Search results for "Structured program" in Home Design Ideas

The site for this waterfront residence is located on the
Great Neck Peninsula, facing west to views of NYC and
the borough bridges. When purchased, there existed a
50-year-old house and pool structurally condemned
which required immediate removal. Once the site was
cleared, a year was devoted to stabilizing the seawall
and hill to accommodate the newly proposed home.
The lot size, shape and relationship to an easement
access road, overlaid with strict zoning regulations was
a key factor in the organization of the client’s program
elements. The arc contour of the easement road and
required setback informed the front facade shape,
which was designed as a privacy screen, as adjacent
homes are in close proximity. Due to strict height
requirements the house from the street appears to be
one story and then steps down the hill allowing for
three fully occupiable floors. The local jurisdiction also
granted special approval accepting the design of the
garage, within the front set back, as its roof is level with
the roadbed and fully landscaped. A path accesses a
hidden door to the bedroom level of the house. The
garage is accessed through a semicircular driveway
that leads to a depressed entry courtyard, offering
privacy to the main entrance.
The configuration of the home is a U-shape surrounding a
rear courtyard. This shape, along with suspended pods
assures water views to all occupants while not
compromising privacy from the adjacent homes.
The house is constructed on a steel frame, clad with fiber
cement, resin panels and an aluminum curtain wall
system. All roofs are accessible as either decks or
landscaped garden areas.
The lower level accesses decks, an outdoor kitchen, and
pool area which are perched on the edge of the upper
retaining wall.

This Tapia Construction & Restoration Project presents all the hallmarks of an estate with its grand main home, guest house, pool, and formal grounds of over one acre. Just completed by Tapia Construction, the home is reminiscent of a sophisticated East Coast manor with its cedar shingled exterior and ebony shutters. Inside, a classic neutral color palette and traditional design elements are replicated in every room -- beautifully detailed ceilings, crisp white custom millwork, and lavish use of honed Calacatta Oro marble.
The three-level main residence is magnificently appointed with everything needed for luxurious comfortable living, including a theatre, fitness center, steam shower, and wine cellar. There are 5 spacious bedrooms, each with en-suite bath, plus a wonderful 1-bedroom guest house also perfect for extended family, an au pair, or entertaining. A pool, fire pit, and vast terrace highlight the rear grounds for outdoor enjoyment, all surrounded by beautifully manicured lawn, a parterre rose garden, and the privacy afforded by a gated entrance. Topping it all off is the home's close proximity to fine dining and shopping, Stanford University, and all of Silicon Valley.
Located in the heart of the Peninsula, Tapia Construction and Restoration provide all aspects of construction services throughout the Bay Area. TCR was founded in December 2008 with the intent to start a privately owned company, without the corporate agenda, that provide its customers the highest level of service and product with the personal touch of a family based business. Owner David Tapia began his career in the mid 1970's under the guidance of some of San Francisco's leading construction industry professionals. It was their passion, guidance, and instruction that helped David identify his calling. In the 80's David spent the majority of his time with Lombardi Construction where he developed relationships with clients, subcontractors, and vendors, as well as providing him with the knowledge proven valuable over the course of his career. David has pursued certifications in plumbing, electrical, structural, carpentry/frame/fit/finish programs and is a certified safety professional. Confidence in this extensive experience and expertise coupled with his growing family, made the move to independent contractor a natural one. With years of experience and impeccable attention to detail TCR provides clients with an investment to projects and exceptional customer service. We would like to welcome you to the TCR family and invite you to share our vision of "Building the future- Restoring the past."

