Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
obsidianights

New to Hydroponics

16 years ago

I am new to hydroponics and I am getting over whelmed by all the information. I am not new to gardening and have a beautiful garden that I totally love. So does every pest in Tx. That coupled with really hot summers and a strong desire to have crops all year long has brought Me to hydroponics.

I have purchased to set-ups, which I am expecting any day now, to get Me started in the right direction and all the goodies needed to plant My first victims, but I now want to plant some Wheatgrass using hydroponics and all the information is getting the best of Me, because I am get to many open ended statements. Like use a good this or that but leaving it to Me to choose, and I don't even know what they are talking about.

I need help can some one take Me from start to finish growing Wheatgrass with hydroponics. I need it for health reasons.

Thank you

Obsidian )O(

Comments (6)

• 16 years ago

Hi, Obsidian.

Also from Texas and new to Hydroponics. I am anxious to see someone answer your response because I'm also interested in the wheat grass.

• 16 years ago

for any kind of grass, I would use an ebb n flo system with a perlite medium.
    Just make sure it fills slowly so things don't move around too much.

• 15 years ago

Hello,
    If you want to grow wheatgrass, follow the instructions for sprouting seeds. Put the seeds partially covered in water on a big flat plate, change the water daily. Grass ready in 1-2 weeks. Will rot after that.

I dealt with information overload too. The simplest answer to this is - try something/anything. You should be surprised to find that almost everything works if you can get the seeds to sprout.

• 15 years ago