Search results for "Structured program" in Home Design Ideas

Located at a prominent corner on one of the few undeveloped residential sites left in Solana Beach, this project is important not only for the homeowner, but for the community as well. A rigorous site analysis laid the groundwork for a design response which took into account the homeowner’s program, input from the neighbors, and the scale of the project and the character of the neighborhood. The end result is a design that is well set into the existing grade, a move which preserves adjacent views and reduces the visual impact of the structure from the street; all while graciously meeting the desires of the owner.
The plan is broken into six unique floor plates. The bottom four of which tie together along the gradually sloping site. An intentionally long southern exposure implements the basics of passive solar design: large amounts of glass bring in abundant light and warmth in the winter, while deep overhangs protect from unwanted summer heat gain. Ocean views to the west are selectively framed throughout the house without compromising privacy from the busy street corner. Public functions within the house flow seamlessly between indoor and outdoor living spaces. JLC Architecture was responsible for a full architecture and interior package as well as exterior hardscape design.

Photo by Mike Force.
A first time residential developer approa-ched Kinney & Associates to help him design an addition and remodel to an existing 1100-square-foot residence in East Austin. The program was simple -- he wanted a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath house that could be sold easily or lived in should he decide to keep it for a while. Kinney & Associates endeavored to keep as much of the existing structure as feasible while delivering a very marketable product that would appeal to a wide range of potential buyers. The final product included a Game/Media Room adjacent a courtyard space that can be used for entertaining or for kids. The Master Bedroom atop the Game/Media lends itself to privacy and seclusion so that the owners can use it as a retreat. The final product is a 2400-square-foot residence that appears to be a small bungalow from the street, but lends itself to downtown views in the rear.