Electing to make their modest Beaver County country home their permanent address, The Owners of this property asked Dunn and Associates to develop a design that satisfies their Program requirements, yet preserves the charm and character of the original structure. Beginning with a new welcoming gate, the project achieved its goals
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Archia Homes wins national Design award!
Continuing to set new standards of professionalism, 79 companies across the United States were named winners in the 2020 Chrysalis Awards for Remodeling Excellence. The entries were judged on overall design, the creative use of space and materials, and the degree to which the project enhanced the original structure.
This winning entry is the conversion of the third story attic in a Milton, Ma Victorian to a beautiful master suite, complete with en suite bath, sitting nook, custom built-ins, a stylish walk-in closet and a large Juliet porch with a view to Boston.
“This company has won six Chrysalis awards in the past decade, demonstrating their ongoing commitment to professionalism and excellence,” says Ken Kanline, Director of Awards.
The Chrysalis Awards Program, begun in 1994, recognizes the nation’s best work in 14 general categories of residential and commercial remodeling. The Chrysalis Awards are open to every design professional and professional remodeler in the United States.
Archia Homes wishes to recognize its design team #PeterStames and #HeidiPetrowicz; fine carpentry team, Nick Cody and Eli Meharg; our partners at #DesignWoodFloors, #SnowandJones, #ConciergeBuildingCompany, #ComfortTechnology, #RadiusElectric, #MacleodandMoynihan, #RusticRenovations, #GeorgeJGray and of course, our stellar clients, the Byrnes for collaborating with us on this spectacular project.

Archia Homes wins national Design award!
Continuing to set new standards of professionalism, 79 companies across the United States were named winners in the 2020 Chrysalis Awards for Remodeling Excellence. The entries were judged on overall design, the creative use of space and materials, and the degree to which the project enhanced the original structure.
This winning entry is the conversion of the third story attic in a Milton, Ma Victorian to a beautiful master suite, complete with en suite bath, sitting nook, custom built-ins, a stylish walk-in closet and a large Juliet porch with a view to Boston.
“This company has won six Chrysalis awards in the past decade, demonstrating their ongoing commitment to professionalism and excellence,” says Ken Kanline, Director of Awards.
The Chrysalis Awards Program, begun in 1994, recognizes the nation’s best work in 14 general categories of residential and commercial remodeling. The Chrysalis Awards are open to every design professional and professional remodeler in the United States.
Archia Homes wishes to recognize its design team #PeterStames and #HeidiPetrowicz; fine carpentry team, Nick Cody and Eli Meharg; our partners at #DesignWoodFloors, #SnowandJones, #ConciergeBuildingCompany, #ComfortTechnology, #RadiusElectric, #MacleodandMoynihan, #RusticRenovations, #GeorgeJGray and of course, our stellar clients, the Byrnes for collaborating with us on this spectacular project.

Photo by Mike Force.
A first time residential developer approa-ched Kinney & Associates to help him design an addition and remodel to an existing 1100-square-foot residence in East Austin. The program was simple -- he wanted a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath house that could be sold easily or lived in should he decide to keep it for a while. Kinney & Associates endeavored to keep as much of the existing structure as feasible while delivering a very marketable product that would appeal to a wide range of potential buyers. The final product included a Game/Media Room adjacent a courtyard space that can be used for entertaining or for kids. The Master Bedroom atop the Game/Media lends itself to privacy and seclusion so that the owners can use it as a retreat. The final product is a 2400-square-foot residence that appears to be a small bungalow from the street, but lends itself to downtown views in the rear.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Free consultation for landscape design!
Peabody Landscape Group
Columbus' Reliable Landscape Design & Contracting

