice. The first installation was completed in 2008. After about 5 years, the client requested us to double the capacity of their wine room, but maintain the contemporary design.
We added new sections to the existing racking to provide additional space for more wines. Stunning Wine Cellar for a Contemporary Home
We completed a wine cellar installation project in La Jolla, an affluent city of San Diego, California, where we had to match the contemporary design of the home. The beautiful residential space was originally built with glass and wood.
All the woodworking was constructed from Sapele Mahogany, which is common in many parts of the house. The cabinetry and furniture had to be the same tone and material.
We have worked on this project twice. The first time was in 2008 and the second one was in 2013. We needed to expand and double the size of the custom wine cellar.
A very integral part of this homeowner’s life is their wine and the collecting of wine. Our main goal was to create a racking design that consists of various orientations to allow the owner to store different sizes of bottles.
Racking Features of the La Jolla Custom Wine Cellar
The original room was constructed when the home was built. The architect, designing team, and contractor gave us a palette to match the existing cabinetry.
The owners didn’t know what their needs were going to be. When they buy cases of wine, for example, they just put some of the bottles in the diamond bins and some in individual bottle spaces.
In 2013, we tried to make the racking as universal as possible. The original capacity of the wine room was 1,100 bottles. It increased to 1,624 after the expansion of the space and adding more wine racks.
Elevation 1
The first area of the room consists of racking for individual storage at the top section, with a VC-style cover for concealing the evaporator. There are diamond bins in the middle that can store nine bottles in each opening.
We added many slots for large format bottles below the diamond bins because the owners stored bigger bottles in the first room, as big as 9 liters. What we did was to open up a couple of spaces to create a wider wine storage area.
The whole racking in this area has a solid end panel. We took out the vertical supports and put the beam supports across to bear the load.
We incorporated a coved tray feature to allow the owners to get a feel for the beautiful bottles in their collection. The large format bottles are stored in various heights, resulting in a cascading wine display. This style of racking allows for easy visibility of the wine labels. We installed LED lighting above this area to illuminate the space dramatically without emitting too much heat.
Elevation 2
The next racking is labeled Elevation 2, which is the left wall that you will pass by before you go into the other storage area. It consists of horizontal display racks that can store both standard and larger bottles. These display racks, which are 8 ¼” deep, were installed with lighting and mirror at the back.
The middle section has two glass shelves that provide an area for the client’s wine cellar accessories and mini car collection.
Elevation 3
On the 3rd Elevation, the top racking includes slots with twelve coved trays and six solid backs. We added new individual column wine racks, and custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports to the existing cabinetry. Now, the total capacity of the individual bottle racking is 384, and the custom cabinets can accommodate 34 bottles.
There is a double deep Sapele Mahogany tabletop where we installed very large steel supports under it. This will provide structural stability for bearing the weight of this big case storage area. The homeowner buys a lot of wine, so he wanted to have an area where he could stack all the boxes.
He didn’t want the boxes to occupy the area at the front. With this feature, he could just bring the wines directly to this storage area, without affecting the aesthetic appeal of the front entrance of his La Jolla custom wine cellar.
Elevations 4 and 5
The next wall is Elevation 4, which consists of wine racks for 98 magnum bottles. The top most section has a VC-style evaporator cover.
Elevation 5 (in front of elevation 3), had twelve coved trays, 16-bottle custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports, and one hundred eighty individual storage slots.
After adding new sections, we ended up having sixteen coved trays, 26-bottle custom cabinets, and 288 individual bottle racking.
Rolling Ladder for Easy Access of Wines
Another factor that we consider when designing a wine room is the convenience in accessing the bottles. Since the ceiling of this La Jolla custom wine cellar was tall (about 124” height), we added a hook rolling ladder.
A hook ladder has fixtures that allow it to slide along the rail and can be lifted off the rail if you want to transfer it to another section of the racking on a different wall.