This client’s vision for their kitchen/hearth room remodel was to create a harmonious space for gathering and socializing with family and friends. Without the before and after photos, you would scarcely believe this was the same home.
This huge home renovation perfectly illustrates that Dimensions In Wood’s expert team can handle every aspect of your remodeling project. Plumbing, flooring, electrical wiring, custom cabinets, structural engineering, appliances, windows, interior and exterior doors, entertainment and more. Contact us today to discuss Translating Your Visions into Reality
The client was interested in new appliance technology, cabinetry to the ceiling, and an Island large enough to seat 3. They also wanted a built-in breakfast nook, improved pantry space, more functional storage on either side of their fireplace, and a built-in appearance for the TV above the mantel. The original built-in desk was not used, and they preferred for that space to serve as a small bar area with refrigeration and a place to store their printer. We designed several plans for the space before selecting the final layout.
The new design required the removal of the soffit over the old sink, as well as a small wall beside the old refrigerator. The wall beside the stairwell had to be shortened 13 inches and a new beam installed to carry the load of the home’s 2nd story to gain enough space for the large central island. The existing closet pantry walls were also reconfigured as per the new plan.
This serves as a great reminder that Dimensions In Wood is much more than just custom cabinets.
Central to the entire custom kitchen is an 8-foot Walnut island. The huge island, which comfortably seats three, is topped with Essenza Blue quartzite. The stone’s natural striations are beautiful. Quartzite is harder than granite, and less likely to stain than other stones because of its density. The couple had to look through multiple slabs to find a piece they LOVED. The island’s custom Walnut cabinetry, built to resemble a piece of custom furniture, was stained Bronzed Walnut by Sherwin Williams.
The 4-foot Galley Workstation in the island, handles all the kitchen’s prep, serving, and cleanup needs. The Galley’s culinary tools include an upper tier cutting board, upper tier drying rack, 2 lower tier platforms, 11″ colander with non-slip handles, and 11” mixing bowl with lid and non-slip bottom. Learn more about the amazing Galley Workstation here. A Waterstone gantry faucet in a pewter finish combines a pull-down sprayer for maximum mobility and a articulated swivel spout. A water tap with reverse osmosis filter provides the highest quality drinking water. To keep a clean and sleek counter we installed a raised air switch for the garbage disposal and integrated soap dispenser. The island also houses the Thermador Sapphire 7-Program Dishwasher with a hidden touch control panel and a custom Walnut wood front. The cabinetry under the Galley Workstation features a trash roll out, as well as storage for the culinary tools.
Shortening the stairwell wall, and reframing around the stairs, which included shortening the handrail, also made room for a bi-fold door walk-in pantry with extra roll out storage and space for a small microwave. Above the panty doors is a remote controlled, electric motor powered, lift up cabinet door which hides a flat screen TV, used while the family is cooking.
To the right of the walk-in pantry is cold food storage. The Thermador, 30-inch Freedom Collection refrigerator and 24-inch built-in freezer column with internal ice maker are covered with matching cabinetry fronts. An open display space was designed above the units, creating an aesthetically beautiful wall. To the right of the refrigerator & freezer columns is a tall cabinet designed for the built-in Thermador steam and convection oven. The convention steam oven is a relatively new technology for homes, but its versatility and food quality is amazing. To the right of this is a pull-out appliance pantry which provides easy access and storage for a stand mixer, blender, and any other appliance you do not want to clutter the counter.
The most visible wall of the kitchen features the 36-inch Thermador Professional Series Harmony Gas Range with Griddle. Between the range and custom designed wood hood, a framed mosaic tile accent in the backsplash, creates a focal point. To clear the air, the Professional Series Thermador 42-inch ventilation insert provides excellent exhaust capabilities, as well as providing multi-level, vivid LED lights for beautiful illumination.
The wall cabinetry symmetrically flanks the custom hood, utilizing deeper wall cabinetry on each end, allowing for storage of oversized dishware. The base cabinetry on this wall is made up of drawers, except for the corner, which is a Kesseböhmer LeMans II. This specially designed shelf system allows ease of access in underutilized blind corners. The dual action articulation system with soft close mechanism ensures a smooth open and close.
Rounding the corner to the outside wall, the base cabinetry was built to a narrower depth, providing additional space for the island, as well as easier access to the new larger pass-thru window which serves the screen porch. The client selected Black Vermont granite countertops with an ogee edge to contrast the Linen White painted cabinetry.
The door to the screen porch was replaced with a Marvin Exterior Door with a raised panel at the bottom of the 3⁄4 glass door.
Marvin Windows replaced the other windows in the space increasing the energy efficiency and value of the home. To establish the breakfast nook, a bench with drawers and an upholstered seat was built into the bay area of the room.
Custom bookshelves were built with open shelves, cabinet doors, and drawers on either side of the fireplace. A new stone hearth and fireplace surround were installed. Above the existing mantel we built a recessed space for the flat screen television hiding all wiring inside the walls for a completely clean look.
The space that was once a desk was transformed into a bar area. The glass shelves and glass cabinet front liquor cabinet stand out. But this bar area has hidden secrets. Tucked beneath the black granite is a Thermador under-counter double drawer refrigerator with matching wood front panels. They blend in perfectly with the cabinets. A wireless printer is easily accessed on a slide out drawer. Plus, what looks like merely wooden panels on the wall are concealing recessed storage for more bottles and glasses!
Overhead recessed lighting and speaker system provide illumination and entertainment through the entire space.
This luxury home had original, solid oak flooring through most of the first floor which the homeowner obviously wanted to keep but were in desperate need of repair and refinishing. Our master craftsmen wove in new wood flooring to match the old where needed, particularly where walls had been changed and where the floor was damaged. We sanded the floors, smoothing away years of wear and tear. The entire wood floor was then uniformly stained, making it impossible to differentiate where any repairs were made.
If this renovation has inspired you, then contact us today! There is no limit to our Dimensions.
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Featured on the Discovery Channel's Renovation Nation, this green solar home built on a narrow infill lot is passively heated, naturally cooled and solar powered. Unlike conventional homes built with wood or masonry, this home is built from the soil from the excavation on site. A machine uses very high pressure to compress the soil into a brick. The compressed earth bricks, wrapped with a continuous layer of foam insulation to retain heat, form a structurally sound massive exterior wall that is an integral part of the home’s passive heating and cooling system. In the winter, the sun coming through the south facing windows heats the house and warms the walls. At night, the massive walls radiate heat back into the home. Features of this house include 3000 gallons of rainwater collection, LED lighting, energy recovery ventilation, and non-toxic materials. The home is certified by EarthCraft Virginia green building program.