This Tapia Construction & Restoration Project presents all the hallmarks of an estate with its grand main home, guest house, pool, and formal grounds of over one acre. Just completed by Tapia Construction, the home is reminiscent of a sophisticated East Coast manor with its cedar shingled exterior and ebony shutters. Inside, a classic neutral color palette and traditional design elements are replicated in every room -- beautifully detailed ceilings, crisp white custom millwork, and lavish use of honed Calacatta Oro marble.
The three-level main residence is magnificently appointed with everything needed for luxurious comfortable living, including a theatre, fitness center, steam shower, and wine cellar. There are 5 spacious bedrooms, each with en-suite bath, plus a wonderful 1-bedroom guest house also perfect for extended family, an au pair, or entertaining. A pool, fire pit, and vast terrace highlight the rear grounds for outdoor enjoyment, all surrounded by beautifully manicured lawn, a parterre rose garden, and the privacy afforded by a gated entrance. Topping it all off is the home's close proximity to fine dining and shopping, Stanford University, and all of Silicon Valley.
Located in the heart of the Peninsula, Tapia Construction and Restoration provide all aspects of construction services throughout the Bay Area. TCR was founded in December 2008 with the intent to start a privately owned company, without the corporate agenda, that provide its customers the highest level of service and product with the personal touch of a family based business. Owner David Tapia began his career in the mid 1970's under the guidance of some of San Francisco's leading construction industry professionals. It was their passion, guidance, and instruction that helped David identify his calling. In the 80's David spent the majority of his time with Lombardi Construction where he developed relationships with clients, subcontractors, and vendors, as well as providing him with the knowledge proven valuable over the course of his career. David has pursued certifications in plumbing, electrical, structural, carpentry/frame/fit/finish programs and is a certified safety professional. Confidence in this extensive experience and expertise coupled with his growing family, made the move to independent contractor a natural one. With years of experience and impeccable attention to detail TCR provides clients with an investment to projects and exceptional customer service. We would like to welcome you to the TCR family and invite you to share our vision of "Building the future- Restoring the past."

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

The site for this waterfront residence is located on the
Great Neck Peninsula, facing west to views of NYC and
the borough bridges. When purchased, there existed a
50-year-old house and pool structurally condemned
which required immediate removal. Once the site was
cleared, a year was devoted to stabilizing the seawall
and hill to accommodate the newly proposed home.
The lot size, shape and relationship to an easement
access road, overlaid with strict zoning regulations was
a key factor in the organization of the client’s program
elements. The arc contour of the easement road and
required setback informed the front facade shape,
which was designed as a privacy screen, as adjacent
homes are in close proximity. Due to strict height
requirements the house from the street appears to be
one story and then steps down the hill allowing for
three fully occupiable floors. The local jurisdiction also
granted special approval accepting the design of the
garage, within the front set back, as its roof is level with
the roadbed and fully landscaped. A path accesses a
hidden door to the bedroom level of the house. The
garage is accessed through a semicircular driveway
that leads to a depressed entry courtyard, offering
privacy to the main entrance.
The configuration of the home is a U-shape surrounding a
rear courtyard. This shape, along with suspended pods
assures water views to all occupants while not
compromising privacy from the adjacent homes.
The house is constructed on a steel frame, clad with fiber
cement, resin panels and an aluminum curtain wall
system. All roofs are accessible as either decks or
landscaped garden areas.
The lower level accesses decks, an outdoor kitchen, and
pool area which are perched on the edge of the upper
retaining wall.

Located in the Houston Heights, the Waverly Residence is a modern home on an established street of two story homes boasting front porch typologies. The family’s desire for privacy resulted in a porch that rotates to internalize most of its function while still addressing the street. For this active family, yard activity and it’s visibility from within the home emerged as a priority for approaching the building’s relationship to the lot. Justifying the building mass to the Northern half of the site reinforces the scale of the design to the surrounding buildings and creates a large southern yard dedicated to play and brisket (is a Texas house a house without a barbeque?).
The ground floor is clad in metal panel and a wood rainscreen that peels away from the structure to become both a fence and an entry threshold, blending the registration between the yard's privacy enclosure and the building skin. Variable width fiber-cement siding clads the second floor as a nod to the neighborhood vernacular. The pool and outdoor kitchen sit at the center of the yard, forming an island that divides the open play from private vehicular access at the alley.
Shifted volumes delineate private space from the open public areas. The second floor extends over the public entryway to create a covered procession with cascading steps into the southern yard that traverses the length of the living spaces. The public program expands beyond the building enclosure to encompass the yard and living spaces. A horizontal shift in the ground floor volume produces both a private courtyard away from the lively public spaces and exterior delineation between private vehicular access and public entry.
Within the open, ground floor plan, a change in elevation indicates the boundary between private and public space. Custom millwork provides ample storage for the young family. Playful patterns of enclosed storage with contrasting display boxes creates a cohesive millwork language throughout the home.