Vintage Cellars has built gorgeous custom wine cellars and wine storage rooms across the United States and World for over 25 years. We are your go-to business for anything wine cellar and wine storage related! Whether you're interested in a wine closet, wine racking, custom wine racks, a custom wine cellar door, or a cooling system for your existing space, Vintage Cellars has you covered!
We carry all kinds of wine cellar cooling and refrigeration systems, incuding: Breezaire, CellarCool, WhisperKool, Wine Guardian, CellarPro and Commercial systems.
We also carry many types of Wine Refrigerators, Wine Cabinets, and wine racking types, including La Cache, Marvel, N'Finity, Transtherm, Vinotheque, Vintage Series, Credenza, Walk in wine rooms, Climadiff, Riedel, Fontenay, and VintageView.
Vintage Cellars also does work in many styles, including Contemporary and Modern, Rustic, Farmhouse, Traditional, Craftsman, Industrial, Mediterranean, Mid-Century, Industrial and Eclectic.
Some locations we cover often include: San Diego, Rancho Santa Fe, Corona Del Mar, Del Mar, La Jolla, Newport Beach, Newport Coast, Huntington Beach, Del Mar, Solana Beach, Carlsbad, Orange County, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Bel Air, Los Angeles, Encinitas, Cardiff, Coronado, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes, San Marino, Ladera Heights, Santa Monica, Brentwood, Westwood, Hancock Park, Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, Laguna Niguel, Torrey Pines, Thousand Oaks, Coto De Caza, Coronado Island, San Francisco, Danville, Walnut Creek, Marin, Tiburon, Hillsborough, Berkeley, Oakland, Napa, Sonoma, Agoura Hills, Hollywood Hills, Laurel Canyon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, San Rafael, Piedmont, Paso Robles, Carmel, Pebble Beach
Contact Vintage Cellars today with any of your Wine Cellar needs!
(800) 876-8789

The custom wine rack system of this San Diego wine cellar consists of various bottle orientations to create a visually appealing wine display.
We added a custom grill cover above the single storage racks to hide the evaporator.
An existing wine cellar in a La Jolla, San Diego home was expanded to accommodate the growing collection of the owner.
We worked on this project twice. The first installation was completed in 2008. After about 5 years, the client requested us to double the capacity of their wine room, but maintain the contemporary design.
We added new sections to the existing racking to provide additional space for more wines. Stunning Wine Cellar for a Contemporary Home
We completed a wine cellar installation project in La Jolla, an affluent city of San Diego, California, where we had to match the contemporary design of the home. The beautiful residential space was originally built with glass and wood.
All the woodworking was constructed from Sapele Mahogany, which is common in many parts of the house. The cabinetry and furniture had to be the same tone and material.
We have worked on this project twice. The first time was in 2008 and the second one was in 2013. We needed to expand and double the size of the custom wine cellar.
A very integral part of this homeowner’s life is their wine and the collecting of wine. Our main goal was to create a racking design that consists of various orientations to allow the owner to store different sizes of bottles.
Racking Features of the La Jolla Custom Wine Cellar
The original room was constructed when the home was built. The architect, designing team, and contractor gave us a palette to match the existing cabinetry.
The owners didn’t know what their needs were going to be. When they buy cases of wine, for example, they just put some of the bottles in the diamond bins and some in individual bottle spaces.
In 2013, we tried to make the racking as universal as possible. The original capacity of the wine room was 1,100 bottles. It increased to 1,624 after the expansion of the space and adding more wine racks.
Elevation 1
The first area of the room consists of racking for individual storage at the top section, with a VC-style cover for concealing the evaporator. There are diamond bins in the middle that can store nine bottles in each opening.
We added many slots for large format bottles below the diamond bins because the owners stored bigger bottles in the first room, as big as 9 liters. What we did was to open up a couple of spaces to create a wider wine storage area.
The whole racking in this area has a solid end panel. We took out the vertical supports and put the beam supports across to bear the load.