This client’s vision for their kitchen/hearth room remodel was to create a harmonious space for gathering and socializing with family and friends. Without the before and after photos, you would scarcely believe this was the same home.
This huge home renovation perfectly illustrates that Dimensions In Wood’s expert team can handle every aspect of your remodeling project. Plumbing, flooring, electrical wiring, custom cabinets, structural engineering, appliances, windows, interior and exterior doors, entertainment and more. Contact us today to discuss Translating Your Visions into Reality
The client was interested in new appliance technology, cabinetry to the ceiling, and an Island large enough to seat 3. They also wanted a built-in breakfast nook, improved pantry space, more functional storage on either side of their fireplace, and a built-in appearance for the TV above the mantel. The original built-in desk was not used, and they preferred for that space to serve as a small bar area with refrigeration and a place to store their printer. We designed several plans for the space before selecting the final layout.
The new design required the removal of the soffit over the old sink, as well as a small wall beside the old refrigerator. The wall beside the stairwell had to be shortened 13 inches and a new beam installed to carry the load of the home’s 2nd story to gain enough space for the large central island. The existing closet pantry walls were also reconfigured as per the new plan.
This serves as a great reminder that Dimensions In Wood is much more than just custom cabinets.
Central to the entire custom kitchen is an 8-foot Walnut island. The huge island, which comfortably seats three, is topped with Essenza Blue quartzite. The stone’s natural striations are beautiful. Quartzite is harder than granite, and less likely to stain than other stones because of its density. The couple had to look through multiple slabs to find a piece they LOVED. The island’s custom Walnut cabinetry, built to resemble a piece of custom furniture, was stained Bronzed Walnut by Sherwin Williams.
The 4-foot Galley Workstation in the island, handles all the kitchen’s prep, serving, and cleanup needs. The Galley’s culinary tools include an upper tier cutting board, upper tier drying rack, 2 lower tier platforms, 11″ colander with non-slip handles, and 11” mixing bowl with lid and non-slip bottom. Learn more about the amazing Galley Workstation here. A Waterstone gantry faucet in a pewter finish combines a pull-down sprayer for maximum mobility and a articulated swivel spout. A water tap with reverse osmosis filter provides the highest quality drinking water. To keep a clean and sleek counter we installed a raised air switch for the garbage disposal and integrated soap dispenser. The island also houses the Thermador Sapphire 7-Program Dishwasher with a hidden touch control panel and a custom Walnut wood front. The cabinetry under the Galley Workstation features a trash roll out, as well as storage for the culinary tools.
Shortening the stairwell wall, and reframing around the stairs, which included shortening the handrail, also made room for a bi-fold door walk-in pantry with extra roll out storage and space for a small microwave. Above the panty doors is a remote controlled, electric motor powered, lift up cabinet door which hides a flat screen TV, used while the family is cooking.
To the right of the walk-in pantry is cold food storage. The Thermador, 30-inch Freedom Collection refrigerator and 24-inch built-in freezer column with internal ice maker are covered with matching cabinetry fronts. An open display space was designed above the units, creating an aesthetically beautiful wall. To the right of the refrigerator & freezer columns is a tall cabinet designed for the built-in Thermador steam and convection oven. The convention steam oven is a relatively new technology for homes, but its versatility and food quality is amazing. To the right of this is a pull-out appliance pantry which provides easy access and storage for a stand mixer, blender, and any other appliance you do not want to clutter the counter.
The most visible wall of the kitchen features the 36-inch Thermador Professional Series Harmony Gas Range with Griddle. Between the range and custom designed wood hood, a framed mosaic tile accent in the backsplash, creates a focal point. To clear the air, the Professional Series Thermador 42-inch ventilation insert provides excellent exhaust capabilities, as well as providing multi-level, vivid LED lights for beautiful illumination.
The wall cabinetry symmetrically flanks the custom hood, utilizing deeper wall cabinetry on each end, allowing for storage of oversized dishware. The base cabinetry on this wall is made up of drawers, except for the corner, which is a Kesseböhmer LeMans II. This specially designed shelf system allows ease of access in underutilized blind corners. The dual action articulation system with soft close mechanism ensures a smooth open and close.
Rounding the corner to the outside wall, the base cabinetry was built to a narrower depth, providing additional space for the island, as well as easier access to the new larger pass-thru window which serves the screen porch. The client selected Black Vermont granite countertops with an ogee edge to contrast the Linen White painted cabinetry.
The door to the screen porch was replaced with a Marvin Exterior Door with a raised panel at the bottom of the 3⁄4 glass door.
Marvin Windows replaced the other windows in the space increasing the energy efficiency and value of the home. To establish the breakfast nook, a bench with drawers and an upholstered seat was built into the bay area of the room.
Custom bookshelves were built with open shelves, cabinet doors, and drawers on either side of the fireplace. A new stone hearth and fireplace surround were installed. Above the existing mantel we built a recessed space for the flat screen television hiding all wiring inside the walls for a completely clean look.
The space that was once a desk was transformed into a bar area. The glass shelves and glass cabinet front liquor cabinet stand out. But this bar area has hidden secrets. Tucked beneath the black granite is a Thermador under-counter double drawer refrigerator with matching wood front panels. They blend in perfectly with the cabinets. A wireless printer is easily accessed on a slide out drawer. Plus, what looks like merely wooden panels on the wall are concealing recessed storage for more bottles and glasses!
Overhead recessed lighting and speaker system provide illumination and entertainment through the entire space.
This luxury home had original, solid oak flooring through most of the first floor which the homeowner obviously wanted to keep but were in desperate need of repair and refinishing. Our master craftsmen wove in new wood flooring to match the old where needed, particularly where walls had been changed and where the floor was damaged. We sanded the floors, smoothing away years of wear and tear. The entire wood floor was then uniformly stained, making it impossible to differentiate where any repairs were made.
If this renovation has inspired you, then contact us today! There is no limit to our Dimensions.