This client’s vision for their kitchen/hearth room remodel was to create a harmonious space for gathering and socializing with family and friends. Without the before and after photos, you would scarcely believe this was the same home.
This huge home renovation perfectly illustrates that Dimensions In Wood’s expert team can handle every aspect of your remodeling project. Plumbing, flooring, electrical wiring, custom cabinets, structural engineering, appliances, windows, interior and exterior doors, entertainment and more. Contact us today to discuss Translating Your Visions into Reality
The client was interested in new appliance technology, cabinetry to the ceiling, and an Island large enough to seat 3. They also wanted a built-in breakfast nook, improved pantry space, more functional storage on either side of their fireplace, and a built-in appearance for the TV above the mantel. The original built-in desk was not used, and they preferred for that space to serve as a small bar area with refrigeration and a place to store their printer. We designed several plans for the space before selecting the final layout.
The new design required the removal of the soffit over the old sink, as well as a small wall beside the old refrigerator. The wall beside the stairwell had to be shortened 13 inches and a new beam installed to carry the load of the home’s 2nd story to gain enough space for the large central island. The existing closet pantry walls were also reconfigured as per the new plan.
This serves as a great reminder that Dimensions In Wood is much more than just custom cabinets.
Central to the entire custom kitchen is an 8-foot Walnut island. The huge island, which comfortably seats three, is topped with Essenza Blue quartzite. The stone’s natural striations are beautiful. Quartzite is harder than granite, and less likely to stain than other stones because of its density. The couple had to look through multiple slabs to find a piece they LOVED. The island’s custom Walnut cabinetry, built to resemble a piece of custom furniture, was stained Bronzed Walnut by Sherwin Williams.
The 4-foot Galley Workstation in the island, handles all the kitchen’s prep, serving, and cleanup needs. The Galley’s culinary tools include an upper tier cutting board, upper tier drying rack, 2 lower tier platforms, 11″ colander with non-slip handles, and 11” mixing bowl with lid and non-slip bottom. Learn more about the amazing Galley Workstation here. A Waterstone gantry faucet in a pewter finish combines a pull-down sprayer for maximum mobility and a articulated swivel spout. A water tap with reverse osmosis filter provides the highest quality drinking water. To keep a clean and sleek counter we installed a raised air switch for the garbage disposal and integrated soap dispenser. The island also houses the Thermador Sapphire 7-Program Dishwasher with a hidden touch control panel and a custom Walnut wood front. The cabinetry under the Galley Workstation features a trash roll out, as well as storage for the culinary tools.
Shortening the stairwell wall, and reframing around the stairs, which included shortening the handrail, also made room for a bi-fold door walk-in pantry with extra roll out storage and space for a small microwave. Above the panty doors is a remote controlled, electric motor powered, lift up cabinet door which hides a flat screen TV, used while the family is cooking.
To the right of the walk-in pantry is cold food storage. The Thermador, 30-inch Freedom Collection refrigerator and 24-inch built-in freezer column with internal ice maker are covered with matching cabinetry fronts. An open display space was designed above the units, creating an aesthetically beautiful wall. To the right of the refrigerator & freezer columns is a tall cabinet designed for the built-in Thermador steam and convection oven. The convention steam oven is a relatively new technology for homes, but its versatility and food quality is amazing. To the right of this is a pull-out appliance pantry which provides easy access and storage for a stand mixer, blender, and any other appliance you do not want to clutter the counter.
The most visible wall of the kitchen features the 36-inch Thermador Professional Series Harmony Gas Range with Griddle. Between the range and custom designed wood hood, a framed mosaic tile accent in the backsplash, creates a focal point. To clear the air, the Professional Series Thermador 42-inch ventilation insert provides excellent exhaust capabilities, as well as providing multi-level, vivid LED lights for beautiful illumination.
The wall cabinetry symmetrically flanks the custom hood, utilizing deeper wall cabinetry on each end, allowing for storage of oversized dishware. The base cabinetry on this wall is made up of drawers, except for the corner, which is a Kesseböhmer LeMans II. This specially designed shelf system allows ease of access in underutilized blind corners. The dual action articulation system with soft close mechanism ensures a smooth open and close.
Rounding the corner to the outside wall, the base cabinetry was built to a narrower depth, providing additional space for the island, as well as easier access to the new larger pass-thru window which serves the screen porch. The client selected Black Vermont granite countertops with an ogee edge to contrast the Linen White painted cabinetry.
The door to the screen porch was replaced with a Marvin Exterior Door with a raised panel at the bottom of the 3⁄4 glass door.
Marvin Windows replaced the other windows in the space increasing the energy efficiency and value of the home. To establish the breakfast nook, a bench with drawers and an upholstered seat was built into the bay area of the room.
Custom bookshelves were built with open shelves, cabinet doors, and drawers on either side of the fireplace. A new stone hearth and fireplace surround were installed. Above the existing mantel we built a recessed space for the flat screen television hiding all wiring inside the walls for a completely clean look.
The space that was once a desk was transformed into a bar area. The glass shelves and glass cabinet front liquor cabinet stand out. But this bar area has hidden secrets. Tucked beneath the black granite is a Thermador under-counter double drawer refrigerator with matching wood front panels. They blend in perfectly with the cabinets. A wireless printer is easily accessed on a slide out drawer. Plus, what looks like merely wooden panels on the wall are concealing recessed storage for more bottles and glasses!
Overhead recessed lighting and speaker system provide illumination and entertainment through the entire space.
This luxury home had original, solid oak flooring through most of the first floor which the homeowner obviously wanted to keep but were in desperate need of repair and refinishing. Our master craftsmen wove in new wood flooring to match the old where needed, particularly where walls had been changed and where the floor was damaged. We sanded the floors, smoothing away years of wear and tear. The entire wood floor was then uniformly stained, making it impossible to differentiate where any repairs were made.
If this renovation has inspired you, then contact us today! There is no limit to our Dimensions.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Featured on the Discovery Channel's Renovation Nation, this green solar home built on a narrow infill lot is passively heated, naturally cooled and solar powered. Unlike conventional homes built with wood or masonry, this home is built from the soil from the excavation on site. A machine uses very high pressure to compress the soil into a brick. The compressed earth bricks, wrapped with a continuous layer of foam insulation to retain heat, form a structurally sound massive exterior wall that is an integral part of the home’s passive heating and cooling system. In the winter, the sun coming through the south facing windows heats the house and warms the walls. At night, the massive walls radiate heat back into the home. Features of this house include 3000 gallons of rainwater collection, LED lighting, energy recovery ventilation, and non-toxic materials. The home is certified by EarthCraft Virginia green building program.

