Search results for "Xhamster community" in Home Design Ideas

Photo by Madeline Tolle
Transitional master black floor bathroom photo in Los Angeles with shaker cabinets, gray cabinets, white walls, an undermount sink and white countertops
Transitional master black floor bathroom photo in Los Angeles with shaker cabinets, gray cabinets, white walls, an undermount sink and white countertops

Glave & Holmes is excited to be part of the Richmond Symphony Orchestra League’s Designer House. Our Hotel & Home Studio was chosen to design the Master Bedroom at the Hampton Manor house in the Hallsley community. Our designers turned to Neirmann Weeks to provide beautifully crafted products for the room, such as their “Loire Canopy Bed.”
Photography by Kip Dawkins

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
Find the right local pro for your project

Camlin Custom Homes Courageous Model was built in Redfish Cove Community on the Manatee River at the Snead island Cut. This model features 2 master suites, one upstairs and one on the ground level. Both master suites include a well appointed spa like master bathroom with a walk out to a beautiful outdoor retreat. Everything in this home centers around the waterfront lifestyle and maximizing the natural beauty of the River and the boating lifestyle. This large upstairs Master Suite features a walk-out to a large front porch that overlooks the open water. Watch daily sunsets from this breezy open upstairs master bedroom and master bathroom.

Muted colors lead you to The Victoria, a 5,193 SF model home where architectural elements, features and details delight you in every room. This estate-sized home is located in The Concession, an exclusive, gated community off University Parkway at 8341 Lindrick Lane. John Cannon Homes, newest model offers 3 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, great room, dining room and kitchen with separate dining area. Completing the home is a separate executive-sized suite, bonus room, her studio and his study and 3-car garage.
Gene Pollux Photography

Just off the main living space on the second floor, this master bedroom boasts the same vaulted ceilings with shiplap detail and large windows taking advantage of the views. Natural linen window coverings and bedding keep the space casual, while the tan, rose and brown palette bring in character. Hand thrown pottery lamps glazed in robin's egg blue add a personal touch.

Primary bathroom renovation in Bay Creek, Cape Charles, Virginia. Designed as a serene coastal retreat, this timeless bathroom features custom white oak vanities, shiplap wall detailing, marble-inspired flooring, and a hand-glazed blue and green tile shower inspired by the surrounding bay. Champagne bronze fixtures add warmth and refinement, while integrated storage enhances everyday functionality. Soft coastal tones, natural materials, and thoughtful details create a relaxing, light-filled space that balances luxury, comfort, and practicality.

This modern lake house is located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The residence overlooks a mountain lake with expansive mountain views beyond. The design ties the home to its surroundings and enhances the ability to experience both home and nature together. The entry level serves as the primary living space and is situated into three groupings; the Great Room, the Guest Suite and the Master Suite. A glass connector links the Master Suite, providing privacy and the opportunity for terrace and garden areas.
Won a 2013 AIANC Design Award. Featured in the Austrian magazine, More Than Design. Featured in Carolina Home and Garden, Summer 2015.

Mid-sized elegant master ceramic tile and beige floor bathroom photo in Charleston with white walls and a hinged shower door

KitchenLab Interiors’ first, entirely new construction project in collaboration with GTH architects who designed the residence. KLI was responsible for all interior finishes, fixtures, furnishings, and design including the stairs, casework, interior doors, moldings and millwork. KLI also worked with the client on selecting the roof, exterior stucco and paint colors, stone, windows, and doors. The homeowners had purchased the existing home on a lakefront lot of the Valley Lo community in Glenview, thinking that it would be a gut renovation, but when they discovered a host of issues including mold, they decided to tear it down and start from scratch. The minute you look out the living room windows, you feel as though you're on a lakeside vacation in Wisconsin or Michigan. We wanted to help the homeowners achieve this feeling throughout the house - merging the causal vibe of a vacation home with the elegance desired for a primary residence. This project is unique and personal in many ways - Rebekah and the homeowner, Lorie, had grown up together in a small suburb of Columbus, Ohio. Lorie had been Rebekah's babysitter and was like an older sister growing up. They were both heavily influenced by the style of the late 70's and early 80's boho/hippy meets disco and 80's glam, and both credit their moms for an early interest in anything related to art, design, and style. One of the biggest challenges of doing a new construction project is that it takes so much longer to plan and execute and by the time tile and lighting is installed, you might be bored by the selections of feel like you've seen them everywhere already. “I really tried to pull myself, our team and the client away from the echo-chamber of Pinterest and Instagram. We fell in love with counter stools 3 years ago that I couldn't bring myself to pull the trigger on, thank god, because then they started showing up literally everywhere", Rebekah recalls. Lots of one of a kind vintage rugs and furnishings make the home feel less brand-spanking new. The best projects come from a team slightly outside their comfort zone. One of the funniest things Lorie says to Rebekah, "I gave you everything you wanted", which is pretty hilarious coming from a client to a designer.