We incorporated a coved tray feature to allow the owners to get a feel for the beautiful bottles in their collection. The large format bottles are stored in various heights, resulting in a cascading wine display. This style of racking allows for easy visibility of the wine labels. We installed LED lighting above this area to illuminate the space dramatically without emitting too much heat.
Elevation 2
The next racking is labeled Elevation 2, which is the left wall that you will pass by before you go into the other storage area. It consists of horizontal display racks that can store both standard and larger bottles. These display racks, which are 8 ¼” deep, were installed with lighting and mirror at the back.
The middle section has two glass shelves that provide an area for the client’s wine cellar accessories and mini car collection.
Elevation 3
On the 3rd Elevation, the top racking includes slots with twelve coved trays and six solid backs. We added new individual column wine racks, and custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports to the existing cabinetry. Now, the total capacity of the individual bottle racking is 384, and the custom cabinets can accommodate 34 bottles.
There is a double deep Sapele Mahogany tabletop where we installed very large steel supports under it. This will provide structural stability for bearing the weight of this big case storage area. The homeowner buys a lot of wine, so he wanted to have an area where he could stack all the boxes.
He didn’t want the boxes to occupy the area at the front. With this feature, he could just bring the wines directly to this storage area, without affecting the aesthetic appeal of the front entrance of his La Jolla custom wine cellar.
Elevations 4 and 5
The next wall is Elevation 4, which consists of wine racks for 98 magnum bottles. The top most section has a VC-style evaporator cover.
Elevation 5 (in front of elevation 3), had twelve coved trays, 16-bottle custom cabinets with scalloped neck supports, and one hundred eighty individual storage slots.
After adding new sections, we ended up having sixteen coved trays, 26-bottle custom cabinets, and 288 individual bottle racking.
Rolling Ladder for Easy Access of Wines
Another factor that we consider when designing a wine room is the convenience in accessing the bottles. Since the ceiling of this La Jolla custom wine cellar was tall (about 124” height), we added a hook rolling ladder.
A hook ladder has fixtures that allow it to slide along the rail and can be lifted off the rail if you want to transfer it to another section of the racking on a different wall.
Take a video tour of this project: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVLCEgYlre8
Vintage Cellars has built gorgeous custom wine cellars and wine storage rooms across the United States and World for over 25 years. We are your go-to business for anything wine cellar and wine storage related! Whether you're interested in a wine closet, wine racking, custom wine racks, a custom wine cellar door, or a cooling system for your existing space, Vintage Cellars has you covered!
We carry all kinds of wine cellar cooling and refrigeration systems, incuding: Breezaire, CellarCool, WhisperKool, Wine Guardian, CellarPro and Commercial systems.
We also carry many types of Wine Refrigerators, Wine Cabinets, and wine racking types, including La Cache, Marvel, N'Finity, Transtherm, Vinotheque, Vintage Series, Credenza, Walk in wine rooms, Climadiff, Riedel, Fontenay, and VintageView.
Vintage Cellars also does work in many styles, including Contemporary and Modern, Rustic, Farmhouse, Traditional, Craftsman, Industrial, Mediterranean, Mid-Century, Industrial and Eclectic.
Some locations we cover often include: San Diego, Rancho Santa Fe, Corona Del Mar, Del Mar, La Jolla, Newport Beach, Newport Coast, Huntington Beach, Del Mar, Solana Beach, Carlsbad, Orange County, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Bel Air, Los Angeles, Encinitas, Cardiff, Coronado, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes, San Marino, Ladera Heights, Santa Monica, Brentwood, Westwood, Hancock Park, Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, Laguna Niguel, Torrey Pines, Thousand Oaks, Coto De Caza, Coronado Island, San Francisco, Danville, Walnut Creek, Marin, Tiburon, Hillsborough, Berkeley, Oakland, Napa, Sonoma, Agoura Hills, Hollywood Hills, Laurel Canyon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, San Rafael, Piedmont, Paso Robles, Carmel, Pebble Beach
Contact Vintage Cellars today with any of your Wine Cellar needs!
(800) 876-8789
20