ENRarchitects designed and rebuilt this 975sf, single story Residence, adjacent to Stanford University, as project architect and contractor in collaboration with Topos Architects, Inc. The owner, who hopes to ultimately retire in this home, had built the original home with his father.
Services by ENRarchitects included complete architectural, structural, energy compliance, mechanical, electrical and landscape designs, cost analysis, sub contractor management, material & equipment selection & acquisition and, construction monitoring.
Green/sustainable features: existing site & structure; dense residential neighborhood; close proximity to public transit; reuse existing slab & framing; salvaged framing members; fly ash concrete; engineered wood; recycled content insulation & gypsum board; tankless water heating; hydronic floor heating; low-flow plumbing fixtures; energy efficient lighting fixtures & appliances; abundant clerestory natural lighting & ventilation; bamboo flooring & cabinets; recycled content countertops, window sills, tile & carpet; programmable controls; and porus paving surfaces.
https://www.enrdesign.com/ENR-residential-FacultyHouse.html
http://www.toposarchitects.com/

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Structural Remodeling
Franklin County's Heavy Timber Specialists | Best of Houzz 2020!

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city along the beautiful St. Croix waterway, the site of this river residence is unparalleled. One challenge the design team faced were the restrictions put in place by the DNR's Wild and Scenic Rivers program, which monitored the height, materials, and setbacks of buildings along the river in order to maintain natural landscapes usable for all. Using these guidelines and regulations, Shelter sought to clad the building with natural-looking materials whenever possible. The finished home preserved the original stone basement and deck structure and on the upper floors neutral, reserved colors were chosen for the cladding.

Once the summer home of Chicago based Arts & Crafts architect, Howard Van Doren Shaw (1869-1926), Ragdale now offers 2 - 8 week residency programs for over 200 artists a year. The Barnhouse is composed of an 1830s farmhouse, and Shaw's 1897 barn and wagon shed. In the 1930s, Shaw's youngest daughter and her architect husband joined the buildings and turned the assemblage into a single structure for their family home. Currently, the Barnhouse contains the Ragdale Foundation's offices, living room, dining room, large kitchen, artists' sleeping quarters, studios and a conference room.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

From Fuller / Overby:
“The site for the Nebo House is a long, narrow plot in the Appalachian foothills that slopes downward to Lake James. The main floor is embedded into the hillside, like a hunter’s blind, with a central courtyard splitting the primary program into two wings.
To the east of the courtyard are social areas and to the west is a private sleeping and bathing suite—day and night. A hall which acts as a mechanical and structural spine along the rear retaining wall connects the private and public spaces. The larger, public zones of the interior radiate outward from the courtyard and gradually break up into more intimate niches around the periphery that provide semi-private moments within the open living areas.
Views are focused outward to the lake, while southern light filters in from clerestory windows above. A sculpted cantilever staircase slices upward to the entry and guest rooms, forming a continuous three dimensional void capped by a skylight at its peak. Above grade, the house appears as a cluster of small pavilions along the hillside, framing the lake and mountains beyond.”