Example of a mid-sized transitional master white floor, double-sink and wallpaper bathroom design in Atlanta with turquoise cabinets, an undermount sink, marble countertops, a hinged shower door, white countertops, a freestanding vanity and recessed-panel cabinets

Inspiration for a mid-sized timeless master dark wood floor bedroom remodel in San Diego with beige walls

A contemporary take on country club living in Admirals Cove Golf Community in Jupiter, Florida. Design by Krista Watterworth Alterman of Krista Watterworth Design Studio in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. Photos by Daniel Newcomb.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

The soft wood-like porcelain tile found throughout this bathroom helps to compliment the dark honeycomb backsplash surrounding the bathtub.
CAP Carpet & Flooring is the leading provider of flooring & area rugs in the Twin Cities. CAP Carpet & Flooring is a locally owned and operated company, and we pride ourselves on helping our customers feel welcome from the moment they walk in the door. We are your neighbors. We work and live in your community and understand your needs. You can expect the very best personal service on every visit to CAP Carpet & Flooring and value and warranties on every flooring purchase. Our design team has worked with homeowners, contractors and builders who expect the best. With over 30 years combined experience in the design industry, Angela, Sandy, Sunnie,Maria, Caryn and Megan will be able to help whether you are in the process of building, remodeling, or re-doing. Our design team prides itself on being well versed and knowledgeable on all the up to date products and trends in the floor covering industry as well as countertops, paint and window treatments. Their passion and knowledge is abundant, and we're confident you'll be nothing short of impressed with their expertise and professionalism. When you love your job, it shows: the enthusiasm and energy our design team has harnessed will bring out the best in your project. Make CAP Carpet & Flooring your first stop when considering any type of home improvement project- we are happy to help you every single step of the way.

Example of a trendy master gray tile gray floor and double-sink bathroom design in Other with flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, white walls, an undermount sink and gray countertops

Bedroom | Custom home Studio of LS3P ASSOCIATES LTD. | Photo by Inspiro8 Studio.
Inspiration for a large rustic master carpeted and gray floor bedroom remodel in Other with white walls and no fireplace
Inspiration for a large rustic master carpeted and gray floor bedroom remodel in Other with white walls and no fireplace

William Quarles
Inspiration for a coastal master beige tile and porcelain tile porcelain tile and beige floor bathroom remodel in Charleston with dark wood cabinets, a two-piece toilet, blue walls, an undermount sink, granite countertops, a hinged shower door and beige countertops
Inspiration for a coastal master beige tile and porcelain tile porcelain tile and beige floor bathroom remodel in Charleston with dark wood cabinets, a two-piece toilet, blue walls, an undermount sink, granite countertops, a hinged shower door and beige countertops

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Free consultation for landscape design!
Peabody Landscape Group
Franklin County's Reliable Landscape Design & Contracting

Introducing the Courtyard Collection at Sonoma, located near Ballantyne in Charlotte. These 51 single-family homes are situated with a unique twist, and are ideal for people looking for the lifestyle of a townhouse or condo, without shared walls. Lawn maintenance is included! All homes include kitchens with granite counters and stainless steel appliances, plus attached 2-car garages. Our 3 model homes are open daily! Schools are Elon Park Elementary, Community House Middle, Ardrey Kell High. The Hanna is a 2-story home which has everything you need on the first floor, including a Kitchen with an island and separate pantry, open Family/Dining room with an optional Fireplace, and the laundry room tucked away. Upstairs is a spacious Owner's Suite with large walk-in closet, double sinks, garden tub and separate large shower. You may change this to include a large tiled walk-in shower with bench seat and separate linen closet. There are also 3 secondary bedrooms with a full bath with double sinks.

Charlotte A Sport Model - Tradition Collection
Pricing, floorplans, virtual tours, community information, and more at https://www.robertthomashomes.com/

Inspiration for a large industrial master gray tile and porcelain tile porcelain tile corner shower remodel in DC Metro with a trough sink, open cabinets, dark wood cabinets, quartz countertops and gray walls
1