Elite Landscaping removed an old vinyl liner pool from this home in a premier Omaha neighborhood. The goal was to install a new, concrete infinity-edge pool and spa with accessible pool deck. And we accomplished so much more!
During the backyard remodel, the yard was elevated by 7.5 feet to improve access from the house to the pool deck with just three steps and a wheelchair-accessible ramp. More than 3,000 sq. feet of natural Travertine were installed for the pool deck, with stone veneer accents around the seating areas and firepit. An outdoor kitchen was installed, featuring polished granite countertops, a Fire Magic grill, Black Diamond appliances, and ample storage drawers.
The pool structure boasts a 16-foot wide infinity edge, which is adorned with Black Galaxy iridescent glass tile. The pool wall is topped with fire/water bowls that cascade into the pool. A raised, double spa with 11-foot black granite ‘sheerfall’ edge also cascades into the pool.
The custom concrete pool and raised spa each have their own variable speed pumps and heating systems for separate water flow and temperature control. Both can be fully automated through a smartphone or other smart device with the Pentair IntelliTouch system. An app allows homeowners to program LED lights, adjust temperature and water flow speeds, and test pool chemistry.

Located at a prominent corner on one of the few undeveloped residential sites left in Solana Beach, this project is important not only for the homeowner, but for the community as well. A rigorous site analysis laid the groundwork for a design response which took into account the homeowner’s program, input from the neighbors, and the scale of the project and the character of the neighborhood. The end result is a design that is well set into the existing grade, a move which preserves adjacent views and reduces the visual impact of the structure from the street; all while graciously meeting the desires of the owner.
The plan is broken into six unique floor plates. The bottom four of which tie together along the gradually sloping site. An intentionally long southern exposure implements the basics of passive solar design: large amounts of glass bring in abundant light and warmth in the winter, while deep overhangs protect from unwanted summer heat gain. Ocean views to the west are selectively framed throughout the house without compromising privacy from the busy street corner. Public functions within the house flow seamlessly between indoor and outdoor living spaces. JLC Architecture was responsible for a full architecture and interior package as well as exterior hardscape design.