Project Overview:
This intensively-designed small project by MQ Architecture expanded on a functional outbuilding to make something beautiful, matching the fantastic wooded location directly across the Hudson River from West Point.
From MQ Architecture:
“This project entitled a surgical demolition of an existing shed and the erection of a small ancillary building. The old structure housed the electrical and communications utilities of a large compound, and the new project had to preserve the location and function of all this equipment, therefore some walls and floor levels are set from the beginning.
The program required two different type of users, therefore we decided to split the building in two, allowing for a separate circulation for each group. The upper piece houses the electrical room and the team quarters, while the lower portion holds two individual restrooms for visitors.
The project sits in the middle of the forest therefore we chose charred wood to make it blend with the surrounding nature. On the other hand, the polycarbonate façade brings natural light and privacy to the interior. All floors are made of polished concrete for easy maintenance and a radiant slab keeps an optimal temperature during extreme winters.”
Product: Gendai 1×6 select grade shiplap
Prefinish: Black
Application: Residential – Exterior
SF: 1100SF
Designer: Miguel Quismondo (MQ Architecture)
Builder: Miguel Quismondo
Date: August 2018
Location: Garrison, NY

ENRarchitects designed and rebuilt this 975sf, single story Residence, adjacent to Stanford University, as project architect and contractor in collaboration with Topos Architects, Inc. The owner, who hopes to ultimately retire in this home, had built the original home with his father.
Services by ENRarchitects included complete architectural, structural, energy compliance, mechanical, electrical and landscape designs, cost analysis, sub contractor management, material & equipment selection & acquisition and, construction monitoring.
Green/sustainable features: existing site & structure; dense residential neighborhood; close proximity to public transit; reuse existing slab & framing; salvaged framing members; fly ash concrete; engineered wood; recycled content insulation & gypsum board; tankless water heating; hydronic floor heating; low-flow plumbing fixtures; energy efficient lighting fixtures & appliances; abundant clerestory natural lighting & ventilation; bamboo flooring & cabinets; recycled content countertops, window sills, tile & carpet; programmable controls; and porus paving surfaces.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Free consultation for landscape design!
Peabody Landscape Group
Columbus' Reliable Landscape Design & Contracting

This project was a complete tear down and rebuild on a very small, waterfront lot. Zoning, civil engineering of the septic system, and structural engineering for flooding and hurricane resistance were all driving factors, but the final design was nothing short of simple eloquence.
The program was for a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, 3 season house that made the most of the Long Island Sound waterfront exposure. The footprint is basically 24 ft x 24 ft, the same as a two car garage. Despite being a cube more or less, all the rooms that matter front on the water side. The stairs, baths and circulation back up to the street side. Total gross living space is just under 1,200 sq. ft.
Photo: Robert Coolidge

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

This Tapia Construction & Restoration Project presents all the hallmarks of an estate with its grand main home, guest house, pool, and formal grounds of over one acre. Just completed by Tapia Construction, the home is reminiscent of a sophisticated East Coast manor with its cedar shingled exterior and ebony shutters. Inside, a classic neutral color palette and traditional design elements are replicated in every room -- beautifully detailed ceilings, crisp white custom millwork, and lavish use of honed Calacatta Oro marble.
The three-level main residence is magnificently appointed with everything needed for luxurious comfortable living, including a theatre, fitness center, steam shower, and wine cellar. There are 5 spacious bedrooms, each with en-suite bath, plus a wonderful 1-bedroom guest house also perfect for extended family, an au pair, or entertaining. A pool, fire pit, and vast terrace highlight the rear grounds for outdoor enjoyment, all surrounded by beautifully manicured lawn, a parterre rose garden, and the privacy afforded by a gated entrance. Topping it all off is the home's close proximity to fine dining and shopping, Stanford University, and all of Silicon Valley.
Located in the heart of the Peninsula, Tapia Construction and Restoration provide all aspects of construction services throughout the Bay Area. TCR was founded in December 2008 with the intent to start a privately owned company, without the corporate agenda, that provide its customers the highest level of service and product with the personal touch of a family based business. Owner David Tapia began his career in the mid 1970's under the guidance of some of San Francisco's leading construction industry professionals. It was their passion, guidance, and instruction that helped David identify his calling. In the 80's David spent the majority of his time with Lombardi Construction where he developed relationships with clients, subcontractors, and vendors, as well as providing him with the knowledge proven valuable over the course of his career. David has pursued certifications in plumbing, electrical, structural, carpentry/frame/fit/finish programs and is a certified safety professional. Confidence in this extensive experience and expertise coupled with his growing family, made the move to independent contractor a natural one. With years of experience and impeccable attention to detail TCR provides clients with an investment to projects and exceptional customer service. We would like to welcome you to the TCR family and invite you to share our vision of "Building the future- Restoring the past."