Refined Continuity: Bridging Classical Architecture and Modern Living
This comprehensive remodel of a grand Cow Hollow residence reimagines a historically expressive envelope through a lens of contemporary livability, precision detailing, and material restraint. The design approach carefully balances the home’s classical proportions and ornamental heritage with a refined, modern sensibility—evident in the disciplined palette of warm neutrals, soft plasters, pale oak flooring, and tailored millwork. Circulation has been clarified and subtly expanded to enhance spatial flow, while openings are leveraged to capture light, garden outlooks, and distant water views. Throughout, architectural interventions are executed with a high level of craft, ensuring that new insertions—whether cabinetry, railings, or apertures—read as seamless continuations of the original structure rather than applied elements.
The kitchen serves as the operational and visual anchor of the home, conceived as a sculptural yet highly functional environment. Custom rift-cut cabinetry, softened through a desaturated finish, is paired with honed stone surfaces and integrated brass hardware to create a quiet, tactile richness. A monolithic island establishes a central gathering point, while perimeter work zones are carefully layered with concealed storage, integrated appliances, and open, backlit shelving that elevates everyday objects into curated displays. The adjacent bar and entertaining areas extend this language, reinforcing a cohesive hospitality-driven program. In parallel, the primary bathroom is designed as a serene, spa-like retreat, where bookmatched stone, frameless glass enclosures, and finely detailed metalwork converge. The composition prioritizes symmetry, clarity, and light—balancing generous volumes with intimate moments through integrated lighting, custom vanities, and a restrained material hierarchy.
The library and ancillary living spaces introduce a more intimate scale, anchored by bespoke built-ins that combine closed storage with illuminated display niches, creating depth and rhythm along the walls. Here, material transitions and furniture integration are handled with particular nuance, allowing the architecture to support both quiet retreat and social gathering. A continuous language of custom railings—executed in refined metal profiles—threads through the interior and extends outward, where the exterior gate and garden elements have been reinterpreted to align with the home’s renewed identity. The entry sequence is now defined by a calibrated interplay of solidity and transparency, with sculptural metalwork and landscape integration establishing a sense of arrival that is both secure and elegant. Collectively, the project reflects a holistic transformation—one that elevates performance, livability, and aesthetic clarity while preserving the inherent dignity of the original architecture.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Structural Remodeling
Franklin County's Heavy Timber Specialists | Best of Houzz 2020!

Morningside Architect, LLP
Structural Engineer: Tan Associates Inc.
Contractor: John Hu
Photographer: Rick Gardner Photography
Example of a mid-sized tuscan open concept light wood floor family room design in Houston with beige walls, no fireplace and no tv
Example of a mid-sized tuscan open concept light wood floor family room design in Houston with beige walls, no fireplace and no tv

Located near the foot of the Teton Mountains, the site and a modest program led to placing the main house and guest quarters in separate buildings configured to form outdoor spaces. With mountains rising to the northwest and a stream cutting through the southeast corner of the lot, this placement of the main house and guest cabin distinctly responds to the two scales of the site. The public and private wings of the main house define a courtyard, which is visually enclosed by the prominence of the mountains beyond. At a more intimate scale, the garden walls of the main house and guest cabin create a private entry court.
A concrete wall, which extends into the landscape marks the entrance and defines the circulation of the main house. Public spaces open off this axis toward the views to the mountains. Secondary spaces branch off to the north and south forming the private wing of the main house and the guest cabin. With regulation restricting the roof forms, the structural trusses are shaped to lift the ceiling planes toward light and the views of the landscape.
A.I.A Wyoming Chapter Design Award of Citation 2017
Project Year: 2008

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.
35