Elite Landscaping removed an old vinyl liner pool from this home in a premier Omaha neighborhood. The goal was to install a new, concrete infinity-edge pool and spa with accessible pool deck. And we accomplished so much more!
During the backyard remodel, the yard was elevated by 7.5 feet to improve access from the house to the pool deck with just three steps and a wheelchair-accessible ramp. More than 3,000 sq. feet of natural Travertine were installed for the pool deck, with stone veneer accents around the seating areas and firepit. An outdoor kitchen was installed, featuring polished granite countertops, a Fire Magic grill, Black Diamond appliances, and ample storage drawers.
The pool structure boasts a 16-foot wide infinity edge, which is adorned with Black Galaxy iridescent glass tile. The pool wall is topped with fire/water bowls that cascade into the pool. A raised, double spa with 11-foot black granite ‘sheerfall’ edge also cascades into the pool.
The custom concrete pool and raised spa each have their own variable speed pumps and heating systems for separate water flow and temperature control. Both can be fully automated through a smartphone or other smart device with the Pentair IntelliTouch system. An app allows homeowners to program LED lights, adjust temperature and water flow speeds, and test pool chemistry.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

This client’s vision for their kitchen/hearth room remodel was to create a harmonious space for gathering and socializing with family and friends. Without the before and after photos, you would scarcely believe this was the same home.
This huge home renovation perfectly illustrates that Dimensions In Wood’s expert team can handle every aspect of your remodeling project. Plumbing, flooring, electrical wiring, custom cabinets, structural engineering, appliances, windows, interior and exterior doors, entertainment and more. Contact us today to discuss Translating Your Visions into Reality
The client was interested in new appliance technology, cabinetry to the ceiling, and an Island large enough to seat 3. They also wanted a built-in breakfast nook, improved pantry space, more functional storage on either side of their fireplace, and a built-in appearance for the TV above the mantel. The original built-in desk was not used, and they preferred for that space to serve as a small bar area with refrigeration and a place to store their printer. We designed several plans for the space before selecting the final layout.
The new design required the removal of the soffit over the old sink, as well as a small wall beside the old refrigerator. The wall beside the stairwell had to be shortened 13 inches and a new beam installed to carry the load of the home’s 2nd story to gain enough space for the large central island. The existing closet pantry walls were also reconfigured as per the new plan.
This serves as a great reminder that Dimensions In Wood is much more than just custom cabinets.
Central to the entire custom kitchen is an 8-foot Walnut island. The huge island, which comfortably seats three, is topped with Essenza Blue quartzite. The stone’s natural striations are beautiful. Quartzite is harder than granite, and less likely to stain than other stones because of its density. The couple had to look through multiple slabs to find a piece they LOVED. The island’s custom Walnut cabinetry, built to resemble a piece of custom furniture, was stained Bronzed Walnut by Sherwin Williams.
The 4-foot Galley Workstation in the island, handles all the kitchen’s prep, serving, and cleanup needs. The Galley’s culinary tools include an upper tier cutting board, upper tier drying rack, 2 lower tier platforms, 11″ colander with non-slip handles, and 11” mixing bowl with lid and non-slip bottom. Learn more about the amazing Galley Workstation here. A Waterstone gantry faucet in a pewter finish combines a pull-down sprayer for maximum mobility and a articulated swivel spout. A water tap with reverse osmosis filter provides the highest quality drinking water. To keep a clean and sleek counter we installed a raised air switch for the garbage disposal and integrated soap dispenser. The island also houses the Thermador Sapphire 7-Program Dishwasher with a hidden touch control panel and a custom Walnut wood front. The cabinetry under the Galley Workstation features a trash roll out, as well as storage for the culinary tools.
Shortening the stairwell wall, and reframing around the stairs, which included shortening the handrail, also made room for a bi-fold door walk-in pantry with extra roll out storage and space for a small microwave. Above the panty doors is a remote controlled, electric motor powered, lift up cabinet door which hides a flat screen TV, used while the family is cooking.
To the right of the walk-in pantry is cold food storage. The Thermador, 30-inch Freedom Collection refrigerator and 24-inch built-in freezer column with internal ice maker are covered with matching cabinetry fronts. An open display space was designed above the units, creating an aesthetically beautiful wall. To the right of the refrigerator & freezer columns is a tall cabinet designed for the built-in Thermador steam and convection oven. The convention steam oven is a relatively new technology for homes, but its versatility and food quality is amazing. To the right of this is a pull-out appliance pantry which provides easy access and storage for a stand mixer, blender, and any other appliance you do not want to clutter the counter.
The most visible wall of the kitchen features the 36-inch Thermador Professional Series Harmony Gas Range with Griddle. Between the range and custom designed wood hood, a framed mosaic tile accent in the backsplash, creates a focal point. To clear the air, the Professional Series Thermador 42-inch ventilation insert provides excellent exhaust capabilities, as well as providing multi-level, vivid LED lights for beautiful illumination.
The wall cabinetry symmetrically flanks the custom hood, utilizing deeper wall cabinetry on each end, allowing for storage of oversized dishware. The base cabinetry on this wall is made up of drawers, except for the corner, which is a Kesseböhmer LeMans II. This specially designed shelf system allows ease of access in underutilized blind corners. The dual action articulation system with soft close mechanism ensures a smooth open and close.
Rounding the corner to the outside wall, the base cabinetry was built to a narrower depth, providing additional space for the island, as well as easier access to the new larger pass-thru window which serves the screen porch. The client selected Black Vermont granite countertops with an ogee edge to contrast the Linen White painted cabinetry.
The door to the screen porch was replaced with a Marvin Exterior Door with a raised panel at the bottom of the 3⁄4 glass door.
Marvin Windows replaced the other windows in the space increasing the energy efficiency and value of the home. To establish the breakfast nook, a bench with drawers and an upholstered seat was built into the bay area of the room.
Custom bookshelves were built with open shelves, cabinet doors, and drawers on either side of the fireplace. A new stone hearth and fireplace surround were installed. Above the existing mantel we built a recessed space for the flat screen television hiding all wiring inside the walls for a completely clean look.
The space that was once a desk was transformed into a bar area. The glass shelves and glass cabinet front liquor cabinet stand out. But this bar area has hidden secrets. Tucked beneath the black granite is a Thermador under-counter double drawer refrigerator with matching wood front panels. They blend in perfectly with the cabinets. A wireless printer is easily accessed on a slide out drawer. Plus, what looks like merely wooden panels on the wall are concealing recessed storage for more bottles and glasses!
Overhead recessed lighting and speaker system provide illumination and entertainment through the entire space.
This luxury home had original, solid oak flooring through most of the first floor which the homeowner obviously wanted to keep but were in desperate need of repair and refinishing. Our master craftsmen wove in new wood flooring to match the old where needed, particularly where walls had been changed and where the floor was damaged. We sanded the floors, smoothing away years of wear and tear. The entire wood floor was then uniformly stained, making it impossible to differentiate where any repairs were made.
If this renovation has inspired you, then contact us today! There is no limit to our Dimensions.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

This is the first home of a young professional couple. Their main goal was to remodel their kitchen to create a more open feel. At the time the kitchen included a built in bench and table that was dated and nonfunctional. We worked together to create a new layout on our design software program. It was very helpful for our clients to see their new kitchen in 3-D drawings. We removed a bearing wall between the dining room and kitchen and opened it up for a breakfast bar contained in the peninsula. During demolition we found that there was no foundation under the floor joists in the concealed crawl space below the kitchen and no footings under the bearing wall. After addressing these discovered structural compromises we completed the project with no more surprises for this happy couple.
Photographer: Ilona Kalimov
31